LumberJocks

First Re-Saw with this blade

  • Advertise with us
Review by Adam posted 07-23-2013 12:42 AM 1907 views 0 times favorited 7 comments Add to Favorites Watch
First Re-Saw with this blade First Re-Saw with this blade First Re-Saw with this blade Click the pictures to enlarge them

I had purchased a 1 hp King bandsaw for $80 off Kijiji (Canada’s Craig List) and gage it a complete overhaul and added a 6” riser kit to it. I purchased a Little Ripper Bandsaw blade for $36 from R&D Bandsaws are located in Brampton, Ontario, just 30 min from me.

This is my first real experience re-sawing anything substantial with it and it worked very well. This is 12” of hard maple and the surface finish is not the best but that is because I kept on stopping a starting. It was slow going with just a 1 hp motor but I would have never gotten though this material if I had not purchased this blade. Overall it was a good purchase.

-- Adam, St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada




View Adam's profile

Adam

80 posts in 1813 days



7 comments so far

View Surfside's profile

Surfside

3372 posts in 924 days


#1 posted 07-23-2013 08:57 PM

The results look great. Nice resawing. Great review.

-- "someone has to be wounded for others to be saved, someone has to sacrifice for others to feel happiness, someone has to die so others could live"

View WayneC's profile

WayneC

12302 posts in 2848 days


#2 posted 07-23-2013 09:03 PM

Thanks for the review.

-- We must guard our enthusiasm as we would our life - James Krenov

View Howie's profile

Howie

2656 posts in 1674 days


#3 posted 07-23-2013 11:53 PM

Tell more about the blade. TPI? blade width? Overall doesn’t look that bad in the picture.

-- Life is good.

View Dusty56's profile

Dusty56

11684 posts in 2439 days


#4 posted 07-24-2013 03:11 AM

Your link doesn’t work at this time ;
Not Found

The requested URL /who was not found on this server.

Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.

Apache Server at www.tufftooth.com Port 80

Tell us something about the blade that makes it worth 4 stars. That’s what makes it a “review”. Was this your one and only cut with the blade ? How many tpi , raker , skip tooth, or what type of blade ? : ) Thanks.

-- I'm absolutely positive that I couldn't be more uncertain!

View OakHill's profile

OakHill

277 posts in 545 days


#5 posted 07-24-2013 10:23 AM

Thanks for the review. I made a copy of the info for my band saw file.

Thank You

-- John, Illinois, http://OakHillWoodCreations.com

View Adam's profile

Adam

80 posts in 1813 days


#6 posted 07-24-2013 08:32 PM

The Website is http://www.tufftooth.com/

The Blade is 5/8” x .025” x 3TPI and is tungsten impregnated silicon blade. The website states that it will make the cut cleaner and faster than a normal band saw blade. Extra hard, stays sharp and cuts straight. It is extra wide to add stiffness to the blade, has a thin kerf and cuts extremely smooth. All of which I experienced when using it and after cutting through 4 pieces of this hard maple the blade seems just as asharp as when I started.

-- Adam, St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada

View Dusty56's profile

Dusty56

11684 posts in 2439 days


#7 posted 07-24-2013 10:58 PM

Nice job, Adam . Thanks for the link and the info : )

-- I'm absolutely positive that I couldn't be more uncertain!

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase