LumberJocks

Freud LU85 Ultimate Cutoff Blade - an accurate name

  • Advertise with us
Review by Class1E posted 11-28-2012 at 07:22 PM 2704 views 0 times favorited 9 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Freud LU85 Ultimate Cutoff Blade - an accurate name No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I purchased this blade to replace the OEM blade on my G0690 table saw. As i was cutting the kerf in my crosscut sled, I noticed that the OEM blade was wobbling very slightly. I decided it was about time to replace that blade with two dedicated blades, one for rip cuts, the other for cross cuts.
This was the blade I purchased for cross cuts. My first use for this blade was to trim the edges on my end-grain cutting board to square it up and remove the rough edges after flattening. I used the blade with my new cross cut sled to provide a perfectly square reference to the blade and zero clearance capability. The blade cut through the 1.25 in thick cutting board like there was nothing there. It even took a very neat 0.01 in thick (yes I measured it, and I’m aware I’m a dork) piece about 11 in long off one side of the cutting board (see picture above). I was very impressed by that! I needed a new book mark anyway. :) I’m very happy with this blade so far, and I expect it will continue to perform this well. I look forward to making more sawdust with it.

-- Brady




View Class1E's profile

Class1E

19 posts in 697 days



9 comments so far

View b2rtch's profile

b2rtch

4318 posts in 1685 days


#1 posted 11-29-2012 at 03:28 AM

I fully agree with your review, Freud blades are excellent especially at the price they sale for.

-- Bert

View HillbillyShooter's profile

HillbillyShooter

4510 posts in 929 days


#2 posted 11-29-2012 at 05:46 AM

Agree it is a great blade and will serve you well for many years. Mine is so old it has the black teflon coat—my saw sharpener (Ballew Saw & Tool here in Springfield, MO) made fun of how dated it was when I finally took it in to be sharpened last summer. Just be sure to keep it clean and it will continue to cut clean.

-- John C. -- "Firearms are second only to the Constitution in importance; they are the peoples' liberty's teeth." George Washington

View jap's profile

jap

1226 posts in 691 days


#3 posted 11-29-2012 at 06:51 AM

thanks for the review

-- Joel

View Surfside's profile

Surfside

3085 posts in 810 days


#4 posted 11-29-2012 at 08:58 AM

Freud, as what I’ve heard ,is one of the world’s best in manufacturing tools for wood work but I’m not really pleased with their saw blades yet maybe because I’d never tried using one :D . Anyway, thanks for the review .

-- "someone has to be wounded for others to be saved, someone has to sacrifice for others to feel happiness, someone has to die so others could live"

View Hoosier25's profile

Hoosier25

18 posts in 763 days


#5 posted 11-29-2012 at 09:45 AM

I noticed there was no zero insert for saw blade in the picture.
You could get an even better cut with one.

-- Roger

View Routerisstillmyname's profile

Routerisstillmyname

698 posts in 2146 days


#6 posted 11-29-2012 at 08:56 PM

Freud, Best saw blades and router bits as in sharpest, longest lasting, accurate and price point. No cheap carbide with these guys.

-- Router รจ ancora il mio nome.

View RussellAP's profile

RussellAP

2950 posts in 923 days


#7 posted 12-01-2012 at 06:53 PM

I’ve got a Freud thin kerf on my TS and it cuts sweet. Very stable blade.

-- A positive attitude will take you much further than positive thinking ever will.

View HorizontalMike's profile

HorizontalMike

6928 posts in 1551 days


#8 posted 12-07-2012 at 04:58 AM

I have one of these that I have never used! I have been so happy with the 50T Freud that I have gotten lazy when I need some shear cuts. Good review. I will remember this and get off my butt and put this blade on the TS! Thanks for the review.

-- HorizontalMike -- "Woodpeckers understand..."

View b2rtch's profile

b2rtch

4318 posts in 1685 days


#9 posted 12-07-2012 at 06:19 AM

I have one that did a fantastic work but the last time I used it, I had chipping.
I wonder why.
May I hit as nail or something.
I looked at it but I could not see anything abnormal.

-- Bert

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase