LumberJocks

Almost Magical

  • Advertise with us
Review by pintodeluxe posted 08-12-2013 07:08 PM 3614 views 11 times favorited 25 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Almost Magical Almost Magical No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them


The Rockler Locking Miter bit for 3/4” stock really impressed me. I took the time to joint and plane the stock to uniform thickness. I butted the two edges together (as if I was making a table top) to make sure the edges were straight. A few small test boards is all it took to get good fitting, tight joints. In fact I was surprised how snug the fit was. It creates a perfect friction fit, that will stay together – even before the glue is added. The interlocking parts seem to cling together and align the joint automatically.

I have had great luck with Rockler carbide bits in the past, so I ordered the #22627. Like my past experiences, this Rockler bit is great. I carpet-tape strips of 1/4” MDF to my router table fence. Then I make the first pass on all workpieces. Next I remove the MDF strips, and make a second pass to complete the joint. Remember that you rout one workpiece flat on the router table, and the mating workpiece vertically against the fence.

If you see a little ridge on the workpiece, try adjusting the fence.

I have heard some reviewers mention that they get some snipe as the workpiece exits the bit. If that is the case, you should move the fence away from you. When the bit is set up correctly there will be no snipe, and the routing operation will not make your workpiece narrower.

This bit is designed for stock 3/4” thick, but not to worry – it will handle stock as thick as perhaps 7/8”.

There are only a few things that really amaze me in woodworking, like half blind machine-cut dovetails, and inlays. The locking miter joint is in that category.

-- Willie, Washington "If You Choose Not To Decide, You Still Have Made a Choice" - Rush




View pintodeluxe's profile

pintodeluxe

3515 posts in 1537 days



25 comments so far

View SawdustAndAnIPA's profile

SawdustAndAnIPA

19 posts in 492 days


#1 posted 08-12-2013 07:40 PM

Thanks for providing the review and use of the Miter Lock Bit. I was given this bit by my Father last year when I started my shop. I have never figured out how to use it. This will be alot of help in my next set of drawers. I also appreciate the input regarding Rockler’s bits. I have been looking for a line (for those special one-off bits) that are quality but cheaper than Whiteside or Freud.

Thanks again and keep on making dust!

-- What Is The Matrix? The Matrix Is All Around Us...It Is Your Table Saw Connected To The Internet.

View Mainiac Matt 's profile

Mainiac Matt

4341 posts in 1052 days


#2 posted 08-12-2013 08:08 PM

I’ve heard lock miter bits can be fussy to set up….

Did you find that to be so? Any tips to getting it right quickly?

-- Pine is fine, but Oak's no joke!

View JoeinGa's profile

JoeinGa

3525 posts in 731 days


#3 posted 08-12-2013 08:22 PM

Looks like a “keeper” for sure…

-- Perform A Random Act Of Kindness Today ... Pay It Forward

View pintodeluxe's profile

pintodeluxe

3515 posts in 1537 days


#4 posted 08-12-2013 08:35 PM

Matt I found the setup pretty easy. I just eyeballed the fence and bit height settings. After the first test piece, I was 1/16” off. If there is a small ridge on the underside of your workpiece, start with a fence adjustment. Adjust the fence so it cuts a sharp edge, but doesn’t make your workpiece narrower. Then make small bit height adjustments until the miter aligns at the outside corner. Start out with the top of the bit 1/16” above your stock.

Remember you only have to do this once. Then make a setup block for future reference.

I have used alternate methods in the past, such as mitered corners with biscuits for reinforcement. Unless you can get clamps along the entire jointline, you wind up using a nail gun to close the joint. With the locking miter bit, the joint needs minimal clamping, and no brad nails.

-- Willie, Washington "If You Choose Not To Decide, You Still Have Made a Choice" - Rush

View Dallas's profile

Dallas

3107 posts in 1211 days


#5 posted 08-12-2013 08:42 PM

+10! Thanks, I’ve been looking at doing locked miters since I have a number of shaker boxes to do and all of them need a miter… and I’m crappy at doing miters

-- Improvise.... Adapt...... Overcome!

View bygrace's profile

bygrace

135 posts in 693 days


#6 posted 08-13-2013 12:04 AM

Thanks for the useful info. I’m adding that to my list of “things I really need!” Several projects it will be useful on.

-- Andy, Waxahachie, Tx.

View cutworm's profile

cutworm

1065 posts in 1517 days


#7 posted 08-13-2013 01:00 AM

Thanks for the review.

-- Steve - "Never Give Up"

View josh's profile

josh

6 posts in 472 days


#8 posted 08-13-2013 02:37 AM

that is awesome..i need one for sure

View WhoMe's profile

WhoMe

1125 posts in 1967 days


#9 posted 08-13-2013 02:54 AM

If you have issues setting this bit up, rockler sells a setup block for this bit. This month in the flyer, you can get this bit and I think the setup block is free.

-- I'm not clumsy.. It's just the floor hates me, the tables and chairs are bullies and the wall gets in the way.. - Mike -

View Ken90712's profile

Ken90712

15161 posts in 1912 days


#10 posted 08-13-2013 09:20 AM

Good review….

-- Ken, "Everyday above ground is a good day!"

View hjt's profile

hjt

779 posts in 1862 days


#11 posted 08-13-2013 07:09 PM

Gotta like it when the piece fit together!!

-- Harold

View Rick M.'s profile (online now)

Rick M.

4346 posts in 1104 days


#12 posted 08-14-2013 12:03 AM

Been wanting one of these for a long time but was put off a bit by people who said they were difficult to set up, thanks for the review and I have no more reservations.

-- http://thewoodknack.blogspot.com/

View freidasdad's profile

freidasdad

144 posts in 1711 days


#13 posted 08-14-2013 03:21 PM

Couldn’t agree more. I have this bit with the set up block and it makes perfect, strong miters. I really love mine.

-- My goal in life is to be as good a person as my dog already thinks I am---author unknown

View MarkTheFiddler's profile

MarkTheFiddler

1848 posts in 912 days


#14 posted 08-15-2013 01:55 AM

That rocks! It’s on my list. Ty for the review!

-- Thanks for all the lessons!

View Jofa's profile

Jofa

215 posts in 562 days


#15 posted 08-15-2013 05:19 PM

Oooh definitely considering this one.

Any thoughts on how a 1/4” roundover would look on that joint?

-- Thank you Lord for the passion and ability to make things from your creation.

showing 1 through 15 of 25 comments

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase