LumberJocks

Very Super Cool Tool's sharpening jig review.

  • Advertise with us
Review by revieck posted 11-29-2012 06:34 PM 7184 views 2 times favorited 12 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Very Super Cool Tool's sharpening jig review. Very Super Cool Tool's sharpening jig review. No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

To find out more click on the link… http://vsctools.com/ For more videos on using the jig go to YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/askwoodman

-- Don't be at the airport when your ship comes in!




View revieck's profile

revieck

254 posts in 2012 days



12 comments so far

View Jorge G.'s profile

Jorge G.

1526 posts in 1417 days


#1 posted 11-30-2012 07:06 AM

This would be great for framers chisels, you have a link to their web site? Thanks for the review, I am getting one for the framers chisels.

-- To surrender a dream leaves life as it is — and not as it could be.

View revieck's profile

revieck

254 posts in 2012 days


#2 posted 11-30-2012 10:47 AM

http://vsctools.com/ Is the link to their web site. For videos on how to use the jig go to YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/askwoodman

-- Don't be at the airport when your ship comes in!

View Ken90712's profile

Ken90712

15693 posts in 2131 days


#3 posted 11-30-2012 06:05 PM

Intersting, may have to ck it out. Thx for the post.

-- Ken, "Everyday above ground is a good day!"

View a1Jim's profile

a1Jim

113344 posts in 2519 days


#4 posted 11-30-2012 06:23 PM

The’res always a new twist on how to do things,interesting.

-- http://artisticwoodstudio.com Custom furniture

View john1102's profile

john1102

60 posts in 1610 days


#5 posted 12-01-2012 04:36 AM

great post, VSCT (allan) also has started making his T-square aluminum extrusion fence that looks very versitile.

View GarageWoodworks's profile

GarageWoodworks

487 posts in 1099 days


#6 posted 12-02-2012 05:03 AM

I thought about making a sharpening jig like this a while back and didn’t. Here’s why: I use water stones and the two faces, over time, will become non parallel with use (re-flattening each face w/ use). One side of the stone will become thicker than the other so that the stone will slope from end to end. As you sharpen with the “super cool jig” the jig will be riding on a surface that is not parallel to top of the stone. As a result the bevel angle will be changing as you move the jig-chisel forward and back.

Nice in theory but not practical in the real world.

-- Subscribe on YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/user/GarageWoodworks?feature=guide

View GarageWoodworks's profile

GarageWoodworks

487 posts in 1099 days


#7 posted 12-02-2012 05:38 AM

In case my above didn’t make sense here is a drawing:

-- Subscribe on YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/user/GarageWoodworks?feature=guide

View revieck's profile

revieck

254 posts in 2012 days


#8 posted 12-02-2012 12:00 PM

To Garageworks; That is why I use the DMT diamond sharpening plates, the surface will stay flat and parallel… I like the cam clamp idea, I can use one to hold small parts.

-- Don't be at the airport when your ship comes in!

View Roger's profile

Roger

17085 posts in 1746 days


#9 posted 12-02-2012 05:06 PM

Nice review. Looks like it’ll put a fine edge on whatever is needed

-- Roger from KY. Work/Play/Travel Safe. Kentuk55@bellsouth.net

View bloqbeta's profile

bloqbeta

19 posts in 1109 days


#10 posted 12-02-2012 05:30 PM

I am thinking in buying this Jig since Allan announced he was developing one. I like two things, one is that it doesn´t ride the stone. Hadn’t thought on the issue riding the same parallel face on waterstones… but working with diamonds would surely solve that. And the other is the angle adjustment mechanism

Two things that has kept me from buying the Jig are: 1) the price (130), and 2) the way you set the blade for it to be 90° to the jig.

Now that you have used it I would like your input on both of these, specially for the 90° angle adjustement. Is it easy to make?

-- Ebanisteria Sabrosona

View Fuzzy's profile

Fuzzy

296 posts in 2930 days


#11 posted 12-02-2012 09:40 PM

Actually, it is VERY practical for just about every sharpening media EXCEPT waterstones, making it pretty much ideal IF you are willing to compromise on your choice of media.

-- - dabbling in sarcasm is foolish … if you’re not proficient at it, you end up looking stupid … ... ...

View wreker's profile

wreker

14 posts in 927 days


#12 posted 01-05-2013 07:53 AM

Thanks for the review.

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com