LumberJocks

Eye protection and Hearing protection all in ONE

  • Advertise with us
Review by redryder posted 03-07-2014 09:33 PM 2404 views 2 times favorited 9 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Eye protection and Hearing protection all in ONE Eye protection and Hearing protection all in ONE No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I’ll admit that I can be lazy. The main reason I bought my dust collector was so that I didn’t have to sweep the floor so often. I have never owned a respirator. I seldom put on a dust mask because it fogs up my glasses. The only time I use hearing protection is when I use the planner. The one thing I do use religiously is eye protection. I have had two occasions to have friends give me first hand accounts of what an emergency room doctor has to do to get an object out of a persons eye ball. That’s not for me.

The January issue of Popular Woodworking did a tool review for a combo eye and ear all in one set-up and that sounded interesting to me. They gave it a positive review and after buying a pair on line, so do I. They are very easy to get on and off. They come in rainbow colors and black and white. One of the best things about them is that they slip right over your prescription glasses. The company Safety Sells has replacement lenses in different shades if needed. There are other safety glasses on the market with ear plugs attached but they will not allow you to wear your regular glasses when needed.

I can still be some what lazy but it is nice to tone out the noise of a power tool and dust collector while working.
This product may be for you…................

-- mike...............




View redryder's profile

redryder

2235 posts in 1856 days



9 comments so far

View Joe Lyddon's profile

Joe Lyddon

7952 posts in 2807 days


#1 posted 03-07-2014 10:18 PM

Looks good…

I have been using a large pair of earphones with large ear pads from my Ham Radio days… really works good… I notice it the most while using the thickness planer (makes A LOT of noise). I just have wires dangling that I have to stash away before operating.

-- Have Fun! Joe Lyddon - Alta Loma, CA USA - Home: http://www.WoodworkStuff.net ... My Small Gallery: http://www.ncwoodworker.net/pp/showgallery.php?ppuser=1389&cat=500"

View NormG's profile

NormG

4566 posts in 1758 days


#2 posted 03-08-2014 01:29 AM

I always were glasses and hearing most of the time, but always with the planer

-- Norman

View TopamaxSurvivor's profile (online now)

TopamaxSurvivor

15090 posts in 2430 days


#3 posted 03-08-2014 07:38 AM

Thanks. Glad to know they fit over other glasses.

-- "some old things are lovely, warm still with life ... of the forgotten men who made them." - D.H. Lawrence

View Hawaiilad's profile (online now)

Hawaiilad

2206 posts in 1775 days


#4 posted 03-08-2014 09:14 AM

Got a couple questions…are they good ear protection…do they do a good job of keeping the noise down to a low roar, and do they stay on you head when you move around…they look like they might fall off easy. Thanks for showing these

-- Larry in sunny and warm Hawaii,

View michelletwo's profile

michelletwo

2292 posts in 1770 days


#5 posted 03-08-2014 11:25 AM

thanks for this review..have always needed this to go over prescription glasses. Gotta get me this!

-- We call the destruction of replaceable human made items vandalism, while the destruction of irreplaceable natural resources is called development.

View Roger's profile

Roger

15371 posts in 1558 days


#6 posted 03-08-2014 02:52 PM

Nice review. I think this is a good idea. With having bi-focals, (yup, I’m old), I had my prescription put in these safety glasses, and I added my own ear protection, so, I’ve got both right where they need to be.

-- Roger from KY. Work/Play/Travel Safe. Kentuk55@bellsouth.net

View rayman54's profile

rayman54

15 posts in 305 days


#7 posted 03-08-2014 07:48 PM

Will be nice to see them made with +3 bi-focals option.

View redryder's profile

redryder

2235 posts in 1856 days


#8 posted 03-10-2014 06:11 AM

Hawaiilad, I have some ear protectors that I use for shooting that I think are better but these do a good job of muffeling out the “noise”. I have actually been using these more than I had expected. I like the way that you can just raise the glasses up over your head and still keep the ear phones on. I too have bifocals I wear and these fit over my glasses without touching them at all. I don’t think you will be disappointed.

Yours look kinda hip too Roger...................

-- mike...............

View Hawaiilad's profile (online now)

Hawaiilad

2206 posts in 1775 days


#9 posted 03-10-2014 08:50 AM

Thanks for the information Mike. They sound like something I need to buy. I just noticed you live in Chehalis, WA. The wife and I lived in Onalaska for about 12 years before we moved here to Hawaii. We have one daughter and her family that live in Kingston. I visit there every October…Grandkids birthdays. we miss the tall trees, but not the bad weather.

-- Larry in sunny and warm Hawaii,

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase