Momentary Power Foot Switch

  • Advertise with us
Review by b2rtch posted 01-09-2013 11:01 PM 2657 views 1 time favorited 14 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Momentary Power Foot Switch No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

How many time when starting your router or your drill press or other power tool did you wish you had one more hand to grab firmly on the piece you were ready to machine?

Often we present a piece of wood on the router just at right place to route it and then we need to let go of it to start the router and then the piece move. Or we hardly can hold one large piece , we do not feel very safe and then we need to let go of one hand to start the router or the drill press.

After I refurbished my Unisaw and installed the router table and the router a few months ago, I also installed this foot switch that I have been using since.
I feel much safer now when I start m y router because I can firmly grab on the piece to machine with both hands.
Two version of this switch exist: Momentary and Permanent.
I use the momentary.
I think that using this switch greatly improve the safety of using my router.
I very strongly recommend the use of this switch.

-- Bert

View b2rtch's profile


4634 posts in 2088 days

14 comments so far

View a1Jim's profile


113725 posts in 2617 days

#1 posted 01-09-2013 11:04 PM

thanks for the review Bert.

-- Custom furniture

View ChuckC's profile


807 posts in 1975 days

#2 posted 01-09-2013 11:21 PM

Good review.
I use this with my Work Sharp 3000 when I hone with the felt or leather wheel.

View cutworm's profile


1074 posts in 1833 days

#3 posted 01-10-2013 01:21 AM

Thanks Bert. I can think of several uses for these. Great price as well. 15A too.

-- Steve - "Never Give Up"

View Dusty56's profile


11777 posts in 2728 days

#4 posted 01-10-2013 01:30 AM

I have a similar model that I’ve used on numerous tools. Nice review, Bert : )

-- I'm absolutely positive that I couldn't be more uncertain!

View Charles Maxwell's profile

Charles Maxwell

1046 posts in 2847 days

#5 posted 01-10-2013 02:16 AM

I have this switch. I use it with my router assembly. Works great!!!

-- Max the "night janitor" at

View kajunkraft's profile


116 posts in 1250 days

#6 posted 01-10-2013 03:51 AM

You all are pretty brutal at times. Why are you saying “good review”? This seems to me to be about a concept, ie: using a foot control vs. how did this product perform.

View RonInOhio's profile


720 posts in 1904 days

#7 posted 01-10-2013 05:09 AM

What is the difference between momentary and permanent ?

I assume …..
Momentary. You need to hold down the pedal to turn on the machine and keep it on ? When you take your foot off the switch turns off ?

Sorry didn’t bother clicking on the link. That explained it.

View NormG's profile


4995 posts in 2044 days

#8 posted 01-10-2013 06:43 AM

Thanks for the info. I have been looking at these, but wondered if they held up

-- Norman

View tomd's profile


1930 posts in 2810 days

#9 posted 01-11-2013 07:37 PM

Thanks for the review.

-- Tom D

View b2rtch's profile


4634 posts in 2088 days

#10 posted 01-11-2013 07:42 PM

You all are very welcome

-- Bert

View DamnYankee's profile


3275 posts in 1602 days

#11 posted 01-11-2013 08:51 PM

I have the permanent one on my lathe and looking to get one or the other for the DP and Router

-- Shameless - Winner of two Stumpy Nubs Awards

View b2rtch's profile


4634 posts in 2088 days

#12 posted 01-11-2013 08:57 PM

I think that the temporary one is safer, if something goes wrong let go off it and everything stops.
I would not use a permanent on a lathe, if your sleeve or something get caught , you are in deep trouble.

-- Bert

View eruby's profile


78 posts in 1815 days

#13 posted 01-11-2013 11:09 PM

I agree with your review. These are very useful and inexpensive. (if you catch it on sale and use the 20% off coupon). I use this switch with my scroll saw and the permanent switch on the router table. Both continue to work as they should. I didn’t like using the “dead man switch” for the router table because I had to alter the way that I stand.

-- Eric - Baltimore MD

View runswithscissors's profile


1626 posts in 1065 days

#14 posted 01-15-2013 05:46 AM

The scenarios you described show exactly why I’ve always liked trigger switches on routers—on the D handle PC 690, and on the PC big plunge (can’t remember the model #). I don’t understand why more manufacturers don’t use it. I can’t see a single downside to a trigger switch, except that it’s a bit awkward if using it in a router table.

-- I admit to being an adrenaline junky; fortunately, I'm very easily frightened

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics