LumberJocks

Nuvo Screws - Nuvo kid on the block

  • Advertise with us
Review by vipond33 posted 09-14-2013 01:55 AM 3154 views 8 times favorited 13 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Nuvo Screws - Nuvo kid on the block Nuvo Screws - Nuvo kid on the block No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Cognoscenti in the woodworking world know that the finest screw available till now is the Robertson square drive.

Can’t be beat.

Its finest current expression is the Quadrex type-

- with its combination Philips/Robertson drive, a cut point self drilling feature and with countersinking nibs under the flat head. A modern deep root design.

Till now.

New to our shop is the Nuvo screw, a much improved variation on the Canadian designed Robertson. It has three surprising features that add up to make it the new king.

1. A very effective pre-drill. While it is available in the T17 cut point tip, we like the unusual spiral ZYX style shown as it causes less splitting and takes less power to drive.

2 Spiral countersinking nibs. These produce much less tear out than the conventional style while again requiring less power to seat. Nothing beats a carbide tipped dedicated countersink for sure but for many construction work projects who has the time or the need?

3. A marvelous new head design. What they have done is add four lobes at the corners of the square socket which allow the driving force to be in line with the steel at eight points. The upshot of this is that the screw is unshakeable from the driver and simply will not cam out. Tests that I have performed show me that the amount of pressure needed downwards, the amount needed to keep the driver engaged with the screw – is almost negligible.

In addition, they are nickel plated with very smooth surfaces throughout.

Standard Robertson drivers will power these screws and dedicated Nuvo drivers will power Quadrex type heads, but not Robertson. The bits themselves are modestly priced ($1-$2) and appear to be reasonably well made.

Hand drivers do not seem to be available as yet.
Pricing is competitive in bulk and there is easy supply in Canada but only a sole US distributor so far.

.
.

So mon confreres, if you drive screws for a living this may be of great interest to you. You might think, “Ahh, a new screw, so what”.
Try just one and you will be sold.

A European design, made in Asia, distributed from Quebec.

gene

Embedded videos from YouTube are not possible at the moment so here are the links instead. Really worth a look.

A Nuvo corporate video demonstrating the product. While the presenter might better have been a burly guy in a checked shirt, well…..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6XowGTbp3wA

Not much of a believer in advertising I set up my own half baked test to confirm their edge splitting and pre-drilling claims. This is a 1 3/4” #8 going into 1 1/4” fine grained, really dense white oak. Notice the 14.4v drill laboring to drive the Quadrex in the second half of the clip and not being quite able to make it flush.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nXygheHC3zw&feature=youtu.be
Here is the comparison of the countersinking abilities after the test.

Nuvoconcept.com

http://nuvoconcept.com/index.php/en/component/content/article/2-uncategorised/16-nuvo-concept-distributors?quot;=

A Canadian distributor, see above for others.

http://www.rayetteforestproducts.com/#!nuvo-catalogue

A US distributor
http://robertbury.com/locations/walpole/

-- gene@toronto.ontario.canada : dovetail free since '53, critiques always welcome.




View vipond33's profile

vipond33

1405 posts in 1163 days



13 comments so far

View chopnhack's profile

chopnhack

368 posts in 1059 days


#1 posted 09-14-2013 02:05 AM

Sweet!! Just finished hanging another kitchen today and wished I had these! Back hurts from “powering” the screws overhead while balancing with the other hand ;-)

Gene, do you think the new bit is worthwhile? It seems like it would register more tightly, more so than the square drive. I love the square drive for being able to hold long screws without dropping while your one handed.

Most manufacturers don’t make longer than 2” or at least I haven’t seen them in there offerings. Why? Ever hang in a condo with the walls all funky?? 2 1/4 was a must….

-- Sneaking up on the line....

View shipwright's profile

shipwright

5000 posts in 1463 days


#2 posted 09-14-2013 04:39 AM

Thanks Gene , I’ll look into these. I do use fastenings occasionally.

-- Paul M ..............If God wanted us to have fiberglass boats he would have given us fiberglass trees. http://prmdesigns.com/

View madts's profile

madts

1274 posts in 1005 days


#3 posted 09-14-2013 05:40 AM

Thanks Gene: I love good screws, no pun intended.

-- Thor and Odin are still the greatest of Gods.

View stefang's profile

stefang

13101 posts in 1999 days


#4 posted 09-14-2013 08:26 AM

A great and helpful review Gene. I hope they find their way to Norway.

-- Mike, an American living in Norway.

View SPalm's profile

SPalm

4826 posts in 2547 days


#5 posted 09-14-2013 11:42 AM

Gene, you are amazing.
What a well documented, thoughtful, well written, and insightful review. And your photos are stunning.

Those screws seem really nice, I will keep this in my bag of tricks.

Steve

-- -- I'm no rocket surgeon

View RobynHoodridge's profile

RobynHoodridge

126 posts in 995 days


#6 posted 09-14-2013 12:46 PM

Oooh. I learned something. Thank you!

-- Never is longer than forever.

View ScottKaye's profile

ScottKaye

294 posts in 618 days


#7 posted 09-14-2013 03:56 PM

great review… wish they had a few more distibutors! If they really want to sell these, they need to get in the big three (orange/blue and amazon)

-- "Nothing happens until you build it"

View Dusty56's profile

Dusty56

11660 posts in 2353 days


#8 posted 09-14-2013 08:20 PM

...the finest screw available…..nevermind. : )

-- I'm absolutely positive that I couldn't be more uncertain!

View peteg's profile

peteg

2904 posts in 1488 days


#9 posted 09-14-2013 09:58 PM

Love that way you share your latest research Gene, :)
Pete

-- Pete G: If you always do what you always did you'll always get what you always got

View redryder's profile

redryder

2170 posts in 1767 days


#10 posted 09-15-2013 08:51 AM

Nice review.
Hopefully “McFeelys” will start selling them.
That’s where I always go to get screwed….......................

-- mike...............

View NiteWalker's profile

NiteWalker

2710 posts in 1242 days


#11 posted 09-15-2013 09:33 AM

Great review; I love how well thought and written it is.
But a question: Do these screws offer any advantages in a controlled environment (workshop) where predrilling is typically done? I switched from phillips screws a long time ago to square drive and haven’t needed anything more, so I never jumped on the spax or grk bandwagon.

-- He who dies with the most tools... dies with the emptiest wallet.

View vipond33's profile

vipond33

1405 posts in 1163 days


#12 posted 09-15-2013 03:35 PM

Thanks for the interest, the compliments and the well expected puns. For even more knee slappers, go to http://lumberjocks.com/topics/43769 or http://lumberjocks.com/topics/42397.

chopnhack - do you think the new bit is worthwhile?
Yes, if you are using Nuvo or Quadrex screws. Just like a properly made Robertson bit they have a slight taper and if the screw itself is well made (not always the case), you can drop the drill to the floor from bench height and the screw will still be on the bit. To your second point, we have Quadrex screws on hand out to 3” and it will probably be true for Nuvo types eventually.

NiteWalker – Do these screws offer any advantages in a controlled environment ?
Good point and the short answer is maybe. They definitely have an advantage in bit holding power, utter lack of cam out and they also do a better, cleaner job in countersinking. We pre-drill everything in our shop too but with Nuvo we don’t have to drill as deep. This is helpful because tiny drills always clog up and require multiple re-entries after shaking off the muff. Now we can just go shallow, make the countersink with our Dimar carbide tipped units and let the screw take care of the rest.

You can’t do better than these. Super long lasting, razor sharp countersink edges in any material.
gene

-- gene@toronto.ontario.canada : dovetail free since '53, critiques always welcome.

View jusfine's profile

jusfine

2280 posts in 1591 days


#13 posted 09-29-2013 05:15 PM

Thanks for the review, wish they had a dealer in Western Canada… look interesting! I think I will order some.

-- Randy "You are judged as much by the questions you ask as the answers you give..."

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase