LumberJocks

A real nice 5" ROS sander

  • Advertise with us
Review by GaryK posted 04-27-2008 10:55 PM 5342 views 1 time favorited 11 comments Add to Favorites Watch
A real nice 5" ROS sander A real nice 5" ROS sander A real nice 5" ROS sander Click the pictures to enlarge them

I was in Lowes the other day looking for substitutes items for which I usually buy Porter-Cable (PC). Now that PC is owned by Black & Decker I expect they will go downhill soon. The items I usually get are Routers and Random Orbit Sanders.

I started looking at the Bosch for the ROS and noticed the ROS20VSK. It had a price of $70 so I picked it up
to check it out and it has a price reduced tag on it for $45. Well, I couldn’t pass up 31.5% off.

BAD
It doesn’t seem quite as powerful as the PC, but then again there was not as much vibration either.
The power switch is kind of mushy (can’t think of a better term).
For the seeming lack of power and the power switch, I gave it 4 stars.

GOOD
Variable speed is pretty nice.
Dust collection is great. Comes with a 1/2 micron filter and an vacuum adapter. Looks like it’s for a 1 1/4 to 1 1/2 hose. The container that holds the dust is semi clear also, so you can see how full it is.
It also comes with a plastic case. I don’t really care for cases though.

All in all for the price it seems like a great deal and a nice little sander.

Here is the factory stuff.

Specifications:

Amperage: 2.2
Country of Origin: Malaysia
Dimensions: 5” x 6” x 9”
Disc Size: 5”
Length: 9”
No Load OPM: 12,000
Orbit Diameter: 2.5 mm (3/32”)
Rating: 120 V AC
Weight (lbs.): 3.5

Features:

Twist-Off Dust Canister – Durable, compact canister shows dust level and easily detaches.
Bosch Microfilter System – Optimal on-board system for filtering fine dust. Traps particles as small as a 1/2 micron in diameter.
Hook-Tightâ„¢ Hook-&-Loop Disc Attachment – Over 35,000 long-life hooks ensure firm grip of disc, (up to 2x the standard number of hooks.)
Random Orbit Sanding Action – Combination of pad orbit and rotation deliver well-blended, ultra-smooth finish with fast removal rate.
Soft Microcellular Backing Pad – Pliable pad ensures a smooth, fine finish on flat or contoured surfaces.
Integral Pad Dampening System – Pad braking system prevents swirl marks.
Variable-Speed Dial – Allows match of speed to workpiece and task.
Comfortable Soft-Grip Top and Body – Multiple grip positions to prevent hand fatigue.
Low-Vibration Design – Engineered for smooth running and user comfort.
Anti-Spillback Canister Design – Minimizes dust spillback into sander.
Uses Industry-Standard 8-Hole 5” Hook-&-Loop Discs – Compatible discs are widely available.

Includes:
RS034 Soft Sanding Pad
RS028 Microfilter Dust Canister
VAC002 Vacuum Hose Adapter
Sanding Disc
Carrying Case

-- Gary - Never pass up the opportunity to make a mistake look like you planned it that way - Tyler, TX




View GaryK's profile

GaryK

10262 posts in 2733 days



11 comments so far

View teenagewoodworker's profile

teenagewoodworker

2727 posts in 2513 days


#1 posted 04-27-2008 11:31 PM

great review. I’m in the market for an ROS so i’ll have to give this one a look. I’ve been settled on the dewalt so far but it looks like it may have a competitor. thanks for the review.

View GaryK's profile

GaryK

10262 posts in 2733 days


#2 posted 04-27-2008 11:35 PM

Black and Decker owns the following: (so far)

DeWalt Power Tools
DeVilbiss Air Power
Porter Cable
Delta Machinery
Kwikset
Baldwin
Weiser Lock
Price Pfister
Emhart Teknologies
Oldham Blades

-- Gary - Never pass up the opportunity to make a mistake look like you planned it that way - Tyler, TX

View Russel's profile

Russel

2199 posts in 2684 days


#3 posted 04-27-2008 11:35 PM

I have a Porter Cable and a Craftsman ROS. The PC is a better sander, but the Craftsman has a better feel. I’m curious how the Bosch compare to the PC.

-- Working at Woodworking http://www.VillageLaneFurniture.com

View Grumpy's profile

Grumpy

19693 posts in 2596 days


#4 posted 04-28-2008 01:26 AM

A bit of a sucker for tools Gary, just like me. I will walk in for some sand paper and walk out with a jack hammer. LOL

-- Grumpy - "Always look on the bright side of life"- Monty Python

View tenontim's profile

tenontim

2131 posts in 2490 days


#5 posted 04-28-2008 02:46 AM

I’ve been keeping a couple of older PC ROS alive by replacing parts as need. I do like Bosch products, though.
How many holes are in the sandpaper this sander uses? I ask because I buy paper in the 50 count box and have hundreds of disc of various grits. Thanks for the post.

View tenontim's profile

tenontim

2131 posts in 2490 days


#6 posted 04-28-2008 02:47 AM

Never mind, read the post again and got the answer.

View DavidH's profile

DavidH

508 posts in 2488 days


#7 posted 04-28-2008 06:07 PM

thanks for the review gary. I was unaware that b&d owned all of those companies. I currently own a 5” craftsman ROS. Its the only one i’ve ever used so its hard for me to compare.. good excuse to buy another one?? i doubt the LOML will agree…...

-- David - Houston, Texas. (http://www.justsquareenough.com/)

View Ad Marketing Guy - Bill's profile

Ad Marketing Guy - Bill

314 posts in 2544 days


#8 posted 04-29-2008 02:43 AM

Great Review, it is very good when a real woodworker provides a review- Your comments regarding dust collection on the unit were nice insight – THANKS

-- Bill - - Ad-Marketing Guy, Ramsey NJ

View Dooley's profile

Dooley

85 posts in 2468 days


#9 posted 04-29-2008 02:20 PM

I bought this sander from lowes the other day also, mine was priced at 59.00 so you did really good. It’s funny how nothing is what it seems anymore when it comes to big cooperations they seem to all be owned by eachother! Ridiculous! I remember when you could buy 20 different kinds of soda in one little town. Not anymore! Coke or Pepsi anyone? Bahhh!

-- Dooley

View Douglas Bordner's profile

Douglas Bordner

3971 posts in 2809 days


#10 posted 05-04-2008 10:57 PM

Thanks, Gary, for the heads up on the sale on this sander which BTW had a very good tool rating in a FWW article within the last year or so. It showed the most uniform scratch pattern. I have been lusting after this sander for a while and now it looks to be discontinued. Just got the floor model without case or manual for 34.95. Even a blind pig finds the occasional acorn.

-- "Bordnerizing" perfectly good lumber for over a decade.

View GaryK's profile

GaryK

10262 posts in 2733 days


#11 posted 05-04-2008 11:59 PM

Douglas – It was my understanding that this is the latest model, just released the first of the year.
It’s pictured as the latest on their website.

You got a better deal than I did!

-- Gary - Never pass up the opportunity to make a mistake look like you planned it that way - Tyler, TX

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase