LumberJocks

Review of my Porter Cable 15" Drill Press

  • Advertise with us
Review by thewoodworker01 posted 11-10-2012 07:34 PM 10749 views 2 times favorited 14 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Review of my Porter Cable 15" Drill Press Review of my Porter Cable 15" Drill Press Review of my Porter Cable 15" Drill Press Click the pictures to enlarge them

Last year I bough the Porter Cable Drill Press at Lowe’s. I searched around for other drill presses but this one surpassed them all. For the price you can’t beat it!!! A couple features that I really like about this drill press is the 1 HP motor, 12 different speeds ranging from 300 to 3100, floor type, a full 4 inches of spindle travel, and made out of metal. Most other drill presses are made out of cheap plastic, but this one has a metal pulley cover! Unpacking this beast wasn’t hard, but I highly recommend you need two people to lift up the head of the drill press on the column. Instructions were clear. This drill press has a lot of milling grease on it. Probably to keep the metal from rusting. The box had soaked up some of the grease, but that was ok. I still have to adjust my lasers so they align properly, but I don’t use them that often. Mainly because I just drop the chuck and the drill bit down to the wood and line it up from there. This drill press is very well made. I am very pleased, I would definatly buy another in a heartbeat, but I highly doubt I will ever need to do that. This makes a great first drill press. This is my first drill press and probably my last!! I wish I could rate this drill press a 6 out of 5 stars!!!!

I have a video of this drill press on Youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PyjnpXESQbk&feature=plcp

-- Most people say "Measure Twice, Cut Once." I say, "Cut Twice, Measure Once".




View thewoodworker01's profile

thewoodworker01

89 posts in 832 days



14 comments so far

View BerBer5985's profile

BerBer5985

431 posts in 1107 days


#1 posted 11-10-2012 08:40 PM

Awesome review. I’ve been in the market for a stand up drill press because I find the benchtop model I have lacks power and is usually under a bench not hookup and it doesn’t get used when it should because of it. Maybe have to throw that one on the christmas list this year. thanks for the review!

-- Greg, Owner, Quality Carpet One, www.qualitycarpetonecrofton.com

View NiteWalker's profile

NiteWalker

2710 posts in 1264 days


#2 posted 11-10-2012 08:53 PM

You did good, that’s a great press and probably the best value on a floor press at the moment.

However, I don’t think it’s 1HP at 8 amps; more like 1/2 HP. Is there a rating on the motor itself?

-- He who dies with the most tools... dies with the emptiest wallet.

View harrywho's profile

harrywho

114 posts in 1919 days


#3 posted 11-10-2012 10:44 PM

Nice review. I’m glad you like it-I’m picking mine up at Lowe’s tomarrow!

-- Harry, Indiana

View felkadelic's profile

felkadelic

193 posts in 1227 days


#4 posted 11-10-2012 10:46 PM

I have one also that I generally like (the vertical table movement isn’t quite as smooth as I’d like). Upgrading the table made a huge difference in the usability of the machine.

View runswithscissors's profile

runswithscissors

1005 posts in 712 days


#5 posted 11-11-2012 06:53 AM

I’ve had my PC drill press for a couple of years now. I replaced the geared chuck with a Grizzly keyless chuck. Saves a lot of hassle, looking for the chuck, etc. I think you can actually get a keyless tighter than a geared one. But I have a lot of runout. I realize some of this may be due to the chuck, but I suspect the drill press is also at fault.

View ellen35's profile

ellen35

2576 posts in 2119 days


#6 posted 11-11-2012 11:32 AM

i also bought one a couple of years ago… it is a workhorse and I’ve never had a problem with it.

-- "Don't let the perfect be the enemy of the good." Voltaire

View shelly_b's profile

shelly_b

848 posts in 804 days


#7 posted 11-11-2012 08:28 PM

I have had mine for a few months and love it! I havent found anything it cant handle. I can use a 1in forstner in hard wood and you would think i was using an 1/8 in bit. I couldnt beleive how much easier it was after only using hand drills!

View Dusty56's profile

Dusty56

11663 posts in 2375 days


#8 posted 11-12-2012 02:56 AM

Your video link doesn’t work.

-- I'm absolutely positive that I couldn't be more uncertain!

View WoodIfIcould's profile

WoodIfIcould

23 posts in 752 days


#9 posted 11-12-2012 05:31 AM

I have had this drill press for about 6 months…it replaced my vintage bench top model. It has performed nicely to date. I did make a table for it – as the table it comes with is pretty small and geared more for metal work IMO.
I recommend it as well. I’ll try and post the table in projects as the clamping system I ended up using has worked out very well (owners of this unit know that the table has no ‘through’ holes in it).

-- Tim, IL

View vernonator's profile

vernonator

68 posts in 1338 days


#10 posted 11-13-2012 02:53 PM

I have this press as well – for about 18 mos now and it is rock solid. No run out to speak of, only complaint is the tiny table but a Woodpecker table fixed that up quickly. Good item for a good price – can’t go wrong

View Jason™'s profile

Jason™

85 posts in 814 days


#11 posted 11-14-2012 09:21 AM

How ironic I recently purchased this same unit online and brought it home on the 12th and am loving this unit already. The only issue I am having is the lid rattles due to possibly being slightly bent or some reason. Possibly adding some silicone or something to the under part of the lid might help with the sheet metal rattle sound.

Has anyone changed the Vbelts over to the more talked about Link belts that are supposedly better?

-- Im all night long!! all night .. all night .. ALL NIGHT LONG

View troyd1976's profile

troyd1976

7 posts in 768 days


#12 posted 12-16-2012 11:23 PM

Did lowes stop carrying this saw? ive noticed my local no longer has it nor the PC band saw.

View newbirdhunter's profile

newbirdhunter

25 posts in 583 days


#13 posted 04-29-2013 12:54 PM

Thanks for the review. Your YouTube video was also very helpful.

View 303Woodwork's profile

303Woodwork

25 posts in 1200 days


#14 posted 07-20-2013 09:42 AM

Nice review and very helpful video.
There’s a lot of potential candidate presses to chose from and drill press reviews like this are a great help.
Thanks!

-- Gotta love woodworking!

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase