LumberJocks

Right on the Mark

  • Advertise with us
Review by clieb91 posted 02-17-2013 07:49 PM 1754 views 5 times favorited 11 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Right on the Mark Right on the Mark No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

As some of you know I make a lot of peg games and one of the things I hate the most about making them is having to clean up the drill holes. Well I have found the solution to that problem.
MicroMark Double Land Brad Point Drill Bit.

I found these in a catalog for model building that my grandfather had given me and they claimed to make the a clean cut hole in all woods. My games are mainly made with standard pine and I was a bit skeptical but at around $19 for a set (see pic 1) I figured it would be worth a try to save me some time. I ordered them and got them about 4 days later. I pt them to that night. Check out this cut.

as opposed to this:

Which is what I was getting from basically every other drill bit I could find. I had already drilled two sets of games with the old bits and now I am sorry I did. But I was able to drill out all my other games (738 holes) with these and what a difference after the drill press they are done and ready to be packed up for the show. I am going to sit down and clean up the old ones and that will be the last time I do that trick.

I highly recommend to anyone that needs to drill clean smooth holes for any project. .

CtL

-- Chris L. "Don't Dream it, Be it."- PortablePastimes.com (Purveyors of Portable Fun and Fidgets)




View clieb91's profile

clieb91

3299 posts in 2652 days



11 comments so far

View JesseTutt's profile

JesseTutt

811 posts in 828 days


#1 posted 02-17-2013 07:56 PM

Thanks for the review. Let us know how long the last.

-- Jesse, Saint Louis, Missouri

View Karson's profile

Karson

34901 posts in 3118 days


#2 posted 02-17-2013 08:06 PM

Well we drill 100’s of holes for the toys we make for disadvantiges children for Christmas. I might have to check these out.

Karson

-- I've been blessed with a father who liked to tinker in wood, and a wife who lets me tinker in wood. Southern Delaware karson_morrison@bigfoot.com †

View barkupatree's profile

barkupatree

22 posts in 1406 days


#3 posted 02-17-2013 08:43 PM

I drill holes for games all the time too. I use Irwin brad point bits and they also cut as they drill. They last a few thousand holes per bit. Been using them for years and I never use any other brand of bit any more

-- Life is Good Enough -- http://www.barkupatreewoodworks.com/

View Monte Pittman's profile

Monte Pittman

15059 posts in 1055 days


#4 posted 02-17-2013 09:31 PM

I think all of us prefer clean holes regardless of purpose. Thanks for the information.

-- Mother Nature created it, I just assemble it.

View clieb91's profile

clieb91

3299 posts in 2652 days


#5 posted 02-18-2013 01:03 AM

@Karson- With the amount of toys you guys make I can see these as an asset.

@barkupatree- I will have to take a look at those as I would like a few more in the 1/8th size as back up.

@monte- You’re welcome. Hope your show prep is going well.

CtL

-- Chris L. "Don't Dream it, Be it."- PortablePastimes.com (Purveyors of Portable Fun and Fidgets)

View dnick's profile

dnick

937 posts in 1099 days


#6 posted 02-18-2013 04:35 AM

Thanks for the review. This one is worth saving.

-- dnick, North Hollywood, Ca.

View patcollins's profile

patcollins

1003 posts in 1582 days


#7 posted 02-18-2013 05:32 PM

Were you using brad bits or twist bits before?

View clieb91's profile

clieb91

3299 posts in 2652 days


#8 posted 02-18-2013 08:21 PM

Pat, I have actually used both. The brad bits did a little better job but not by much.

CtL

-- Chris L. "Don't Dream it, Be it."- PortablePastimes.com (Purveyors of Portable Fun and Fidgets)

View Greg3G's profile

Greg3G

815 posts in 2803 days


#9 posted 02-19-2013 02:27 AM

Thanks for the heads up. I need to order a new set of bits…my have joined my pencils have gone on strike or vacation…don’t know which…they didn’t leave a note. Much better pricing than others that I have been looking at.

-- Greg - Charles Town, WV

View Rick M.'s profile

Rick M.

4318 posts in 1097 days


#10 posted 02-19-2013 03:37 AM

Thanks for the review. I’ve been needing a new set of brad points as my old B&D set never was great to begin with but are terrible now.

-- |Statistics show that 100% of people bitten by a snake were close to it.|

View oldnovice's profile

oldnovice

3845 posts in 2085 days


#11 posted 02-19-2013 04:46 AM

I have been pretty happy with everything I have bought from MicroMart!

-- "I never met a board I didn't like!"

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase