LumberJocks

I can't believe these are 8 bucks

  • Advertise with us
Review by lumberjoe posted 06-10-2013 08:57 PM 2367 views 3 times favorited 18 comments Add to Favorites Watch
I can't believe these are 8 bucks No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I didn’t feel like making my own bench dogs, I also didn’t feel like paying tons of money for them. In one of my many recent trips to woodcraft, I saw these and decided to try them out

The Good They work. They fit snugly in the 3/4” holes I drilled and laid flat on the bench top. They are nylon, but appear to be very strong. I clamped down on my vise way more than I needed to a few times to see if they would crack or give. They didn’t. The flat faces are just the right size to hold effectively when planing. There are also small points on the top of each one that are used similarly to painters pyramids and allow tiny contact points when finishing.

The Awesome The rubber “bench brakes” that are included. They turn your bench dogs into “bench cookies” which is nice for freehand routing and sanding. They are removable if you need the extra space for planing thinner stock. My favorite feature is you can stick them directly in a 3/4” dog hole without using the dog. This is great for using something like a router plane where you don’t want to raise the work piece too much.

The bad Well, they aren’t brass and fancy looking, and you can’t brag about how much they cost.

Overall I can’t believe I even considered anything else. Kreg put a lot of functionality into a little package that costs less than most fast food value meals for a set of 4. If you need some bench dogs or are looking to upgrade the set you have, check these out.

-- www.etsy.com/shop/KandJWoodCrafts




View lumberjoe's profile

lumberjoe

2833 posts in 905 days



18 comments so far

View Brandon's profile

Brandon

4138 posts in 1608 days


#1 posted 06-10-2013 09:40 PM

The bad Well, they aren’t brass and fancy looking, and you can’t brag about how much they cost.

Haha! Well forget about them, then. :-) I might have to pick some up next time I’m at Woodcraft.

-- "hold fast to that which is good"

View MrFid's profile

MrFid

529 posts in 561 days


#2 posted 06-10-2013 09:56 PM

Second this review. These dogs are like every other Kreg product I have ever used… highest quality. Plus, they don’t mar (marr?) the workpiece like the brass knurled ones can.

-- Bailey F - Eastern Mass.

View Don W's profile

Don W

15039 posts in 1224 days


#3 posted 06-10-2013 10:02 PM

Thanks for the review Joe. For $8 I would be foolish to keep buying 3/4” dowels.

-- Master hand plane hoarder. - http://timetestedtools.com

View Dusty56's profile

Dusty56

11659 posts in 2345 days


#4 posted 06-10-2013 10:31 PM

Nice review , Joe : )

-- I'm absolutely positive that I couldn't be more uncertain!

View Beaver_Lumber's profile

Beaver_Lumber

3 posts in 955 days


#5 posted 06-10-2013 10:49 PM

Got to agree with this review. I also own a set too. I was eager to get those from Veritas but wanted 4. At 22$ per pair, that was a whopping 44$. A little too much at my taste. One of my friend is a Kreg dealer and showed me those little buddies when he got them last year. At 8$, I decided to give these a try and was confident that I would not loose much if they didn’t perform as expected. They proved me wrong! Talk about a well invested 8$ instead…

-- Patrick - A beaver is like a woodworker because it needs to have wood between its paws

View NiteWalker's profile

NiteWalker

2710 posts in 1234 days


#6 posted 06-10-2013 11:15 PM

Thanks for the review!
I’m grabbing a set just because they’re blue. :-p

-- He who dies with the most tools... dies with the emptiest wallet.

View bobasaurus's profile

bobasaurus

1259 posts in 1841 days


#7 posted 06-10-2013 11:30 PM

They look really nice. Do they have a spring to keep them in place for oversized holes?

-- Allen, Colorado

View Buckethead's profile

Buckethead

1921 posts in 526 days


#8 posted 06-10-2013 11:31 PM

Nice share! Now to build a serviceable workbench…

-- Bucket, any person that spends 10k on a bicycle is guaranteed to be a $@I almost started to like you. -bhog

View BentheViking's profile

BentheViking

1752 posts in 1221 days


#9 posted 06-10-2013 11:41 PM

Ive seen these before but never really thought much about them…good to know

-- It's made of wood. Real sturdy.--Chubbs Peterson

View CessnaPilotBarry's profile

CessnaPilotBarry

891 posts in 767 days


#10 posted 06-11-2013 12:03 AM

Nice review! These look handy!

Don’t forget, for the cost of two hanger bolts, two wing nuts, and a piece of scrap, you can add pop-up stops to your bench…

Not mine, found on the web….

-- It's all good, if it's wood...

View cutworm's profile

cutworm

1064 posts in 1450 days


#11 posted 06-11-2013 01:06 AM

Thanks for sharing Joe. Good review and I plan on picking up a set next time I’m in there.

-- Steve - "Never Give Up"

View Mainiac Matt 's profile (online now)

Mainiac Matt

4000 posts in 985 days


#12 posted 06-11-2013 01:45 AM

I have the same set and think they’re great.

-- Pine is fine, but Oak's no joke!

View Bampei's profile

Bampei

40 posts in 2001 days


#13 posted 06-11-2013 06:27 AM

Currently $11.95 and free shipping via Amazon (Set of 4)

www.amazon.com/KREG-4-Piece-Bench-Kreg-KKS1070/dp/B0073DRU82/

-- I dream of a better world, one where chickens can cross roads without having their motives questioned.

View NiteWalker's profile

NiteWalker

2710 posts in 1234 days


#14 posted 06-11-2013 11:50 AM

The seller in the $11.95 listing is hartville tool.

Amazon has them for $7.99 shipped if you’re a prime member.

-- He who dies with the most tools... dies with the emptiest wallet.

View StumpyNubs's profile

StumpyNubs

6192 posts in 1457 days


#15 posted 06-11-2013 12:22 PM

I have a set and love them! I like that they are plastic because it won’t mess up your plane iron if you hit one by mistake. Great review!

-- It's the best woodworking show since the invention of wood... New episodes at: http://www.stumpynubs.com

showing 1 through 15 of 18 comments

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase