LumberJocks

82 Degree Countersink - great for dog holes

  • Advertise with us
Review by lysdexic posted 10-03-2012 03:58 AM 5294 views 1 time favorited 25 comments Add to Favorites Watch
82 Degree Countersink - great for dog holes No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Just an FYI:

I needed to chamfer all the dog holes and the parallel guide holes on my bench. I have a cheap countersink from Lowe’s for the parallel guide holes but it sucks. Talk about chatter. At the end the holes look more like ten point stars.

I thought about a round over bit in the trim router but I still need a good countersink. Then I saw this in the Lee Valley catalogue. It even mentions dog holes. Free shipping and it was a deal.

Smooth! No chatter. No tear out. No dust, ear plugs or extension cords. So I introduced the new countersink to my ole Fray Spofford brace and I am good to go.

This is the crappy one from Lowe’s

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

——-Just something to keep in mind for those doing bench builds and it leaves you with a high quality, versatile countersink that works in any sized hole up to 1 1/4”.

-- "It's only wood. Use it." - Smitty




View lysdexic's profile

lysdexic

5211 posts in 2315 days



25 comments so far

View Smitty_Cabinetshop's profile

Smitty_Cabinetshop

14379 posts in 2310 days


#1 posted 10-03-2012 04:08 AM

Excellent close ups, excellent review. Thanks!

-- Don't anthropomorphize your handplanes. They hate it when you do that. -- OldTools Archive --

View Brit's profile

Brit

7092 posts in 2534 days


#2 posted 10-03-2012 05:39 AM

+1 for the Beall. I bought one some time ago and I love it.

-- https://www.clickasnap.com/Andy61 - "The hand speaks to the brain as surely as the brain speaks to the hand." Frank R. Wilson

View Iamjacob's profile

Iamjacob

48 posts in 2318 days


#3 posted 10-03-2012 06:40 AM

I read somewhere that single flute countersinks are better for wood and multi-flute countersinks are better for metal.

Those sure are some pretty closeups.

View racerglen's profile

racerglen

3112 posts in 2472 days


#4 posted 10-03-2012 09:57 AM

Love mine, just like you show n’ describe Scott, marvie devices !

-- Glen, B.C. Canada

View AnthonyReed's profile

AnthonyReed

9167 posts in 2132 days


#5 posted 10-03-2012 02:02 PM

Thank you.

-- ~Tony

View Mainiac Matt 's profile

Mainiac Matt

6921 posts in 2020 days


#6 posted 10-03-2012 04:57 PM

One of the lead carpenters in our crating department shared this technique with me, which helps prevent chatter….

1. center puch hole
2. counter sink into the soliid wood first.
3. then drill the hole second

-- Pine is fine, but Oak's no joke!

View Tedstor's profile

Tedstor

1643 posts in 2325 days


#7 posted 10-03-2012 06:13 PM

I have the one from Lowes. It does indeed suck. Thanks for pointing me toward a good alternative.

View doordude's profile

doordude

1085 posts in 2675 days


#8 posted 10-03-2012 07:48 PM

thanks for the tip, i’v been meaning to buy one too

View dustyal's profile

dustyal

1283 posts in 3167 days


#9 posted 10-04-2012 12:55 AM

You can see the difference in the grind marks on the Lowe’s tool vs the Lee Valley tool. Good photos.

Thanks for posting… I should add one to my tool set… And, I like your idea of using the brace vs a drill… well done.

-- Al H. - small shop, small projects...

View ShaneA's profile

ShaneA

6770 posts in 2290 days


#10 posted 10-04-2012 01:00 AM

I have made some ten pt stars w/the ones I have, figured it was user error. Being lazy and not looking, was it spendy?

View lysdexic's profile

lysdexic

5211 posts in 2315 days


#11 posted 10-04-2012 01:05 AM

Shane – $24.50 but I bought during the free shipping weekend.

-- "It's only wood. Use it." - Smitty

View Dave's profile

Dave

11420 posts in 2532 days


#12 posted 10-04-2012 01:18 AM

Counter sink candy.
I love the photos as well.

-- Superdav "No matter where you go - there you are." http://chiselandforge.com

View gfadvm's profile

gfadvm

14940 posts in 2382 days


#13 posted 10-04-2012 01:26 AM

Yep, I learned the hard way that the single flutes are the only way to go in wood. I get mine from Wholesale Tool. Good quality and VERY inexpensive.

-- " I'll try to be nicer, if you'll try to be smarter" gfadvm

View Fallon's profile

Fallon

88 posts in 2820 days


#14 posted 10-04-2012 03:25 PM

Single-flute = smooth
Multi-flute = fast

It really doesn’t matter the material. Multi-flute stuff usually chatters and leaves rough marks in metal as well.

View lysdexic's profile

lysdexic

5211 posts in 2315 days


#15 posted 10-04-2012 04:13 PM

Thanks for all the info. I just never really considered the nuances of countersink design. Go figure.

-- "It's only wood. Use it." - Smitty

showing 1 through 15 of 25 comments

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com