Does what it's supposed to do at a good cost

  • Advertise with us
Review by JSB posted 01-21-2014 04:49 PM 8837 views 1 time favorited 9 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Does what it's supposed to do at a good cost No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

-strongest drill press I’ve ever had. Strong enough for what I do
-lots of speed settings
-plenty of chuck travel
-haven’t measured run-out but I couldn’t noticeably see any with the largest forstner bit I have.

-not sure if it’s considered a con but it’s super tall for a benchtop model.
-overly soaked in shipping grease but mineral spirits will take care of that
-circle table. Why do all drill presses come with a circle table??!! Not a huge deal as I made a drill press table for it.

More pictures and some thoughts here:

I’ve only had it for a couple weeks so it’s hard to make an honest performance review at this stage. So far it does it’s job just fine.

-- Jay -

View JSB's profile


737 posts in 2010 days

9 comments so far

View b2rtch's profile


4851 posts in 2980 days

#1 posted 01-21-2014 05:12 PM

I have the 21 speeds floor model that I bought used (but about new) for $100.
I like it a lot except for the chuck travel which is too short

-- Bert

View Roger's profile


20916 posts in 2736 days

#2 posted 01-22-2014 12:09 AM

Always nice to hear happiness after a tool purchase.

-- Roger from KY. Work/Play/Travel Safe. Keep your dust collector fed.

View a1Jim's profile


117029 posts in 3509 days

#3 posted 01-22-2014 12:43 AM

Thanks for the review,a price might help those considering the same purchase .

-- wood crafting & classes

View JSB's profile


737 posts in 2010 days

#4 posted 01-22-2014 12:50 AM

$229.99 + 20% off coupon at harbor freight = $183.99 + tax

-- Jay -

View Dwacki's profile


35 posts in 1886 days

#5 posted 01-22-2014 02:47 AM

Drill press is my next purchase thanks for the review…. Always like finding good equipment at a good price!

-- Dennis, South Bend ( Go Irish) Indiana

View SCOTSMAN's profile


5851 posts in 3517 days

#6 posted 01-22-2014 04:38 PM

With all of the drill presses I own two large and one small radial in two workshops one for working metal and one for woodworking I have never altered speed control ,or trunnion setting- angled setting of the table .Is this laziness or just what most people do? Alistair

-- excuse my typing as I have a form of parkinsons disease

View lurker's profile


4 posts in 2612 days

#7 posted 01-24-2014 02:00 AM

I’ve had one of these for 7 years and it has been problem free.

View SparkyWood's profile


21 posts in 1506 days

#8 posted 02-12-2014 02:03 AM

Just checking in on this drill press. I looked at it at Harbor Freight today, 20% coupon and other free coupons in hand. I didn’t pull the trigger because it just seemed really cheap (not surprising at HF). The floor model was kinda falling apart, as the teeth to adjust table height were falling off. Is it still holding up?

-- Anything worth doing, is worth over-doing.

View JSB's profile


737 posts in 2010 days

#9 posted 02-12-2014 02:08 AM

SparkyWood – I’ve by no means put it through a production woodshop environment but I have zero complaints. It’s a drill press that drills holes just fine. Nothing fancy.

-- Jay -

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics