Not a big fan

  • Advertise with us
Review by Blah Blahbalh posted 08-23-2012 04:04 AM 1980 views 1 time favorited 8 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Not a big fan No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

When I bought my first truckload of wood, I thought that a 6” sander made more sense than a 5”. More surface area, larger handles, etc.

It has become a bit of a money pit if nothing else. The sanding discs don’t seem to adhere nearly as good as either of the two 5” sanders that I have despite trying multiple brands.

What’s worse is that I bought this at Home Depot and they don’t sell replacement pads, so after driving around town all day I just ended up buying a second sander. Considering a replacement pad is $30 and the sander is a bit over $100, it doesn’t seem fair.

The handles and grips are very study and comfortable for a long sanding session. The variable speed switch isn’t well positioned but works well.

I bought a 5” DeWalt and despite is being much smaller and without variable speed control, has become my go to favorite – it’s also half the price and replacement pads are readily available.

View Blah Blahbalh's profile

Blah Blahbalh

30 posts in 1195 days

8 comments so far

View Paul's profile


1 post in 1687 days

#1 posted 08-23-2012 01:43 PM

I have the 5 inch model and don’t much like it either, noisy and the switch is difficult to turn on/off. The warranty does work but a lot of hassle. I agree, there are better buys out there.

View Tennessee's profile


2020 posts in 1606 days

#2 posted 08-23-2012 07:21 PM

Boy, glad I caught this, I been thinking of one of these.
I have a bevy of 5” units, and also thought a 6” would cut time off. Looks like not.
Thanks for the info!

-- Paul, Tennessee,

View Howie's profile


2656 posts in 2015 days

#3 posted 08-23-2012 10:46 PM

I’m like Paul. I have the 5” model and as much as I like Ridgid tools,this one leaves something to be desired. I also have a 5” PC that I like much better.
I buy all my disks from Klingspor. No problems with the disks.

-- Life is good.

View TheOldTimer's profile


226 posts in 2178 days

#4 posted 08-23-2012 11:31 PM

There is a big difference between the 6” and 5” sanders when it comes to large areas. I use the 6” for stock wider then 5” and the 5” for narrow stock. My sanders are Festool which are well worth the dollars spent. They are the only sanders I will ever own along with the Festool dust extractor. By the way, I own the Ridgid 6” & 5” models but seldom use them. Had no problems with them except for the vibration and poor dust control.

-- TheOldTimer,Chandler Arizona

View RussellAP's profile


3052 posts in 1378 days

#5 posted 08-25-2012 01:03 AM

I have the 5” Ridgid and the 5” DeWalt. The Ridgid doesn’t spin quite fast enough for me, but does a decent job. The DeWalt seems to keep spinning a lot better.

-- A positive attitude will take you much further than positive thinking ever will.

View Mathew Nedeljko's profile

Mathew Nedeljko

707 posts in 2921 days

#6 posted 08-25-2012 05:09 AM

Hmmm I am going to have to go against the grain on this one. I have had the 6” model for a couple of years now and I like it very much. I have never had any problem with discs sticking to it, and it dust extraction is great with my shop vac equipped with thein separator. I have the smaller 5” PC model as well but the big dog is my go to sander.

-- Aim high. Ride easy. Trust God. Neale Donald Walsch

View Gary's profile


8391 posts in 2525 days

#7 posted 08-25-2012 06:14 PM

Gotta agree with Otto. I have the 6” and would be willing to trade it fora button or a loose thread….even a pile of sawdust

-- Gary, DeKalb Texas only 4 miles from the mill

View crank49's profile


3900 posts in 2063 days

#8 posted 08-25-2012 06:56 PM

I have the 5” Ridgid.
It was my first ROS so I don’t have anything to compare to.

I really like it except for the stupid on/off switch.
I have arthritis and punching those alkwardly placed buttons is a PITA.

I was debating between the 5” and 6” a couple years ago when I bought the 5” ; after reading a few bad reviews on the 6”. Guess they haven’t changed anything based on customer complaints; huh.

Instead, for major stock removal I got a HF 4” x 24” magnesium belt sander. A 15 amp 10 lb beast of a machine. Costs about the same as the 5” ROS machines out there when on sale.

Been thinking about putting a couple skis on the front, hitching a trailer to the rear with a deep cycle battery and an inverter, then I could throw a saddle on it and ride in the snow. :^)

-- Michael: Hillary has a long list of accomplishments, though most DAs would refer to them as felonies.

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics