LumberJocks

Grizzly GO555LX 14" Deluxe Bandsaw

  • Advertise with us
Review by woodmaker posted 11-29-2013 10:05 PM 3112 views 0 times favorited 13 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Grizzly GO555LX 14" Deluxe Bandsaw No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Well, I have had this band saw for several months now and I am in love with it. I love the cast iron wheels, rack and pinion upper blade guide adjustment, and a T-square style fence. Smooth operation, no vibration, cuts like butter (new blade). I have cut everything from pine to cherry and walnut and no bogging down, no hesitations.
It’s a joy to use and a huge step up from my 9” band saw that I had. LOL!

I haven’t tried to re-saw yet, but that day is coming soon. ?

Assembly was quite easy actually, I just needed help getting the saw up on the stand, after that I could rock and roll putting it together. The instructions were easy to read, understand and follow. I installed the 6” riser kit which I must admit is not fun doing alone.

Dust collection actually is quite good, I was expecting more debris left in the saw but have hardly anything left. All I have to do is blow it out with the air hose and done. Overall my first impressions of this saw are very high, the fit and finish is very good and the design was well thought out. I find the saw easy to use and the rack and pinion upper blade guide makes adjustment very quick and easy to do. Having a quick release for the blade tension is also a nice feature.

The two things I don’t like are the fence and the blade guide adjustments. I think I’ll get a Carter Mag Fence and maybe upgrade the guide adjustments to a phenolic block type if they are available. I would prefer tool less guide adjustments, life would be so much easier.

-- Mike




View woodmaker's profile

woodmaker

264 posts in 1346 days



13 comments so far

View Tedstor's profile

Tedstor

1369 posts in 1287 days


#1 posted 11-29-2013 10:43 PM

Thanks for the review. My next BS will have cast iron wheels.
Let me know if you wanna sell the existing fence. What don’t you like about it?

View woodmaker's profile

woodmaker

264 posts in 1346 days


#2 posted 11-29-2013 11:15 PM

The fence just seems flimsy.

-- Mike

View mantwi's profile

mantwi

312 posts in 551 days


#3 posted 11-29-2013 11:17 PM

I have the 555X Extreme and agree they are well made machines. The 1 1/2 hp motor is more than adequate and the fit and finish were far above what I would expect at the price. The upgraded fence on the model I have is very good and I suggest looking at it, it has a high and low capacity and works smoothly. By the way Tedstor it has the cast iron wheels you are looking for too. Great band saw and I have nothing but praise for Grizzly service.

View woodmaker's profile

woodmaker

264 posts in 1346 days


#4 posted 11-29-2013 11:21 PM

Hmm, wonder why I didn’t get the upgraded fence, only had this a couple months or so.
Maybe I should call customer service?

-- Mike

View mantwi's profile

mantwi

312 posts in 551 days


#5 posted 11-30-2013 10:20 PM

The upgraded fence is standard on the G0555 X but it’s an option on the other saws in the series. The differences are the Extreme has a closed stand, 1 1/2 HP motor, cast iron wheels and the cast iron fence system with an aluminum attachment that gives you 6” of height for resawing. The extruded attachment is like a uni-fence and can be used in either the high or low configuration. It cost about $140.00 if purchased as an accessory so you might want to look at the Magswitch resaw fence instead. It runs around $25.00 and will do the same job at a fraction of the cost.

View woodmaker's profile

woodmaker

264 posts in 1346 days


#6 posted 12-02-2013 05:37 PM

Yep, looks like I’ll be getting a Mag fence for sure, thanks mantwi for the info.

-- Mike

View Surfside's profile

Surfside

3154 posts in 828 days


#7 posted 12-02-2013 08:52 PM

Great review! Thanks for posting. Have you tune it up yet?

-- "someone has to be wounded for others to be saved, someone has to sacrifice for others to feel happiness, someone has to die so others could live"

View woodmaker's profile

woodmaker

264 posts in 1346 days


#8 posted 12-03-2013 11:46 AM

I’ve done some adjustments after it has run for awhile, nothing major, just recheck the table, fence and guides, but that’s all.
Purring like a kitten.

-- Mike

View facecarver's profile

facecarver

154 posts in 330 days


#9 posted 12-04-2013 01:05 AM

That looks like about the same fence system that came on my 14” Powermatic.I also am gonna buy a mag fence. The rail it rides on is also in the way for my circle jig and sled….Came with Carter bearing guides,and the extension.and completely happy with it other than that.Good blades is the key to easy bandsawing also.

-- Dennis Stallings; I am what I am,And that's all what I am...

View jumbojack's profile

jumbojack

1182 posts in 1278 days


#10 posted 12-04-2013 04:43 AM

You will love the mag fence. I played around with fences for two years. Never was happy with them. I got a gift card for Woodcraft and bought the Carter. Love it.

-- Made in America, with American made tools....Shopsmith

View woodmaker's profile

woodmaker

264 posts in 1346 days


#11 posted 12-04-2013 05:54 PM

I’m hoping Ms. Santa brings me the new fence or at least a gift certificate. :-)

-- Mike

View Alongiron's profile

Alongiron

402 posts in 1347 days


#12 posted 12-04-2013 07:46 PM

I have that same saw. Use the Wood Slicer blades from Highland Woodworking. They cut like butter and last along time. I also made myself a tall resaw fence that fits over the top of the other. I have resawn up to 8” QSWO using a 1/2” blade….no problemo!! Enjoy!

-- Measure twice and cut once.....

View woodmaker's profile

woodmaker

264 posts in 1346 days


#13 posted 12-04-2013 11:12 PM

Alongiron I haven’t resawed yet but the day is coming soon.

-- Mike

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase