LumberJocks

Grizzly is unbeatable for the money.

  • Advertise with us
Review by DonLumberJohnson posted 04-12-2013 06:12 AM 6951 views 2 times favorited 15 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Grizzly is unbeatable for the money. No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Without a dial indicator and thousandths of an inch feeler gauge there is not a perceptible inaccuracy with this saw. Out of the box it is as flat and square as can be seen without a micrometer. It cuts flat the fence is square the miter gauge sucks but is good at 90 and 45. Vibration is null everywhere. I can cut 3/4 inch birch at midnight with an ultra thin kerf blade and the sound of the saw at my curb is a whisper. Also, it looks like a beast because it is, 400+Lbs of metal and torque.

This saw will beat the back out of your DeWalt.

-- Don, Roanoke VA




View DonLumberJohnson's profile

DonLumberJohnson

13 posts in 568 days



15 comments so far

View Don Johnson's profile

Don Johnson

616 posts in 1476 days


#1 posted 04-12-2013 10:00 AM

If I were in the US, I’d buy one of these – your namesake in the UK !

-- Don, Somerset UK, http://www.donjohnson24.co.uk

View Mark828's profile

Mark828

92 posts in 623 days


#2 posted 04-12-2013 01:20 PM

love hearing good things about this saw, should be ordering mine within the next few months

View Craftsman70's profile

Craftsman70

242 posts in 820 days


#3 posted 04-12-2013 01:24 PM

Congratulations on your new saw. That ones on my wish list too.

View helluvawreck's profile

helluvawreck

15965 posts in 1562 days


#4 posted 04-12-2013 01:31 PM

Thanks for the review. I have owned a Grizzly saw before and didn’t have any problems with it.

helluvawreck aka Charles
http://woodworkingexpo.wordpress.com

-- If a man does not keep pace with his companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer. Let him step to the music which he hears, however measured or far away. Henry David Thoreau

View robdem's profile (online now)

robdem

327 posts in 1301 days


#5 posted 04-12-2013 01:33 PM

Don have same saw just about two years now works great haven’t had any problems with .

View Simons44's profile

Simons44

93 posts in 2119 days


#6 posted 04-12-2013 07:27 PM

I also have and love this saw. An aftermarket miter gauge such as the osborne eb-3 resolved all problems with the insufficient one that comes with the saw.
-Jeremy

View SirGareth's profile

SirGareth

58 posts in 896 days


#7 posted 04-13-2013 02:10 AM

I bought this about four months ago and it has been a great saw so far.

-- Even if you fall on your face, you are still moving forward. - Tim, Southern California

View Bob A in NJ's profile

Bob A in NJ

1147 posts in 2694 days


#8 posted 04-13-2013 02:24 PM

I’ve got the 691 version from Grizzly and am very happy with, except one thing.

The rack and pinion blades blade height gears are just below the blade insert. After about a years worth of use, the fine sawdust was “squirshed” into the gears making raising and lowering the blade very difficult. After I determined the problem, cleaned out the “pressed in” sawdust, it was like new and the blade could be lowered and raised effortlessly. Obviously just a simple maintenance issue but be aware of it.

By the way, congratulations and enjoy your new cool tool.

-- Bob A in NJ

View Pdub's profile

Pdub

895 posts in 1875 days


#9 posted 04-15-2013 06:00 PM

I have had this same saw for about a year now and love it!!! Congrats!

-- Paul, North Dakota, USAF Ret.

View dbray45's profile

dbray45

2548 posts in 1472 days


#10 posted 04-15-2013 06:44 PM

I have a Grizzly band saw and like it. I plan to buy a bunch of Grizzly in a little over 5 years – when I have a garage

-- David in Damascus, MD

View conwaydog's profile

conwaydog

42 posts in 2465 days


#11 posted 04-16-2013 09:46 PM

I have a shop full of Grizzly tools and love them. Best bang for the buck hands down.

View paulzall's profile

paulzall

15 posts in 1386 days


#12 posted 04-20-2013 05:13 AM

I’ve had this saw for a couple of years now and like it as much as ever. No problems at all since my earlier review. I’m sure you will enjoy yours as well.
—Paul

View a1Jim's profile

a1Jim

112362 posts in 2272 days


#13 posted 04-20-2013 05:17 AM

Thanks for the review ,enjoy

-- http://artisticwoodstudio.com Custom furniture

View Bullet's profile

Bullet

150 posts in 2025 days


#14 posted 06-11-2013 07:13 PM

Ordering mine tonight!!!

-- Anything is possible when you have no idea what you're talking about.

View Wstein's profile

Wstein

24 posts in 453 days


#15 posted 09-13-2013 06:06 PM

I just got mine in this week, it came in pretty accurate, but I tweaked it a little more and got it down pretty good. Now I am coming from a PC jobsite saw to this, and let me saw, it is night and day difference. I ripped from 6/4 maple and walnut today and it just hummed along like it was cutting paper. i am very happy with him so far.

-- I would offer moral support, but I have questionable morals - Me, 2005

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase