LumberJocks

Problems and fixes

  • Advertise with us
Review by captferd posted 02-21-2013 10:41 PM 1490 views 0 times favorited 7 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Problems and fixes Problems and fixes Problems and fixes Click the pictures to enlarge them

One problem is that because its made of 2 pieces of plastic glued together it will break apart at the seam. You can try to glue it back together but it soon comes apart again.

(This is an update 40 days after the first post. Walmart sells a 3pk of generic super glue for 89 cents. I glued it up and clamped it lightly over night. It seems to be holding up fine.)

Other than that, I love this thing. It will move the fence thousandths at a time, allowing you to sneak up on a precise cut. If you decide to get one be gentle is all I can say and be careful how you pull it off the saw as the magnets are very strong.

Also people with the sawstop and a few other saws are finding that the lip is a little big and gets in the way of the measuring guage. A great fix is to cut it back. Ive added some pics to show you mine

Thanks and be safe

-- CaptFerd




View captferd's profile

captferd

135 posts in 1115 days



7 comments so far

View felkadelic's profile

felkadelic

195 posts in 1262 days


#1 posted 02-22-2013 12:46 AM

I’m not so sure about the extent to which Rockler screens item reviews. I’ve submitted a less-than-glowing review of at least one product and it was posted as-is.

View PurpLev's profile

PurpLev

8476 posts in 2370 days


#2 posted 02-22-2013 01:03 AM

maybe you can post a picture of the broken seam on yours rather than the stock photo from rocklers website?

I would be interested to see the culprit.

thanks for the review

-- ㊍ When in doubt - There is no doubt - Go the safer route.

View bpalmer60's profile

bpalmer60

11 posts in 1366 days


#3 posted 02-22-2013 01:05 AM

I have that thing to and it split at the seam just as yours did. Some Rockler products are fine and some not so fine. I just applied 200MPH tape around mine to use it.

-- Bill, Missouri, http://billsgarageworkshop.blogspot.com/

View jayman7's profile

jayman7

212 posts in 2227 days


#4 posted 02-22-2013 04:09 AM

I would just mount a dial indicator to a block of wood with some magnets instead. That way you can see the how much you actually move the fence. It would be cheaper too.

View captferd's profile

captferd

135 posts in 1115 days


#5 posted 02-22-2013 10:29 AM

Purplev at the present I have it glued back together. Just didnt think about taking a picture, sorry. Posted rocklers so those that dont have would know what Im talking about. Thanks for the suggestion Ill be sure to update it when it breaks again.

-- CaptFerd

View Howie's profile

Howie

2656 posts in 1645 days


#6 posted 02-22-2013 12:11 PM

I got one. Broke in the same place.Thank heavens for duct tape.

-- Life is good.

View abie's profile

abie

608 posts in 2493 days


#7 posted 02-24-2013 02:23 AM

I bot one years ago and sent it back as the magnets were weak.
better devices can be made DIY

-- Bruce. a mind is like a book it is only useful when open.

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase