LumberJocks

SawStop Review

  • Advertise with us
Review by Dan Katz posted 05-11-2013 10:49 PM 10159 views 0 times favorited 26 comments Add to Favorites Watch
SawStop Review SawStop Review SawStop Review Click the pictures to enlarge them

Hi Guys,

I recently posted that I had pulled the plug on my old Delta Contactors saw.
For my 64th birthday my Dad who is 90 bought me a new SawStop.
Since I don’t have any insurance I convinced him that it would be a good investment.
It was purchased through Highland Woodworking in Atlanta.
Everything arrived in perfect shape.
I planned on using my Incra TSLS fence, so ordered the shorter Pro-Glide.
Sawstop will not sell a PCS without a fence. (ICS maybe)
Set up was easy. Attaching the cast iron wings was made easier by using the rails to align.
It’s up and running but haven’t cut a board yet.
I used some of the bolts that came with the Pro-Glide to mount the TSLS brackets.
The rails are attached to the main table and right wing only as I hope to add an
Exaktor EX26X Sliding table later by simply sliding the rails over.
I still have the old Delta and may set it up as a router station and may need it for the molding head
function but would really like to switch to only a router based system. Any thoughts?
Dan

-- VillageCarver,Chattanooga




View Dan Katz's profile

Dan Katz

45 posts in 2099 days



26 comments so far

View Mip's profile

Mip

446 posts in 1538 days


#1 posted 05-12-2013 12:21 AM

I like the title of this article; got a good chuckle.

View nailbanger2's profile

nailbanger2

1041 posts in 2603 days


#2 posted 05-12-2013 12:30 AM

“haven’t cut a board yet” . Thanks for the review. I guess I should be grateful this wasn’t posted as a project. ho hum

-- Wish I were Norm's Nephew

View whitebeast88's profile

whitebeast88

4091 posts in 1650 days


#3 posted 05-12-2013 02:21 AM

congrats on the new saw.
+1 on mip.

-- Marty.Athens,AL

View Rick M's profile

Rick M

7905 posts in 1840 days


#4 posted 05-12-2013 02:24 AM

I bought a Ninja blender today, haven’t used it yet but I give it 5 stars.

-- http://thewoodknack.blogspot.com/

View longgone's profile

longgone

5688 posts in 2768 days


#5 posted 05-12-2013 03:59 AM

congratulations on your new saw…Great setup…I also just bought the SawStop Pro and did the same thing by using my Incra fence..safety and accuracy. A great combination. I have been giving it a good workout am really impressed with its quality and precision.

View eddy's profile

eddy

936 posts in 2824 days


#6 posted 05-12-2013 01:32 PM

nice review just got the same saw and installed my incra to it. made some modifcations so i can route at the right side and not have to move the fence positioner here is a pic just a thought for you to think about

-- self proclaimed copycat

View Bogeyguy's profile

Bogeyguy

548 posts in 1528 days


#7 posted 05-12-2013 01:56 PM

Should have asked dad to buy you health insurance until your medicare kicked in.

-- Art, Pittsburgh.

View knothead's profile

knothead

162 posts in 3408 days


#8 posted 05-12-2013 02:11 PM

Ah O’Blame-o care – the biggest stab at personal freedom since Mao….....Great saw you will like working with it

-- So Much Wood - So Little Time! --

View poopiekat's profile

poopiekat

4224 posts in 3194 days


#9 posted 05-13-2013 12:48 AM

Will Obamacare make SawStop obsolete? Just Wondering.

-- Einstein: "The intuitive mind is a sacred gift, and the rational mind is a faithful servant. We have created a society that honors the servant and has forgotten the gift." I'm Poopiekat!!

View Rick M's profile

Rick M

7905 posts in 1840 days


#10 posted 05-13-2013 01:08 AM

Tablesaw accidents are user error.

-- http://thewoodknack.blogspot.com/

View a1Jim's profile

a1Jim

115201 posts in 3037 days


#11 posted 05-13-2013 01:37 AM

Ha Ha Ha that’s funny Rick ,I’ve never seen a saw cross cut or rip by itself, of course it’s user error.

-- http://artisticwoodstudio.com Custom furniture

View NormG's profile

NormG

5499 posts in 2463 days


#12 posted 05-13-2013 02:13 AM

Congrats, great reason

-- Norman - I never never make a mistake, I just change the design.

View rockinmichael's profile

rockinmichael

35 posts in 1844 days


#13 posted 05-13-2013 02:32 AM

I couldn’t agree more with the title.

View YanktonSD's profile

YanktonSD

190 posts in 1991 days


#14 posted 05-13-2013 03:10 AM

I love the title.. sad but true! Obamacare is making many people fear becoming sick or injured!

View Rick M's profile

Rick M

7905 posts in 1840 days


#15 posted 05-13-2013 04:04 AM

Jim, I don’t think it’s funny. I’ve seen plenty of photos and videos where someone put their hand right in front of the blade to push a board, crosscut using the fence, ripping wet lumber or other improper use.

-- http://thewoodknack.blogspot.com/

showing 1 through 15 of 26 comments

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com