LumberJocks

It's All In The Details

  • Advertise with us
Review by MsDebbieP posted 09-18-2012 08:52 AM 1941 views 0 times favorited 6 comments Add to Favorites Watch
It's All In The Details No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

his book review is from the September 2012 issue of our LumberJocks’ eMag

Fox Chapel Publishing is donating another book for a free draw! (See below for details)
Woodcarver's Workbook

At first glance I felt that the book had too much information, too much script and no colour photos which left me feeling “ho hum”... BUT on second look I realized that this book is an excellent resource for learning how to see and how to copy what you see when doing a wood carving.

As you can see in the photo of the book’s cover, this book, by Mary Duke Culdan, is all about the details. Since I am not a wood carver I cannot speak on quality of the actual directions. I can, however, point out some of the directions that make me think, “wow”.

  • For the wolf: there is a diagram of the muzzle for mealtime as well as when relaxed, which is “long and narrow”
  • For the cougar: “the toes should be a bit wider bottom than top to accommodate retractile claws”
  • For a person: how to arm a man … well, the whole process is quite fascinating!

This book, in my opinion, is a good resource for someone who wants to do some serious carving!

WIN A FREE BOOK

One random draw winner will receive a copy of the book.
To enter your name in the draw, click here and answer the two easy questions.
Deadline: October 10, 2012

Another big thank-you to Fox Chapel Publishing for their continued donation of books for free draws here at LumberJocks.com.

-- ~ Debbie, Canada (https://www.facebook.com/DebbiePribeleENJOConsultant)




View MsDebbieP's profile

MsDebbieP

18615 posts in 2908 days



6 comments so far

View Roger's profile

Roger

15305 posts in 1552 days


#1 posted 09-18-2012 12:37 PM

Sweet!

-- Roger from KY. Work/Play/Travel Safe. Kentuk55@bellsouth.net

View HillbillyShooter's profile

HillbillyShooter

4876 posts in 1040 days


#2 posted 09-18-2012 01:06 PM

Thanks for the review—looks like a great resource for information. The older I get, the longer my “bucket list” gets; and, the only way I seem to get some projects done is in my mind’s eye.

-- John C. -- "Firearms are second only to the Constitution in importance; they are the peoples' liberty's teeth." George Washington

View alaskagypsy's profile

alaskagypsy

3 posts in 1878 days


#3 posted 10-23-2012 03:01 AM

I wanted to sign up for the Free Book drawing but the deadline was 10/10/2012 – I received the e-mail newsletter 1022/2012 – a little late to sign up!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

-- Ron, Fairbanks, Alaska

View MsDebbieP's profile

MsDebbieP

18615 posts in 2908 days


#4 posted 10-23-2012 07:10 AM

Alaskagypsy.. thanks for catching this for me. The updated link apparently did not save in the October newsletter.
This book draw was from the September Newsletter.
This is the current book draw

My apologies for the error, confusion, and disappointment.

-- ~ Debbie, Canada (https://www.facebook.com/DebbiePribeleENJOConsultant)

View LittlePaw's profile

LittlePaw

1571 posts in 1826 days


#5 posted 10-25-2012 04:06 AM

I received this announcement on Mon. Oct 22, about the draw that expired Oct 10! Oh well, who said life was perfect?

-- LittlePAW - The sweetest sound in my shop, next to Mozart, is what a hand plane makes slicing a ribbon.

View MsDebbieP's profile

MsDebbieP

18615 posts in 2908 days


#6 posted 10-25-2012 08:54 AM

my “oops” ... the link for the current draw didn’t “save” in the newsletter.
Here is the current draw.

-- ~ Debbie, Canada (https://www.facebook.com/DebbiePribeleENJOConsultant)

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase