LumberJocks

Handy tools everyone should have.

  • Advertise with us
Review by Stormy posted 12-15-2013 08:28 PM 1759 views 0 times favorited 10 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Handy tools everyone should have. No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I finally had a real need to use the Dremel Saw-Max I recieved for Christmas last year. Had an entertainment center to cut down for a smaller area. I wanted to make the simplest cuts to remove height from the cabinet. A straight edge and my Saw-Max did the trick.

I was concerned that the abrasive type blades would not be able to cut cleanly without tearout, and may cause burning. Not to worry. This little guy is the best. I am more than pleased with the performance. I have now used it to cut 3/4 oak plywood, which is it max capacity. No problem, just take it a little slower and let the saw do the work.

I would recommend this as a must have tool.

-- Stormy: Sometimes the wood just tells you what it wants to be.




View Stormy's profile

Stormy

160 posts in 852 days



10 comments so far

View a1Jim's profile

a1Jim

112093 posts in 2232 days


#1 posted 12-15-2013 08:49 PM

Thanks for the review.

-- http://artisticwoodstudio.com Custom furniture

View dawsonbob's profile

dawsonbob

381 posts in 410 days


#2 posted 12-15-2013 08:54 PM

Thanks for the review. I have the Rockwell VersaCut which is a similar tool, and it’s been great. It only cuts to a depth of 1 1/16 inches, but its very handy, versatile, and makes a very clean cut.

-- Mistakes are what pave the road to perfection

View NormG's profile

NormG

4175 posts in 1659 days


#3 posted 12-15-2013 10:38 PM

Sounds like it was a great gift idea

-- Norman

View Tennessee's profile

Tennessee

1447 posts in 1170 days


#4 posted 12-16-2013 12:49 AM

Over a year ago I bought the Rockwell unit, and to be honest, to this day I wish I had bought the Dremel. Good choice.

-- Paul, Tennessee, http://www.tsunamiguitars.com

View Rick M.'s profile

Rick M.

3971 posts in 1035 days


#5 posted 12-16-2013 02:44 AM

Buddy of mine has one and is always praising it, keeps telling me I should buy one.

-- |Statistics show that 100% of people bitten by a snake were close to it.|

View oldnovice's profile

oldnovice

3765 posts in 2023 days


#6 posted 12-16-2013 05:30 AM

I also have the Rockwell Versacut, a present from my kids, as they know I have RA and just can’t control the 6” circular saw any more. I have been very happy with it except for the dust collection elbow as it broke almost immidiately. I called the customer service number and did get a replacement but not without a lot of explaining that the tool was brand new and where the elbow broke … it should not have been that difficult!

Some of these new Rockwell tools are not designed/built here in the U.S. but in Italy and Taiwan.

I have one of the oldest Dremel tools ever made as I bought it when I was in Jr. high (1959). It is an uninsulated single speed tool in which I have replace the bronze bearings with ball point bearings. Unfortunately it does not accept the same collets as the new tools.

-- "I never met a board I didn't like!"

View poospleasures's profile

poospleasures

339 posts in 1139 days


#7 posted 12-16-2013 11:21 AM

Thanks for this review. Been considering this for a while and have now decided to go ahead and get the dremel. Probably won’t use for a long time but I want one anyway.

-- I love the smell of sawdust in the morning. Vernon

View danoaz's profile

danoaz

166 posts in 825 days


#8 posted 12-16-2013 04:06 PM

Can’t have too many toys…tools.

Thanks for the review.

-- "Simplicity and repose are the qualities that measure the true value of any work of art." Frank LLoyd Wright

View MrRon's profile

MrRon

2834 posts in 1899 days


#9 posted 12-22-2013 07:33 PM

Thanks for the review. I was thinking about the Versacut until now.

View RonInOhio's profile

RonInOhio

720 posts in 1519 days


#10 posted 03-08-2014 12:04 AM

I have to replace sub-flooring in several rooms. I needed a flush cut saw as the sub-flooring runs beneath wall
plates.

I ended up purchasing the Rotozip Rotosaw. It is very similar to this Dremel. However, on further review
I’m sort of lamenting not getting the Dremel instead.

The RotoSaw has 4 inch blades and has a variable speed control adjustable from 11,000 RPM to 30,000 RPM.
My understanding is the Dremel has one-speed. 17,000 RPM

The problem with the Rotosaw is the cost of blade replacements. They are unreasonably
expensive and usually have to be purchased online.

For the RotoSaw it is 18 dollars plus shipping for one flush cutting wood blade !
And that is one of the cheaper deals. I have seen them for as much as 25 dollars
plus shipping .

So essentially the blades are ~ 30%-50% cheaper for the Dremel. The blades for the Rotosaw
get dull rather quickly cutting MDF or material over 1/2 inch.

You can easily go through several blades flush cutting around one medium sized bedroom.

The Rotozip is doing the job , but wished I had researched the alternatives before making my purchase.
The cost of blade replacement is a major bummer, has sort of outweighed the pros for the Rotosaw .

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase