LumberJocks

GF Arm-R-Seal Urethane Topcoat

  • Advertise with us
Review by Roger posted 09-25-2013 11:06 PM 2309 views 1 time favorited 31 comments Add to Favorites Watch
GF Arm-R-Seal Urethane Topcoat No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

This is my 2-cents on this mighty fine finish from Generals. It’s grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr8!, As Tony the Tiger would have said. I used this for the 1st time on the 3 in 1 crib that I just built for my youngest Grndson. I used a sort of “French-Ball” to apply the recommended 3 coats. Small make-up pads (believe me, I don’t use make-up)lol, inside of a pair of panty-hose….......OK, stop laughin, I don’t wear those either…....I do have a hard time goin to Wally World buyin this stuff tho.. LOL. Anyhoo, After sanding to 320 on all the parts, I wiped on a diluted coat of BLO, then after about 2 and a half weeks when that was dry, I wiped on the Generals. All coats went on easily. The satin finish is just what I wanted. It looks amazing. No drips anywhere, either. :) I’m sure, I’ll be using the heck outta this finish. Thnx Generals for a good product, made in the good ole U.S.A.

-- Roger from KY. Work/Play/Travel Safe. Kentuk55@bellsouth.net




View Roger's profile

Roger

14556 posts in 1455 days



31 comments so far

View andy_P's profile

andy_P

218 posts in 1859 days


#1 posted 09-25-2013 11:35 PM

Roger,

Why the BLO first…..color? Also, I’ve been making my own wipe on poly from gloss poly thinned with Mineral Spirits and it seems to work quite well. I’d never question a General Finishes product, but give me a tie breaker, Roger.

-- Wood is a gift from God/Nature that maintains its beauty forever via the hand of a woodworker.

View andy_P's profile

andy_P

218 posts in 1859 days


#2 posted 09-25-2013 11:36 PM

I forgot to ask…....What brand of Panty Hose do you like…....LOL

-- Wood is a gift from God/Nature that maintains its beauty forever via the hand of a woodworker.

View jaykaypur's profile

jaykaypur

3338 posts in 1059 days


#3 posted 09-25-2013 11:49 PM

Nice review and good info to have. Thanks.

-- Use it up, Wear it out --------------- Make it do, Or do without!

View Roger's profile

Roger

14556 posts in 1455 days


#4 posted 09-25-2013 11:56 PM

Thnx. LOL andy…. the cheapest ones are what I like… hehehe… I have used the ole “brew-yer-own” mix as well. I just really wanted to try something different. The BLO thinned down w/thinner helps bring out the grain nicely on that Walnut. (and other woods as well). I’m still experimenting. :)

-- Roger from KY. Work/Play/Travel Safe. Kentuk55@bellsouth.net

View andy_P's profile

andy_P

218 posts in 1859 days


#5 posted 09-26-2013 12:27 AM

roger..do you think there is any blotching problems with Cherry and Maple and the like? I like the idea of BLO bringing out more of the grain yet maintaining the natural look. Never thought of it. My biggest problem is that I don’t have the patience to wait out the time necessary to let the oil completely dry.

-- Wood is a gift from God/Nature that maintains its beauty forever via the hand of a woodworker.

View Jim Jakosh's profile

Jim Jakosh

11419 posts in 1756 days


#6 posted 09-26-2013 12:41 AM

Great review, roger. Is it like wipe on poly?
What does it cost for a gallon? Is it like $60??
Where do you get it?
Is it recommended to scuff sand between coats??

Thanks, Jim

-- Jim Jakosh.....Practical Wood Products...........Learn something new every day!! Variety is the Spice of Life!!

View HillbillyShooter's profile

HillbillyShooter

4559 posts in 943 days


#7 posted 09-26-2013 12:50 AM

Nice review, I might have to give it a try.

-- John C. -- "Firearms are second only to the Constitution in importance; they are the peoples' liberty's teeth." George Washington

View gfadvm's profile

gfadvm

10850 posts in 1341 days


#8 posted 09-26-2013 12:53 AM

I like Spar Urethane/mineral spirits for a ‘home made’ wipe on. The Spar has a lot of “long oils” like BLO in it and gives a nice look to most darker woods.

-- " I'll try to be nicer, if you'll try to be smarter" gfadvm

View Joe Lyddon's profile

Joe Lyddon

7710 posts in 2703 days


#9 posted 09-26-2013 12:58 AM

I’ve used their stuff in cans… and it was super!!

I used Arm-r-Seal on this little shelf... I was very happy with it!

I’m curious about the Cost & source too…

-- Have Fun! Joe Lyddon - Alta Loma, CA USA - Home: http://www.WoodworkStuff.net ... My Small Gallery: http://www.ncwoodworker.net/pp/showgallery.php?ppuser=1389&cat=500"

View lew's profile

lew

10024 posts in 2406 days


#10 posted 09-26-2013 12:59 AM

Thanks, Roger.

I have heard General makes some fine finishes but have never tried them.

-- Lew- Time traveler. Purveyor of the Universe's finest custom rolling pins.

View doubleDD's profile

doubleDD

2445 posts in 694 days


#11 posted 09-26-2013 01:40 AM

I believe I saw a video on this with Charles Neil. He had great results with the finishes.

-- --Dave, Downers Grove, Il. When you run out of ideas, start building your dreams

View bluekingfisher's profile

bluekingfisher

1031 posts in 1631 days


#12 posted 09-26-2013 08:05 AM

Thanks for the review Roger but I found out some months back it is no longer available here in the UK, all to do with it exceeding the V.O.C. levels….......................damn those health and Safety Exec.

-- No one plans to fail, they just, just fail to plan

View Earlextech's profile (online now)

Earlextech

972 posts in 1341 days


#13 posted 09-26-2013 12:21 PM

General Finishes is available at Woodcraft stores. Great line of products.

-- Sam Hamory - The project is never finished until its "finished"!

View Roger's profile

Roger

14556 posts in 1455 days


#14 posted 09-26-2013 12:52 PM

Jim: A couple of months ago, I actually bought a gallon thru Rockler with free shipping, it was 44 bux delivered to my door. Here’s Generals web page: http://www.generalfinishes.com/retail-products/oil-base-top-coats
Here is a spec sheet:
http://www.generalfinishes.com/sites/default/files/file_downloads/Tech-Data-GF-Arm-R-Seal-050311.pdf
The MSDS sheet:
http://www.generalfinishes.com/sites/default/files/file_downloads/MSDS-GF-Arm-R-Seal-080808.pdf
Also, I did not “sand” between coats, but, I did use a fine scuff pad. I had very minimal “nubs”. I’m still learning myself though. Everything came out fine for me. :)
Joe: That’s a beauty of a shelf you made there. That finish looks very good.

-- Roger from KY. Work/Play/Travel Safe. Kentuk55@bellsouth.net

View Ottacat's profile

Ottacat

322 posts in 502 days


#15 posted 09-26-2013 03:32 PM

This is my go to finish on most projects, great stuff.

showing 1 through 15 of 31 comments

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase