Ridgid EB4424 Oscillating Edge Belt / Spindle Sander

  • Advertise with us
Review by woodmaker posted 12-27-2013 03:26 PM 3882 views 0 times favorited 19 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Ridgid EB4424 Oscillating Edge Belt / Spindle Sander No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Well, Ms. Santa has been nice to me once again. I casually mentioned this once upon a time to the wife while at Home Depot and lo and behold I find it under the tree.

I love this thing! Works great, no complaints. Yes I have used the snot out of it already. I really like the edge sander the best.

-- Mike

View woodmaker's profile


312 posts in 1731 days

19 comments so far

View Richard H's profile

Richard H

361 posts in 720 days

#1 posted 12-27-2013 03:47 PM

Congratulations on your new tool.

I have had one of these for some time and I consider it one of the true bargains in the bargain tool categories.

View ellen35's profile


2652 posts in 2472 days

#2 posted 12-27-2013 04:09 PM

You will love it… I’ve had mine for several years and it is a great tool.

-- "Don't let the perfect be the enemy of the good." Voltaire

View danoaz's profile


212 posts in 1210 days

#3 posted 12-27-2013 05:24 PM

I have really had my eye on this and keep seeing good reviews and comments about it. My challenge isn’t the price but where to put the darn things. I have so many other tools on the counter that I am running out of space. Such a terrible dilemma. ;-)

-- "Simplicity and repose are the qualities that measure the true value of any work of art." Frank LLoyd Wright

View woodmaker's profile


312 posts in 1731 days

#4 posted 12-27-2013 05:29 PM

danoaz, I have the same problem, but I will figure it out, maybe store it under the work bench?

-- Mike

View Domer's profile


252 posts in 2406 days

#5 posted 12-27-2013 06:45 PM

I also have this machine. It works great. It is light enough to put on a shelf. Not easy but even an old fart like me can handle it.

View whitebeast88's profile


3947 posts in 1230 days

#6 posted 12-27-2013 08:53 PM

i’ve got the same and its been a blessing to have.indeed it does look like you’ve been a good boy!!!!

-- Marty.Athens,AL

View pintodeluxe's profile


4100 posts in 1853 days

#7 posted 12-27-2013 09:08 PM

Make yourself a dedicated cart, and you have a real sanding workhorse. As well as general sanding tasks, I like to use the belt attachment with a miter gauge to chamfer the ends of tenons. Works great.

-- Willie, Washington "If You Choose Not To Decide, You Still Have Made a Choice" - Rush

View woodmaker's profile


312 posts in 1731 days

#8 posted 12-27-2013 09:14 PM

Nice cart, I like that! but do I have room for the cart? LOL!

-- Mike

View Marcus's profile


1140 posts in 1059 days

#9 posted 12-27-2013 09:36 PM

I’m with Richard, this machine has to be one of the best values in woodworking.

View dnick's profile


975 posts in 1422 days

#10 posted 12-28-2013 04:34 AM

Thanks for the review. I really want this machine.

-- dnick, North Hollywood, Ca.

View lanwater's profile


3103 posts in 1974 days

#11 posted 12-28-2013 06:15 AM

I have one for over 3 years and it works great.

-- Abbas, Castro Valley, CA

View Vince's profile


1039 posts in 2469 days

#12 posted 12-28-2013 10:22 AM

I love mine too

-- Vince

View Don W's profile

Don W

16664 posts in 1607 days

#13 posted 12-28-2013 12:40 PM

I agree.its probably one of the most used tool in my shop.

-- Master hand plane hoarder. -

View Thrakintosh's profile


52 posts in 2807 days

#14 posted 12-28-2013 02:56 PM

Its been on my short list (you know, the long short list) for a while too. Thanks for the review and congrats!

-- Adam - Red Hook, NY

View theoldfart's profile


6131 posts in 1491 days

#15 posted 12-28-2013 03:05 PM

I have this unit as well and it’s worth it. As for a stand, I’m a bit of a retro grouch so my C’Man table saw is the same base size as the sander and the sander is light weight so voila two in the same space as one!

-- "Aged flatus, I heard that some one has already blown out your mortise." THE Surgeon ……………………………………. Kevin

showing 1 through 15 of 19 comments

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics