LumberJocks

Good idea but too flimsy

  • Advertise with us
Review by teenagewoodworker posted 05-31-2008 04:04 PM 1776 views 0 times favorited 7 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Good idea but too flimsy No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Well i needed an edge guild and i didn’t want to order away for one so i got this milescraft edge guide. it is a good concept. it comes with a “swiss cheese” base that can be used on almost all routers which it able to be put into the edge guide and then you twist the router in the edge guide and it locks the router in. also they have a turnlock bushing that they include which is the same concept of the base. just insert it and twist to lock it down. as i said it is a good concept but i gave it three starts because it just seems to flimsy. the base i feel isn’t held in the edge guide firmly enough but it is the opposite for the bushings which i felt were held in really nice and tight. also the extension reel is not stiff enough and sags when you pick up the router and nothing is supporting it. i don’t think that it locks down well enough either. even when tightened as tight as i can get it i still feel like it might be able to be moved. all in all this is a good purchase for someone looking for a router edge guide that will be a once in a while use but if you need to use it often then i would say do yourself a favor and order away for a nicer and sturdier one.




View teenagewoodworker's profile

teenagewoodworker

2727 posts in 2491 days



7 comments so far

View lew's profile

lew

10129 posts in 2478 days


#1 posted 05-31-2008 04:08 PM

Dennis,

Thanks for the review.

Lew

-- Lew- Time traveler. Purveyor of the Universe's finest custom rolling pins.

View Scott Bryan's profile

Scott Bryan

27251 posts in 2545 days


#2 posted 05-31-2008 04:26 PM

Dennis,

Thanks for posting this review. I appreciated hearing about your experience with the product.

-- Challenges are what make life interesting; overcoming them is what makes life meaningful- Joshua Marine

View USCJeff's profile

USCJeff

1044 posts in 2791 days


#3 posted 06-01-2008 05:48 AM

Good to know. I haven’t used my router for arcs/circles much. I do need it sometimes, but have done ok with substitutes. How difficult do you think it would be to create a sturdy shop built guide? I would think a little cheap MDF would hold up well. You could use a hardwood base plate to attach to a MDF arm. It would be heavy, but I can’t imagine it getting off course in normal operations. Might have to give it a shot next time the application is needed.

-- Jeff, South Carolina

View teenagewoodworker's profile

teenagewoodworker

2727 posts in 2491 days


#4 posted 06-01-2008 02:23 PM

i agree. even i might be able to build one with a metalworker that i know. the milescraft one was all plastic and i think that like you said wood would be sturdier.

View dbhost's profile

dbhost

5386 posts in 1955 days


#5 posted 08-27-2009 01:42 AM

I’ve had this same one (although slapped with the Craftsman label) for about a year now, yes the arm piece isn’t rigid when unsupported, but when performing the edge guiding or circle routing operations this thing is designed for, it’s fine. Maybe not for daily usage, but for once or twice a week stuff it’s great!

One HUGE flaw to this is the knobs, they are completely soft plastic and the plastic strips out on the first try… I had to grab 1/4-20 star knobs from Rockler to actually use this thing…

-- My workshop blog can be found at http://daves-workshop.blogspot.com

View a1Jim's profile

a1Jim

112529 posts in 2300 days


#6 posted 08-27-2009 04:48 AM

I just made one from 1/4 ply works fine.Thanks for the review.

-- http://artisticwoodstudio.com Custom furniture

View Sirgreggins's profile

Sirgreggins

292 posts in 958 days


#7 posted 12-27-2012 03:24 AM

can anyone tell me how to make a 17” dado with the edge guide. Since the bar is 17” and the edge guide that attaches to it takes up about 4” i dont see how milescraft can claim up to a 31” cut.

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase