LumberJocks

Festool 2013 Tool Catalog

  • Advertise with us
Review by libraryman posted 10-25-2013 09:39 PM 2277 views 0 times favorited 22 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Festool 2013 Tool Catalog No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Though not a tool in the strict sense, the Festool 2013 tool catalog has provided me with hours of interesting speculation and tool comparisons. I should state from the beginning that I do not own a Festool and will probably never be able to afford one. The power tools I have been able to afford are the reason I love looking at the Festools. Whilst my power tools do an adequate job, the lack of vision by their manufacturers provide a sad “what might have been” comparison with the Festools. Take my power tools – all from the same manufacturer – yet few of them have interchangeable vacuum hose connections. My router has none, my 3”x21” beltsander has a pitiful little zipper bag to collect the dust, my old circular saw had a small (1”?) tube I could never find a hose for and my new saw has no dust collection whatever. My 6” and 5” rotary sanders where a step in the right direction with an interchangeable hose available if you looked long enough. I keep thinking, what if the managers at Porter Cable, Delta or Dewalt had had the foresight 15 years ago to design a reasonably priced vacuum system that would fit every one of their tool’s dust ports? What if someone had had the vision to create a system of tools instead of standalone designs? What if one of them had offered a track guide that would work with their circular saw, router, and jig saw? Why wasn’t there an American Festool company? Companies chasing a dollar instead of a vision? Lack of thoughtful management? Contempt for the intelligence of their tool purchasers? What do you think?




View libraryman's profile

libraryman

39 posts in 2489 days



22 comments so far

View pintodeluxe's profile

pintodeluxe

3549 posts in 1557 days


#1 posted 10-25-2013 10:07 PM

let me guess, the print catalog costs $1400?

-- Willie, Washington "If You Choose Not To Decide, You Still Have Made a Choice" - Rush

View natenaaron's profile

natenaaron

377 posts in 541 days


#2 posted 10-25-2013 10:25 PM

Nothing like high class tool porn to pass the time. Just don’t let the significant other catch you drooling.

View JustJoe's profile

JustJoe

1554 posts in 782 days


#3 posted 10-25-2013 10:28 PM

What do you think?
I think that about the only thing missing from the review section of LJ now is a few paragraphs about the weekly Harbor Freight ad from the Sunday newspaper. And I’m betting that whoever steps up to fill that void will never have stepped foot in a Harbor Freight, or read the Sunday newspaper.

-- This Ad Space For Sale! Your Ad Here! Reach a targeted audience! Affordable Rates, easy financing! Contact an ad represenative today at JustJoe's Advertising Consortium.

View PittsburghTim's profile

PittsburghTim

214 posts in 1066 days


#4 posted 10-25-2013 11:26 PM

Not a tool in the strict sense

In what sense is it a tool? Maybe you can use the pages as shims or wipe your a$$ with it. The way some rave about their tools, maybe it replaces Playboy?

Why is this in the review section? Why not start a thread on the forum?

I have nothing against Festool. They may be fine tools and I may own one of their track saws some day.

-- She asked me, "Who are you going to please with that?" I said, "Me."

View tefinn's profile

tefinn

1220 posts in 1181 days


#5 posted 10-26-2013 01:42 AM

Not a tool and not a review.

-- Tom Finnigan - Measures? We don't need no stinking measures! - Hmm, maybe thats why my project pieces don't fit.

View Moron's profile

Moron

4717 posts in 2637 days


#6 posted 10-26-2013 05:46 AM

nothing, not even festool, let alone a magazine deserves a 5

pretty soon everyone will be a valedictorian

-- "Good artists borrow, great artists steal”…..Picasso

View Craftsman on the lake's profile

Craftsman on the lake

2418 posts in 2182 days


#7 posted 10-26-2013 12:37 PM

I’m not sure if this is a tool review but I’ve got one under the leg of my belt sander stand to make up for an uneven floor. As a tool it works like a charm. Then again the L.L. Bean catalog is just as good.

-- The smell of wood, coffee in the cup, the wife let's me do my thing, the lake is peaceful.

View Mark Davisson's profile

Mark Davisson

509 posts in 2061 days


#8 posted 10-26-2013 01:16 PM

I don’t have a Festool catalog at the present time, but I have requested that one be sent to me.

I give 5 stars to the feeling that I now have knowing the catalog is on its way to me.

-- I'm selfless because it feels so good!

View BinghamtonEd's profile

BinghamtonEd

1583 posts in 1113 days


#9 posted 10-26-2013 01:24 PM

Discussions go in the forums. Reviews go under reviews. This is not complicated.

-- - The mightiest oak in the forest is just a little nut that held its ground.

View lepelerin's profile

lepelerin

334 posts in 1069 days


#10 posted 10-26-2013 04:15 PM

How is this considered a tool review?

View ChuckV's profile (online now)

ChuckV

2473 posts in 2271 days


#11 posted 10-26-2013 11:03 PM

When I was a child, there was nothing to match the excitement of the arrival of the Montgomery Ward Christmas catalog. I can still remember how it smelled.

-- “While the world with closed eyes sleeps, The sky knows and weeps - steel rain. ” ― Nathan Bell

View jasonR's profile

jasonR

19 posts in 1371 days


#12 posted 10-27-2013 02:13 AM

For all the ‘tool’ review purists out there, reviews need not be about tools. See for example all the reviews about dvds. Why not review catalogues? I often learn things from them; like the Lee-Valley catalogues.

-- Jason

View JustJoe's profile

JustJoe

1554 posts in 782 days


#13 posted 10-27-2013 02:28 AM

For all the ‘tool’ review purists out there, reviews need not be about tools.

True. According to the instructions on the review page they can be:
Review – post your personal review of a woodworking tool, course, book, magazine or DVD

See for example all the reviews about dvds.
Yep, see the instructions above.

Why not review catalogues?
Because they aren’t a tool, course, book, magazine or DVD – see the instructions above.

I often learn things from them; like the Lee-Valley catalogues.
And I can learn a lot about fruit of the loom underwear by reading the label. I’m pretty sure if I tried to do a review of my tighty-whities I’d catch a little flack.

-- This Ad Space For Sale! Your Ad Here! Reach a targeted audience! Affordable Rates, easy financing! Contact an ad represenative today at JustJoe's Advertising Consortium.

View jasonR's profile

jasonR

19 posts in 1371 days


#14 posted 10-27-2013 03:06 AM

I often learn things from them; like the Lee-Valley catalogues.
And I can learn a lot about fruit of the loom underwear by reading the label. I’m pretty sure if I tried to do a review of my tighty-whities I’d catch a little flack.

Weeeell it should be woodworking related. So if you do post a review on your tighty-whites make sure they are the ones you used butt burnish your newly finished table top. And for goodness sakes make sure they are clean.

-- Jason

View JustJoe's profile

JustJoe

1554 posts in 782 days


#15 posted 10-27-2013 03:32 AM

Weeeell it should be woodworking related.
Excellent point. Underwear is probably out, but there’s some fascinating information on the back of the trojan wrappers, and that’s tool related.

-- This Ad Space For Sale! Your Ad Here! Reach a targeted audience! Affordable Rates, easy financing! Contact an ad represenative today at JustJoe's Advertising Consortium.

showing 1 through 15 of 22 comments

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase