LumberJocks

The Luthier's Best Friend can help all handymen/women and woodworkers too!

  • Advertise with us
Review by rdwile posted 08-29-2013 08:18 PM 2510 views 5 times favorited 11 comments Add to Favorites Watch

Average rating: 5.0
1 review total
Add my Review

The Luthier's Best Friend can help all handymen/women and woodworkers too! No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I suggested some time ago that Lee Valley carry luthier’s binding tape, as it has usefulness for many of us on a day to day basis. After some searching they were able to track down a supplier and have offered it for sale on their store.

Here’s an example of I use it in the guitar shop:

This tape is quite simply indispensable for any woodworker and likely most home’s toolbox. The tape is strong enough to wrap around a joint and not break, while having some elasticity helping to close up a joint and not leave residue when it is removed.

The Lee Valley Video also shows it use.

I highly recommend a roll of this (or a few!) for everyone, it will not tear easily like regular masking tape, yet remove easily when done without any sticky residue left behind. I have a few rolls in my shop and always have a roll in my toolbox to take when I help those buddy’s that I do not allow to touch my tools.

This is a must have.

More details and pictures on my blog:

Rich

-- Richard D. Wile, http://richard-wile.blogspot.ca/




View rdwile's profile

rdwile

140 posts in 770 days



11 comments so far

View HillbillyShooter's profile (online now)

HillbillyShooter

4616 posts in 951 days


#1 posted 08-29-2013 08:32 PM

Thanks for the information. I use the Blue Scotch Tape for projects, but could certainly use something a little stronger.

-- John C. -- "Firearms are second only to the Constitution in importance; they are the peoples' liberty's teeth." George Washington

View rdwile's profile

rdwile

140 posts in 770 days


#2 posted 08-29-2013 08:47 PM

This stuff is super strong, stretchy and very sticky, yet leaves nothing behind when its job is done!!

-- Richard D. Wile, http://richard-wile.blogspot.ca/

View BenR's profile

BenR

248 posts in 1287 days


#3 posted 08-29-2013 11:12 PM

Will have to try that out. Thanks for the review.

View Hawaiilad's profile

Hawaiilad

2012 posts in 1679 days


#4 posted 08-29-2013 11:48 PM

Richard I wonder how this tape would work when stack cutting several pieces of thin wood on the scroll saw. I use clear packing tape and spray glue the pattern to the wood.

-- Larry in sunny and warm Hawaii,

View Willardz's profile

Willardz

56 posts in 969 days


#5 posted 08-30-2013 02:33 AM

Thanks for the tip, looks like it would be great for repairs

-- I have Carrie, food, shelter, and wood to turn. What else do I need? http://www.willardwoodworking.com

View rdwile's profile

rdwile

140 posts in 770 days


#6 posted 08-30-2013 05:50 AM

Hawaiilad, this should work well, as it has some clamping like elasticity. This should hold the strips together tightly.

Rich

-- Richard D. Wile, http://richard-wile.blogspot.ca/

View wncguy's profile

wncguy

211 posts in 971 days


#7 posted 08-31-2013 12:16 AM

Do you think it would work for small band saw box glue ups so no need for clamps?

-- Any man can be a father, but it takes someone special to be a Dad

View Hawaiilad's profile

Hawaiilad

2012 posts in 1679 days


#8 posted 08-31-2013 12:29 AM

Thanks Rich. I didn’t think of the band saw box glue ups. Might work very good for holding the drawers and smaller pieces…will give it a try.

-- Larry in sunny and warm Hawaii,

View Don Johnson's profile

Don Johnson

613 posts in 1439 days


#9 posted 08-31-2013 01:12 PM

Looks ideal for some of the things I do – but not available in the UK , Darn it!

-- Don, Somerset UK, http://www.donjohnson24.co.uk

View wncguy's profile

wncguy

211 posts in 971 days


#10 posted 08-31-2013 02:21 PM

Rich – Okay you had my interest but now that Larry (Hawaiilad) indicated he is going to try it, I put my order in for 2 rolls!
Thanks again!

-- Any man can be a father, but it takes someone special to be a Dad

View rdwile's profile

rdwile

140 posts in 770 days


#11 posted 09-01-2013 09:42 AM

Glad to hear this is useful (maybe) for some of you. Report back so others can learn about the product more.

-- Richard D. Wile, http://richard-wile.blogspot.ca/

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase