LumberJocks

Effective, Comfortable Hearing Protection

  • Advertise with us
Review by CharlesA posted 03-10-2014 11:37 PM 1409 views 0 times favorited 8 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Effective, Comfortable Hearing Protection No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Becoming more safety conscious in the workshop is something I’ve had to learn—it doesn’t come naturally to me. So even after I started wearing safety glasses regularly, using safety guards on tools, and consciously following safe tool use, I didn’t wear hearing protection. Why not? Because the loud noises didn’t really bother me, and I didn’t like any of the hearing protection I tried: some cheap earmuff style from the local hardware store, and the headband with small plugs. So, I went without most of the time.

And then I read someone’s recommendation of these Ultimate 10s on a forum post on LJ. I decided I should be more careful with my hearing. The verdict: They both block out more noise than the others I tried and were more comfortable at the same time. Now I wear hearing protection all the time.

So, if you’re looking for hearing protection that you actually wear without breaking the bank ($20-30), go for the Ultimate 10s.

-- "Man is the only animal which devours his own, for I can apply no milder term to the general prey of the rich on the poor." ~Thomas Jefferson




View CharlesA's profile

CharlesA

1519 posts in 464 days



8 comments so far

View Hawaiilad's profile

Hawaiilad

2035 posts in 1688 days


#1 posted 03-11-2014 05:37 AM

Mind sharing where you purchased these

-- Larry in sunny and warm Hawaii,

View CharlesA's profile

CharlesA

1519 posts in 464 days


#2 posted 03-11-2014 05:58 AM

Amazon. $20.

-- "Man is the only animal which devours his own, for I can apply no milder term to the general prey of the rich on the poor." ~Thomas Jefferson

View CessnaPilotBarry's profile

CessnaPilotBarry

892 posts in 777 days


#3 posted 03-11-2014 12:19 PM

These are the best! As is the sister product, the H10A! Peltor nailed it.

I have a few of these, and these are the lightest, most comfortable muffs I own… Don’t let the lightweight wires fool you into thinking they’re fragile, a few of mine are over 10 years old. I also have examples from David Clark, Leight, as well as Bilsom Thunders.

A no-brainer at ~ $20…

-- It's all good, if it's wood...

View CharlesA's profile

CharlesA

1519 posts in 464 days


#4 posted 03-11-2014 04:38 PM

Barry, how is the H10A different. They look almost identical from the outside.

-- "Man is the only animal which devours his own, for I can apply no milder term to the general prey of the rich on the poor." ~Thomas Jefferson

View CessnaPilotBarry's profile

CessnaPilotBarry

892 posts in 777 days


#5 posted 03-11-2014 05:12 PM

I can’t tell from mine… Color? Same rating, same frame, same price… I’m not sure why they offer both.

-- It's all good, if it's wood...

View Dusty56's profile

Dusty56

11663 posts in 2355 days


#6 posted 03-11-2014 09:51 PM

Thank you , I need to replace my current ones soon.

-- I'm absolutely positive that I couldn't be more uncertain!

View woodsmithshop's profile

woodsmithshop

1160 posts in 2212 days


#7 posted 03-12-2014 03:55 PM

they have a db reduction rating of 30 db, which is good.

-- Smitty!!!

View Jeff_in_KCMO's profile

Jeff_in_KCMO

157 posts in 1007 days


#8 posted 03-12-2014 05:46 PM

we used those muffs in the power plant, and they were great.

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase