LumberJocks

Video review of the Nova Comet II Midi Lathe

  • Advertise with us
Review by THOMRIDER posted 12-16-2013 01:05 AM 3330 views 0 times favorited 8 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Video review of the Nova Comet II Midi Lathe No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

This is a video review

Here is the link

http://youtu.be/cKBAlCHqYTI

-- Its all about the jigs




View THOMRIDER's profile

THOMRIDER

99 posts in 1765 days



8 comments so far

View Rick M.'s profile

Rick M.

4208 posts in 1077 days


#1 posted 12-16-2013 02:41 AM

I’ve been looking at this lathe so thanks for the review. The tip about breaking in the motor is welcome because I probably wouldn’t have read the manual. One question; what size is the lathe tool post? Looks about 3/4”?

Edit; one more question… do you know if this has tapered or radial bearings? Thanks.

-- |Statistics show that 100% of people bitten by a snake were close to it.|

View David Dean's profile

David Dean

530 posts in 1596 days


#2 posted 12-16-2013 10:11 AM

Nice show Thom and I like your new toy but why are the lathes getting smaller Im use to 36” to 48” lathe’s.

View THOMRIDER's profile

THOMRIDER

99 posts in 1765 days


#3 posted 12-16-2013 11:23 AM

Thanks for watching.

Rick.
The tool post is 5/8, which fits most aftermarket tool rests from Rockler and PSI.
I believe it has radial bearings.

David.
I think the lathes are getting smaller because of space limitations in shops and a lot of people turn smaller items.

-- Its all about the jigs

View sgv's profile

sgv

266 posts in 589 days


#4 posted 12-16-2013 11:58 AM

I also got this lathe from Rockler last week, I LOVE it. price,chuck, free shipping (almost, heave 77pounds charged $35) great review !!!

-- Tite Lines, May the wind be at your back

View Roger's profile

Roger

14911 posts in 1501 days


#5 posted 12-16-2013 01:20 PM

Nice review. You’ll be havin fun with that.

-- Roger from KY. Work/Play/Travel Safe. Kentuk55@bellsouth.net

View Rick M.'s profile

Rick M.

4208 posts in 1077 days


#6 posted 12-16-2013 06:15 PM

I would guess another reason lathes are getting smaller is the popularity of bowls and pens. Thanks Thomrider.

-- |Statistics show that 100% of people bitten by a snake were close to it.|

View David Dean's profile

David Dean

530 posts in 1596 days


#7 posted 12-17-2013 12:04 AM

thanks that would make sence and its cheper to go to the box store and buy legs than working on a lathe all day.

View woodmaker's profile

woodmaker

266 posts in 1388 days


#8 posted 12-18-2013 05:22 PM

i want one!

-- Mike

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase