Great all around saw

  • Advertise with us
Review by Mat posted 03-31-2008 05:19 PM 2986 views 0 times favorited 7 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Great all around saw No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Since I didn’t have a handsaw of any type around the shop, I went ahead and picked up this very usual looking item at the big box store for $20. So far I’ve only used it to cut/trim a some 2×4 and 1×3 stock for some garage storage that I’ll post as a project when I have more time.

The grip – The saw has a nice long grip that’s made of some type of rubber…it’s fits nicely in my large hands and does’t slip at all with the texturing on it. The grip is about 1 1/2 feet long and allows you to hold it at a comfortable angle for the type of cut you’re doing. The handle shape and size reminds me of those nice Japanese saws I’ve see on the web.

The blade- The bade is double edged with a medium edge on one side and a fine edge on the other and is really flexible…enough to do some flush cuts later on. I believe it’s made of spring steel. The blade cuts on the pull and is really effortless going through some pine. The cuts I did make came out smooth and clean. Supposedly, there are additional blades that can be swapped out if you’d like.

View Mat's profile


9 posts in 2825 days

7 comments so far

View grovemadman's profile


556 posts in 2863 days

#1 posted 03-31-2008 07:44 PM

Yeah I have the bear saw and I can never find the accessory blades either. For the price I suppose it doesn’t matter much. Anyway they are nice saws for the money and I think once you try a pull saw you will never go back to western style push saws. Nice review – Thanks!

-- --Chuck

View GaryK's profile


10262 posts in 3079 days

#2 posted 03-31-2008 08:44 PM

Nice review. Thanks.

-- Gary - Never pass up the opportunity to make a mistake look like you planned it that way - Tyler, TX

View rikkor's profile


11295 posts in 2965 days

#3 posted 03-31-2008 11:19 PM

I am a complete convert to pull saws. You will like it. Thanks for the review.

View Grumpy's profile


20734 posts in 2942 days

#4 posted 03-31-2008 11:37 PM

Interesting saw Mat. thanks for the review.

-- Grumpy - "Always look on the bright side of life"- Monty Python

View pinkiewerewolf's profile


42 posts in 2816 days

#5 posted 04-07-2008 11:43 PM

I have that saw also. It is a pleasurem to use compared to a “push” saw.
On mine the variations of the teeth make it a useful saw for many different applications. with or against the grain. (on one side they go from course to fine by the handle)
Have fun!
P.S. Home Depot had other blades for these saws at my local store. Try their online service as they usually offer more products.

-- John, Nor-Cal,

View SP8's profile


16 posts in 2650 days

#6 posted 11-19-2008 10:19 PM

The fine side is great for cutting dowels flush.

-- R K SP8 "The 10 Commandments are NOT multiple choices"

View kefob1's profile


9 posts in 2538 days

#7 posted 12-17-2008 11:50 PM

They take a while to get used to but it pays off. I work in the UK and I always get comments on the japanese pull saws I use. Most of the time the different carpenters and appretices I meet go out and purchase one after using mine.Easy to break apart and put in your tool box.I bought a Tajima pull saw about five years ago and I still use it, I havent had to change the blade and it gets used on a daily basis.
We use cheap hardpoint push saws also and go through a large amount of these every year.
I can get 3 different size pull saws for about £20 sterling.

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics