LumberJocks

Sideways Cutting

  • Advertise with us
Review by vipond33 posted 01-24-2013 04:55 AM 3071 views 3 times favorited 12 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Sideways Cutting No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I’ve never been much for batoning.

All that hewing and froeing, to what end?

Odd shaped chunks of wood for rustic furniture or homemade shingles?
Turning blanks? Exotic construction?

Not my bag;

I’d rather split infinitives.

What I do like is having specialty tools that go where others can’t and then do the impossible. Like these very tiny planes.

They are are a set of two (L&R handed) side cutting chisels available from Lee Valley under the Chestnut Tool brand. This company seems to be a wholly owned subsidiary of LV and not available elsewhere. That’s ok, because the price at the quality level of the brand is quite reasonable (I own 4 of their products).

I bought these chisels to use in my work and most importantly for installations, where you never know what problems you’re going to encounter and what you need to do now, with your shop resources many miles away and the clock ticking.

But back home in the shop they have been handy too:

Trimming and fitting a deep notch on a commercial table base.

Finishing a half lap joint for myself

The steel seems to be more than ok and the handles feel good in the hand with that classic shape and the steel running right through (& finished quite nicely too). The African hardwood looks good (so important) and a tough strap-able nylon case comes with each one.

Put em on your belt like a pair of six shooters
Eliminate pesky problems with extreme prejudice.
gene

http://www.leevalley.com/US/wood/page.aspx?p=67735&cat=1,130,43332,43703

-- gene@toronto.ontario.canada : dovetail free since '53, critiques always welcome.




View vipond33's profile

vipond33

1405 posts in 1188 days



12 comments so far

View Moron's profile

Moron

4666 posts in 2584 days


#1 posted 01-24-2013 05:04 AM

had me hooked on the first 2 photos

-- "Good artists borrow, great artists steal”…..Picasso

View vipond33's profile

vipond33

1405 posts in 1188 days


#2 posted 01-24-2013 05:13 AM

I just knew there would be Lord Mount Baton out there somewhere.
Too-ing and Fro-ing in the seduction of graven images. Bah.

-- gene@toronto.ontario.canada : dovetail free since '53, critiques always welcome.

View a1Jim's profile

a1Jim

112335 posts in 2268 days


#3 posted 01-24-2013 06:13 AM

Interesting tool and review.

-- http://artisticwoodstudio.com Custom furniture

View albachippie's profile

albachippie

540 posts in 1726 days


#4 posted 01-24-2013 09:22 AM

I like the look of these. Could see many uses for them. Great review, thanks Gene,

Garry

-- Garry fae Bonnie Scotland - https://www.facebook.com/pages/Garry-Macdonald-Woodwork/425518554215355?ref=hl

View jaykaypur's profile

jaykaypur

3395 posts in 1099 days


#5 posted 01-24-2013 12:14 PM

Those are 2 nice looking tools and I can see wher they would come in handy in a lot of circumstances.

-- Use it up, Wear it out --------------- Make it do, Or do without!

View SPalm's profile

SPalm

4846 posts in 2572 days


#6 posted 01-24-2013 01:27 PM

Neat.
I could see using them. Thanks.

And Ha, “I’d rather split infinitives”. You jokester – but I agree.
Steve

-- -- I'm no rocket surgeon

View chopnhack's profile

chopnhack

368 posts in 1085 days


#7 posted 01-24-2013 02:05 PM

Looks to be very handy in tight spaces. Very cool thanks for sharing.

-- Sneaking up on the line....

View b2rtch's profile

b2rtch

4345 posts in 1739 days


#8 posted 01-24-2013 07:56 PM

I love the look of these chisels and I am sure that I could find a use for them too..

-- Bert

View Chris's profile

Chris

27 posts in 1540 days


#9 posted 01-24-2013 11:42 PM

I’ve been looking at these for a while know, think I might pull the trigger.
I bet they would come in handy, not to mention the look cool.
Envy of the job site.
Thanks for the review.

Chris

-- Chris, Hubertus, WI

View ScottinTexas's profile

ScottinTexas

108 posts in 639 days


#10 posted 01-25-2013 04:02 AM

Very nice – thanks for the informative review. Probably never would have known of these otherwise.

View Dennisgrosen's profile

Dennisgrosen

10850 posts in 1806 days


#11 posted 01-25-2013 07:57 PM

deffently a tool you can´t live not having in the belt ….......... just becourse of the X-factor

thanks for the rewiew and pictures :-)

Dennis

View Brandon's profile

Brandon

4142 posts in 1642 days


#12 posted 01-26-2013 03:31 AM

I was very close to purchasing one of these when lee valley had their free shipping deal. There’s always next time. Thanks for the review.

-- "hold fast to that which is good"

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase