LumberJocks

Wood Owl Tri-Cut Auger Bit

  • Advertise with us
Review by CL810 posted 11-12-2013 01:47 AM 2525 views 2 times favorited 7 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Wood Owl Tri-Cut Auger Bit No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I purchased this bit from Traditional Woodworker to bore holdfast holes in my workbench.

It is by far one of the best drill bits I’ve used. I was drilling holes in a 4.75” thick cherry using my drill press at 500 rpm. The bit pulled itself through the board effortlessly and the holes are perfectly smooth. Same results in maple.

-- "It's amazing how much can go wrong when you think you know what you're doing."




View CL810's profile

CL810

2524 posts in 1771 days



7 comments so far

View Handtooler's profile (online now)

Handtooler

1149 posts in 915 days


#1 posted 11-12-2013 02:05 AM

Five Stars, huh? Thanks for the information. We can always use quality tools .

-- Russell Pitner Hixson, TN 37343 bassboy40@msn.com

View bobasaurus's profile

bobasaurus

1494 posts in 1967 days


#2 posted 11-12-2013 03:23 AM

I thought auger bits were meant for braces and other manual drills… were there any problems using it in the press, like too fast of a feed rate as the bit catches? If not, these look great for dog holes.

-- Allen, Colorado

View CL810's profile

CL810

2524 posts in 1771 days


#3 posted 11-12-2013 03:37 AM

Allen, you’re probably right but I don’t have one. I clamped the cherry to the drill press and at the lower speed it did fine. I used a variable speed hand drill on the maple and it was a little hard to control but it worked out.

-- "It's amazing how much can go wrong when you think you know what you're doing."

View lysdexic's profile

lysdexic

4893 posts in 1405 days


#4 posted 11-12-2013 03:50 AM

Did you have enough travel in drill press to drill in one pass or did you have to come at it from the other side?

-- It isn't the mountains ahead to climb that wear you out; it's the pebble in your shoe. - Muhammad Ali

View CL810's profile

CL810

2524 posts in 1771 days


#5 posted 11-12-2013 04:05 AM

I have 6” of travel so one pass is all it took.

-- "It's amazing how much can go wrong when you think you know what you're doing."

View terryR's profile

terryR

3683 posts in 1091 days


#6 posted 11-12-2013 03:24 PM

Thanks for the review, Clayton, been looking at these and wondering if they were worth the price?

6” of spindle travel on your drill press? I’m soooo jealous! LOL.

-- tr ...see one, do one, teach one...

View TopamaxSurvivor's profile

TopamaxSurvivor

15251 posts in 2458 days


#7 posted 11-14-2013 05:52 AM

Thanks for the review.

-- "some old things are lovely, warm still with life ... of the forgotten men who made them." - D.H. Lawrence

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase