LumberJocks

Garage Heater

  • Advertise with us
Review by PaulLL posted 02-16-2013 05:37 AM 2954 views 1 time favorited 14 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Garage Heater No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I installed this heater a couple weeks ago now. So far it’s been awesome! There is no exposed flame and no fumes. It’s natural gas powered, 22,000BTU and uses no electricity. The pilot light is internal, the furnace works with convection, heating an element which draws cold air from the bottom and you can feel the heat blasting off the top! I’ve been dying for heat out there for 3 winters, long, long, cold winters! Hard to do much work when your garage temp matches the outside temp of -20C.

Anyways, this was very easy to install, comes with a poster to hang on the wall and marks all your holes, all 2 of them, one for the natural gas line and one for the exhaust. Only took me 2 hours with an extra set of hands and a few basic tools to install. Because of the convection it did take a little time to get the heat up, since all my tools were cold, but now we can open the door drive the car in and it’s back to t shirt temp in only a few minutes.

An accessory fan can be added to help move the heat if needed, but so far Id say that’s really not needed.

Oh and my garage is a standard 2 car, roughly 25’ x 25’.




View PaulLL's profile

PaulLL

148 posts in 673 days



14 comments so far

View MitchBigglesworth's profile

MitchBigglesworth

14 posts in 898 days


#1 posted 02-16-2013 11:38 AM

Do you run the heater constantly or only those times you are working in the garage? Just wondering how quickly this unit could heat up a cold garage. Thanks!

-Dicky

View helluvawreck's profile

helluvawreck

15965 posts in 1563 days


#2 posted 02-16-2013 11:43 AM

Thanks for the review, Paul. I’m actually considering how to heat a shop right now since I will be building a shop soon.

helluvawreck aka Charles
http://woodworkingexpo.wordpress.com

-- If a man does not keep pace with his companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer. Let him step to the music which he hears, however measured or far away. Henry David Thoreau

View Ken90712's profile

Ken90712

15104 posts in 1885 days


#3 posted 02-16-2013 03:31 PM

Nice set up I can see why you bought this. -20 C or -4 F for us yanks,,,, Boy that is cold. I’m whining to Blondie when the shop is 50… I’ll be quiet now… Congrats on more shop time…..

-- Ken, "Everyday above ground is a good day!"

View RobertT's profile

RobertT

67 posts in 1477 days


#4 posted 02-16-2013 06:11 PM

You will like the direct vent a lot better than a ventless heater. My ventless will run you out of the shop when you open a can of thinner.

View cutworm's profile

cutworm

1065 posts in 1489 days


#5 posted 02-16-2013 07:27 PM

Looks great. Thanks!

-- Steve - "Never Give Up"

View NormG's profile

NormG

4270 posts in 1700 days


#6 posted 02-16-2013 09:23 PM

Still no heat for me, but this maybe an answer

-- Norman

View PaulLL's profile

PaulLL

148 posts in 673 days


#7 posted 02-17-2013 03:02 AM

Dicky, it has a thermostat, so I leave it on all the time, but turn it down to 10C when I go in at night and then back up to 20 when I head back out there, it only takes a few minutes, maybe 10, to warm it up enough to take my hoody off. My garage isn’t sealed well and heating and cooling causes to much condensation so I don’t want it to fluxuate too much.

Thanks for reading guys

View cso's profile

cso

63 posts in 1384 days


#8 posted 02-17-2013 05:49 PM

So do you still get some condensation on the cast iron surfaces? I have a portable open flame propane heater that heats up fast, but because it’s not vented, I’m trapping the moisture in the garage. I guess I was looking for the vented style to help solve this condensation problem. Thanks for the review.

View PaulLL's profile

PaulLL

148 posts in 673 days


#9 posted 02-17-2013 07:09 PM

CSO, I had same thing previously, a little propane heater, that was my same worry with that unit. I have no condensation with this unit, but I also never let it cool down far enough that any of the steel or iron tools get cold to the touch.

View bondogaposis's profile

bondogaposis

2627 posts in 1047 days


#10 posted 02-19-2013 02:48 PM

That is the same one I installed in my shop last year and it changed my life. I can work every day no matter how cold. It really extended the time I can spend in the shop, especially in winter, which is the best time of year for me to be out there. I also opted not to buy the accessory fan and my ambient air cleaner provides all of the air circulation that I need. I don’t run it at night when I am not in the shop, I just get it going about an hour before I go out there and my 2 car garage is nice a toasty when I’m in there. If I’m doing a glue up, I just let it run for a few hours before I shut it down for the night.

-- Bondo Gaposis

View colt's profile

colt

8 posts in 1217 days


#11 posted 02-19-2013 09:15 PM

Hi Paul,

Did you get your heater from a Canadian supplier and if so who was it? Can’t seem to find much about them here in Ontario but there is a US on line supplier who can ship to Canada.

Thanks, Dave

View PaulLL's profile

PaulLL

148 posts in 673 days


#12 posted 02-20-2013 04:46 AM

Hey colt, a friend of mine with a plumbing company bought it for me from one of his suppliers here in Calgary, a company called Wolseley. I’m pretty sure they have offices across canada.

View mwill87428's profile

mwill87428

31 posts in 622 days


#13 posted 02-20-2013 05:03 AM

A couple of years ago I installed a small pellet stove in my 850 sq ft shop and it works great. One disclaimer, I live in the S.F. bay area and 40 is cold to me.

-- Max

View Glen's profile

Glen

9 posts in 1760 days


#14 posted 02-23-2013 06:53 PM

If you are looking for a heater you should also look at a HotDawg heater. Its suspended from the ceiling so takes up no floor space, has a fan to move the heat around, power vents through a chimney or through the wall and has a thermostat. Prices vary according to the size of heater you need.

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase