LumberJocks

sthil ms 441

  • Advertise with us
Review by Bill1225 posted 08-27-2012 04:08 PM 3998 views 0 times favorited 8 comments Add to Favorites Watch
sthil ms 441 No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I have had this saw for about 4 months now and have dropped probably about 50 trees and cut avout 15 cords of wood. I bought it to replace a husky 266xp.

Power- i run it with a 18” or 24” it has no trouble running either with a full comp sthil/ oregon full comp 3/8-.50 pro chain and has a good power band. i have buried the 24” bar in oak and it just goes.

ergonomics- it is the smoothest running saw i have owned. you can definatly tell the vibrations transmited to the grips are less then most saws and its weight isnt bad either its about 14lbs my only complaint is the center of gravity is a little off with 24” bar so its nose heavy it really is only a problem when carrying it with the middle handle.

duribilty- Its a sthil do i need to say anything!!! I have run it alot and havent had a single problem i also broke it in and run good fuel and mix.

price – 920 for powerhead and 1025 for power head ,18” &24” bars ,2chains for each bar and 4 extra bar nuts

overall i would recomend it to anyone that needs a saw that can run 24” all day but over kill for most




View Bill1225's profile

Bill1225

125 posts in 1049 days



8 comments so far

View Mainiac Matt 's profile

Mainiac Matt

3981 posts in 978 days


#1 posted 08-27-2012 05:42 PM

Does it have a compression release valve like the Husky?

The only Sthil I ever ran was ages ago and the compression was so high that the start pull was quite difficult.

I love the release valve on the Huskies though.

-- Pine is fine, but Oak's no joke!

View Bill1225's profile

Bill1225

125 posts in 1049 days


#2 posted 08-27-2012 05:51 PM

It has a release valve I only use it for cold starts though when there warmed up it will flood the saw if it doesn’t turn over in a pull or two

View Fallon's profile

Fallon

80 posts in 1778 days


#3 posted 08-27-2012 06:18 PM

My father & grandfather’s Sthil saw is somewhere near as old as I am (mid 30’s). It had it’s first near death experience a year or 2 ago, dead electrical component, coil I believe. Due to it’s age, no replacement parts were available, but he shop managed to scrounge up an old dead saw & resurrected it with junkyard parts.

My parents have heated with wood for decades & live in the woods, it’s gotten a lot of use. 1 major failure in addition to tune ups every few years. Can’t beat that for probably over 30 years of hard work. I expect the woodcutting ability on the saw will outlast the woodcutting ability on my father too.

View Tennessee's profile

Tennessee

1447 posts in 1164 days


#4 posted 08-27-2012 11:30 PM

I own the Stihl Farm Boss with a 20” bar. Just an outstanding saw. Owned a John Deere for almost 20 years before that, (made by Echo), the Stihl is so much better. Only complaint, I wish I had spent the extra $40 and got the next model up which came with compression release. They do have a lot of compression!
But once you get it running, 2-3 pulls, it is a horse, no doubt.

-- Paul, Tennessee, http://www.tsunamiguitars.com

View Paul's profile

Paul

345 posts in 2239 days


#5 posted 08-29-2012 02:48 PM

I have the smaller model with 16 inch chain, I got the EZ to start feature that makes starting very simple and reliable. I’ve become a Stihl fan and just purchased a Stihl brush/grass trimmer also.

-- If you say 'It's good enough', it probably isn't.

View Bill1225's profile

Bill1225

125 posts in 1049 days


#6 posted 09-03-2012 08:05 PM

The fleet

View SteviePete's profile

SteviePete

224 posts in 1953 days


#7 posted 09-14-2012 05:29 AM

Got compression release on first 360,660. Run Stihl for 30+ years 041AV/360 Pro/660Magnum/MS 181 BE.

041 and 360 for the woods, 660 Mag dropping 20”+ trees and Alaskan Beam Mill, MS181 with 3 bars (14” reg, 12” dime and quarter bars for carving). Replace the plastic hoses and carb parts every 4 yrs (just do it unless you can afford losing a day when the saw won’t run. Dont skimp on bar oil, less tilt on blade face from wear when operator pushes through the cut, Use files to sharpen until you figure a full-function grinder will save time and cut so much better. When both sides of bar has been ground keep a spare—spare chains—atleast one extra for each bar. Sprockets for all bar/chain combos. Ripsaw one big hardwood log and you will understand why I use rip chain to make beams/boards and cut knobs off logs for sawing on the little boy’s band mill. Buy the best fuel and use only the manufacturer premium 2-cycle oil. Don’t use last years gas—varnish will clog the pickup filter or worse. I change chain once or twice a day. More frequently if saw is used as garden tiller or trencher. Safety clothes, leather gloves, double thick Carharts, (Kevlar chaps or repurposed body armour for ankle to hip protection) hard hat with screen shield, eye and hearing protection, steel toed boots, and first aid supplies ,especially materials for stopping bleeding, emergency phone that works in the area you are cutting. Never cut alone, never cut when anyone in your party is drinking. Saw Supplies – spark plug and wrench, small screwdriver for carb adjustments, mixed fuel, bar and chain oil Leave the kids home, lock them to a tree out on the road—very dangerous work. Kids need extra adult supervison at all times if you insist on taking them. Drink lots of water Min. 16oz/hr on cool days more when hot. Breaks after each gas tank fill or every hour. Put a checklist inside your saw case—list all tools. Checklist before leaving home and before you leave the wood yard. Finally, use the saw frequently—they will run differently in cold, warm weather, bad gas, when It floods – they all flood under some conditions. You need to know the saw or you and your party take more risk than I think is prudent.

Thus ends the sermonette- “I ain’t no expert but have played one on stage and screen.” Good luck, saw safe. s

ps: I know this costs more than you or anyone else for that matter wants to spend. If you don’t plan on sawing several days per year—hire it out. Save lots and lots. Expenses and your time will exceed your savings many times over. But, Boy is it fun. And a great skill to have when needed.

-- Steve, 'Sconie Great White North

View TopamaxSurvivor's profile

TopamaxSurvivor

14742 posts in 2325 days


#8 posted 09-24-2012 06:33 AM

I have an old, from the early 80s, 041 Super. Run up to 32” bar. Nothing but praise for it. Dropped and cut up trees up to 4’ diameter.

-- "some old things are lovely, warm still with life ... of the forgotten men who made them." - D.H. Lawrence

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase