LumberJocks

Carving & shaping made easy

  • Advertise with us
Review by Grumpy posted 03-31-2008 01:01 AM 4787 views 2 times favorited 8 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Carving & shaping made easy No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

You don’t have to be an expert carver to justify buying this tool (thats what you tell the ladies anyway, or the hubby if you are a lady Jock). it fits on an ordinary 4” (100mm) grinder).
http://i240.photobucket.com/albums/ff192/GRUMPY1946/Reviews/Arbortech%20Carving%20Disc/ArbortechCarvingDisc-04.jpg
It has three circular tungsten cutters which can be rotated when the lose the sharp edge.
http://i240.photobucket.com/albums/ff192/GRUMPY1946/Reviews/Arbortech%20Carving%20Disc/ArbortechCarvingDisc-02.jpg
A see through plastic (or perspex) shield makes it a much safer tool.
http://i240.photobucket.com/albums/ff192/GRUMPY1946/Reviews/Arbortech%20Carving%20Disc/ArbortechCarvingDisc-06.jpg
http://i240.photobucket.com/albums/ff192/GRUMPY1946/Reviews/Arbortech%20Carving%20Disc/ArbortechCarvingDisc-07.jpg
If you want to do some very quick shaping or carving this is the tool. I have not used it a lot but was impressed with the amount of control and cutting speed of this little sucker.
I don’t know if it is available in the US or elsewhere but here is the Aussie link.
http://www.arbortech.com.au/index.html

-- Grumpy - "Always look on the bright side of life"- Monty Python




View Grumpy's profile

Grumpy

19463 posts in 2507 days



8 comments so far

View GaryK's profile

GaryK

10262 posts in 2644 days


#1 posted 03-31-2008 01:44 AM

I have been wanting one of those for a while now. It’s a great shaping tool.

-- Gary - Never pass up the opportunity to make a mistake look like you planned it that way - Tyler, TX

View teenagewoodworker's profile

teenagewoodworker

2727 posts in 2424 days


#2 posted 03-31-2008 03:18 AM

thats the same one that David marks uses. it looks like a great tool and he always praises it on his shows. thanks for the review.

View RusticElements's profile

RusticElements

167 posts in 2381 days


#3 posted 03-31-2008 03:29 AM

I bought this a few months back at Lee Valley. Great tool! I use it to make spoons and bowls. VERY fast.

-- Michael R. Harvey - Brewster, NY - RusticElementArt.com - SpaceAware.org - AnConn.com

View Scott Bryan's profile

Scott Bryan

27251 posts in 2477 days


#4 posted 03-31-2008 03:56 AM

Thanks Grumpy for the review. Now I have got to add another tool to my ever growing list. Maybe I will win the lottery.

-- Challenges are what make life interesting; overcoming them is what makes life meaningful- Joshua Marine

View Karson's profile

Karson

34876 posts in 3056 days


#5 posted 03-31-2008 05:36 AM

Thanks Grumpy. Great review.

-- I've been blessed with a father who liked to tinker in wood, and a wife who lets me tinker in wood. Southern Delaware karson_morrison@bigfoot.com †

View rikkor's profile

rikkor

11295 posts in 2530 days


#6 posted 03-31-2008 12:47 PM

Thanks for the review Grumpy.

View jockmike2's profile

jockmike2

10635 posts in 2902 days


#7 posted 04-05-2008 09:30 AM

I’ve owned one for about 5 years, it’s called the Lancelot and it can hog a lot of wood in a short amount of time. I’ve used it for making chair seats, hollowing out bowls, debarking sculptures, and making sculptures. It will go through anything, its like a miniture chiainsaw, and can be resharpened like one. Great buy. I think I got mine at
at HF, or Woodcraft. mike

-- (You just have to please the man in the Mirror) Mike from Michigan -

View Lee A. Jesberger's profile

Lee A. Jesberger

6648 posts in 2635 days


#8 posted 04-05-2008 03:26 PM

Hi Grumpy;

Great product review.

I ought to invest in one of these.

Lee

-- by Lee A. Jesberger http://www.prowoodworkingtips.com http://www.ezee-feed.com

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase