LumberJocks

Grizzly Sander

  • Advertise with us
Review by brunob posted 06-09-2008 04:04 AM 4475 views 0 times favorited 9 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Grizzly Sander No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Had a little extra cash in my pocket so couldn’t resist a trip to Grizzly in Williamsport. I’ve been thinking about a drum sander for some time. I made the purchase.

It’s very heavy – takes at least two people to put it together. What was amazing was that it was perfect right out of the box. The conveyer tracked right on and no adjustment was needed for the drum. I have not changed the sandpaper yet but it appears straight foreword. A nice feature is that it has it’s own dust collection bag. Seems to work well so far.

There was a small crack in one of the plastic covers. I called Grizzle. I had a new cover in two days by UPS.

Glad I got it. I’ve used it quite a few times already. Several have noted that they use it on every project – they were right. Should have gotten it sooner.

-- Bruce from Central New York...now, if you'll pardon me, I have some sawdust to make.




View brunob's profile

brunob

2275 posts in 2823 days



9 comments so far

View GaryK's profile

GaryK

10262 posts in 2642 days


#1 posted 06-09-2008 05:25 AM

Nice looking sander. Thanks for the review.

-- Gary - Never pass up the opportunity to make a mistake look like you planned it that way - Tyler, TX

View gator9t9's profile

gator9t9

294 posts in 2358 days


#2 posted 06-09-2008 05:21 PM

Looks like a nice unit and i bet the price was good at Grizzly …..So this one has the dust collection port and a bag is connected to that port … Can you also, if you want, connect a dust collector to that port ? ...Sanders generate SO much dust.
I have been looking at this one ….I would love to hear your comments a month from now or 6 mo down the road …on how you like it …
A friend of mine has a Jet 22-44 and that works really slick …but of course the Jet is about $500 more !
...Thanks for posting …

-- Mike in Bonney Lake " If you are real real real good your whole life, You 'll be buried in a curly maple coffin when you die."

View motthunter's profile

motthunter

2141 posts in 2453 days


#3 posted 06-09-2008 09:09 PM

please come back to review it again after a months use. I would like to hear how it holds up.

-- making sawdust....

View Dusty56's profile

Dusty56

11659 posts in 2342 days


#4 posted 06-10-2008 04:37 AM

it’s got to be better than the P.O.S. Delta X5 that I am stuck with…..Tried to adjust it a thousand times and it still isn’t right ….won’t sand evenly across the width of the drum and the operation of the height adjuster is about as smooth as Barbed Wire !!! Cheap plastic gears and flimsy 1/4” adjuster rod combined with a large cast iron crank wheel just spells disaster waiting to happen…Let me know how this Grizzly works out for you in a few months : )

-- I'm absolutely positive that I couldn't be more uncertain!

View matt garcia's profile

matt garcia

1830 posts in 2326 days


#5 posted 06-10-2008 05:08 AM

I considered a Grizzly since I already own 2 Grizzly machines, but since we are a Jet dealer, and I get a very good deal on tools that I buy for myself, I got Jet 16-32. I bet going there and buying it saved you a bunch on shipping. Man shipping nowadays can be as much as the machine!! Especially with Grizzly!! I hope you like it, and please let us know how it stands up to time!

-- Matt Garcia Wannabe Period Furniture Maker, Houston TX

View Kipster's profile

Kipster

1076 posts in 2407 days


#6 posted 06-11-2008 10:51 PM

I hope you are still happy with this machine 6 mo.s from now. I have there spindle sander and find changing spindles a chore. Thanks for the post.

-- Kip Northern Illinois ( If you don't know where your goin any road will take you there) George Harrison

View Scott Bryan's profile

Scott Bryan

27251 posts in 2476 days


#7 posted 06-12-2008 10:57 AM

This is a nice review. I have one of these on my wish list and have always liked Grizzley tools. I will definately have to strongly consider this sander (if I can get my wife to give me an advance on my allowance). :)

-- Challenges are what make life interesting; overcoming them is what makes life meaningful- Joshua Marine

View Sac's profile

Sac

268 posts in 2287 days


#8 posted 01-09-2009 03:11 PM

Well it has been sometime now since you have had this drum sander. How about an update? I have several Grizzly tools in the shop. palm sander,Band saw and spindle sander. I really do like thier products. I have been looking at drum sander’s for a few months. It will be a couple of more before I will have enough saved to get one. The Grizzly, Performax and Jet will be one of my choices. either an 18” or a 22-44 will be added sometime this summer.

Thanks for the review!

-- Jerry

View Jonathan Alson's profile

Jonathan Alson

18 posts in 1136 days


#9 posted 08-09-2011 05:36 PM

Anyones interested, you can read a whole load more reviews over at drum sander reviews . Adding more and more as time goes on, and its building up quite nicely. I like how they focus on actual consumer feedback and thoughts recieved on each unit.

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase