LumberJocks

The Woodwhiper Shop Apron.

  • Advertise with us
Review by Ken90712 posted 04-08-2013 10:41 PM 5000 views 1 time favorited 18 comments Add to Favorites Watch
The Woodwhiper Shop Apron. The Woodwhiper Shop Apron. The Woodwhiper Shop Apron. Click the pictures to enlarge them

The Woodwhisper Shop Apron;

Over the years I have been trying a couple of different aprons while working in the shop. The one thing I didn’t like was the strap pulling on my neck. I wasn’t a big fan of the leather ones as they were just too stiff for me. I had a cheap one from Home depot that was only a cpl bucks, but it pulled on my neck too much.. So a cpl weeks ago Blondie was cleaning out my work clothes for the woodshop and mentioned about 10 of my T-shirts are trashed from all the wood glue on it. I wipe my hands on them when gluing up cutting boards trying to get them aligned perfectly.

She mentioned I should look for a shop apron. So I was on Google and searching and reading about for all the different ones. I found one on a web site that I have been on and is responsible for my cutting board addiction. March Spagnuolo (aka Woodwhisper). While reading about it, I was impressed on some of the things he incorporated into this apron.

1st, The straps crisscross on the top so it does not pull on your neck.

2nd,It is easy to put on and strap the back with one click. The straps seem heavy duty and should last for a long time.

3rd, The pockets on top for pencils, reading glasses (new for me Ugh) or ruler Ect. Are a nice touch.

4th, The four pockets on the bottom have flaps on them keeping out unwanted sawdust.

5th, A split in the middle allowing more freedom and movement when bending over or kneeling.

And it just looks cool. I asked Blondie if she could make a shop Apron economically and after looking at this one she said buy it is worth it. Well didn’t have to tell me twice right.

Over all I feel at $49.00 this will serve me well. I have worn it for almost 2 weeks now and like it a lot. So I thought I would share the info with our fellow LumberJocks…

-- Ken, "Everyday above ground is a good day!"




View Ken90712's profile

Ken90712

15082 posts in 1875 days



18 comments so far

View Joe Lyddon's profile

Joe Lyddon

7798 posts in 2738 days


#1 posted 04-08-2013 11:00 PM

Looks nice!

I have an apron that my wife made for me from an old one my dad had…
(actual cost was nothing… and I like it…)

I keep forgetting to put it on… and yes, I mess up T-Shirts the same way you do… sometimes, even my pants (cheap shorts or sweats)... Maybe I should get into the habit of wearing it more…

Maybe if I took it off the hanger on the door… and just laid it across the bench, etc. I’d wear it more?!

Keep it out in the open where I have to wear it or move it somewhere else! LOL

Thanks for the write-up…

-- Have Fun! Joe Lyddon - Alta Loma, CA USA - Home: http://www.WoodworkStuff.net ... My Small Gallery: http://www.ncwoodworker.net/pp/showgallery.php?ppuser=1389&cat=500"

View plantek's profile

plantek

301 posts in 1485 days


#2 posted 04-08-2013 11:01 PM

A good aprons a valuable tool…
Thanks for the review.

-- If you want it and it's within reason... It's on it's way!

View lew's profile

lew

10088 posts in 2441 days


#3 posted 04-08-2013 11:27 PM

Thanks for the review, Ken!

I have been in the market for a new apron, for a while now. Mine has all the characteristics that no one likes- but my sister made it. It is at the point now where I no longer have to hang it up- it stands by itself from all the glue!

I need to check Mark’s site for this one.

-- Lew- Time traveler. Purveyor of the Universe's finest custom rolling pins.

View socrbent's profile

socrbent

229 posts in 955 days


#4 posted 04-08-2013 11:28 PM

Ok – I’ll bite – Who you gonna whip on?

-- socrbent Ohio

View pintodeluxe's profile

pintodeluxe

3442 posts in 1499 days


#5 posted 04-09-2013 01:16 AM

Nice apron.
I never thought I would say that to another man.

I use the Deluth fire hose apron, which is a good one too. Improves workshop efficiency by 300%, no longer looking for pencils and combination squares.

-- Willie, Washington "If You Choose Not To Decide, You Still Have Made a Choice" - Rush

View thelt's profile

thelt

622 posts in 2066 days


#6 posted 04-09-2013 12:21 PM

Yep, T’shirts and jeans. Jeans get it the worse with Gorilla Glue, it doesn’t wash out, can’t scrap it off. About the only thing that can be done is make shorts out of ‘em if the glue isn’t too high up.

I use the Rockler apron and has helped a lot.

-- When asked what I did to make life worthwhile in my lifetime....I can respond with a great deal of pride and satisfaction, "I served a career in the United States Navy."

View Mainiac Matt 's profile

Mainiac Matt

4140 posts in 1014 days


#7 posted 04-09-2013 03:41 PM

I like the flaps over the pockets…. I use a Woodcraft Apron, and the pockets are always filling up with chips….

I’d like to try the ‘X’ straps…. but my wife got me this one for Fathers Day, so I’ll make due.

-- Pine is fine, but Oak's no joke!

View stefang's profile

stefang

13260 posts in 2020 days


#8 posted 04-09-2013 04:46 PM

Looks like a great apron Ken. I just can’t imagine anyone wiping glue on their t-shirt. I always drip mine on.

-- Mike, an American living in Norway.

View lumberjoe's profile

lumberjoe

2842 posts in 934 days


#9 posted 04-09-2013 04:53 PM

Thanks for the review. I should really get one of these. It’s almost embarassing that just about everything I own has either titebond 3, CA, or some type of finish on it.

-- www.etsy.com/shop/KandJWoodCrafts

View Ken90712's profile

Ken90712

15082 posts in 1875 days


#10 posted 04-09-2013 04:57 PM

Thx everyone. I agree and i’m going to try and stay cleaner except for the apron LOL

Stefang thats funny!!!!! I like that, So not only do I wipe it on I drip as well….Nice one.

-- Ken, "Everyday above ground is a good day!"

View OnlyJustME's profile

OnlyJustME

1562 posts in 1063 days


#11 posted 04-10-2013 12:01 PM

My wife and i just had the same talk about needing an apron. I’ll check this on out. Thanks :)

-- In the end, when your life flashes before your eyes, will you like what you see?

View Roger's profile

Roger

14851 posts in 1490 days


#12 posted 04-10-2013 12:23 PM

Good review, Ken.

-- Roger from KY. Work/Play/Travel Safe. Kentuk55@bellsouth.net

View mafe's profile

mafe

9554 posts in 1775 days


#13 posted 04-10-2013 01:19 PM

Thanks Kenn.
Really good review.
I just bought my self a set of work clothes, since I was tired of trashing clothes…
Best thoughts,
Mads

-- Mad F, the fanatical rhykenologist and vintage architect. Democraticwoodworking.

View helluvawreck's profile

helluvawreck

15959 posts in 1553 days


#14 posted 04-10-2013 02:28 PM

Ken, if i didn’t wear bib overalls everyday I would definitely wear one of these. Thanks for the review.

helluvawreck aka Charles
http://woodworkingexpo.wordpress.com

-- If a man does not keep pace with his companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer. Let him step to the music which he hears, however measured or far away. Henry David Thoreau

View bones's profile

bones

36 posts in 1967 days


#15 posted 04-10-2013 03:31 PM

And guild members save 10 percent thats 5 bucks if you use the math I learned back in the day. Not sure about the new math there teaching
but it must be different everybody always ends up with a deficit.
Going to order mine now.

-- bones

showing 1 through 15 of 18 comments

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase