LumberJocks

What a great piece of equipment

  • Advertise with us
Review by Andrew posted 07-20-2012 02:53 AM 5978 views 1 time favorited 25 comments Add to Favorites Watch
What a great piece of equipment What a great piece of equipment No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I got this saw a few months ago. I figured I like it enough to write a review. Yes, the Sawstop always leads to heated discussions. This is a review of the saw and nothing else.

I will admit, the safety is what first made me look at the Sawstop, However, it is the last thing I think about when I use it. I hope I never have to make use of the braking system, but if I do, I’ll be glad I got it. Speaking of that, I have not had any false triggers as of yet, and I hope to not ever.

The saw arrived on a pallet, after a hiccup with the delivery company (forgot to send a lift-gate truck):

I had a buddy help me assemble it. It couldn’t have been much easier.The instructions are outstanding. The hardware packs are in order and color coded. Seems silly to dumb down instructions on a $3k+ tablesaw, but what a difference it makes. Three or 4 hours later, it was assembled.
The fence and blade were dead parallel with the miter slots right out of the box. But, from what I have read/heard, adjusting the table so the blade is parallel to the miter slots is extremely easy, and is achieved using allen keys (not a mallet).

The fence is smooth and accurate. The front rail which the T-Glide fence grips has cast iron strips on three sides (front, top and back)

I was able to rip 12/4 hard maple fairly easily. Anything 8/4 or less is like butter.

I built my own overarm dust collection unit. It works surprisingly well. That project is posted here I think it’s better designed than sawstop’s, and only cost about $50-60. When using both below- and above-blade collection simultaneously, there is virtually no dust anywhere (unless you are shaving less than 1/8” off the end of a board).

Removing the blade guard/riving knife takes about 5 seconds, could not be easier. The included zero-clearance insert is beveled on the underside, allowing you to tip the blade.

I give this saw 5 stars. I absolutely love it. The safety is a bonus. I am not complacent. That spinning blade does not see any less scary than it did on my old craftsman.

-- Andrew - Albany. NY




View Andrew's profile

Andrew

294 posts in 1115 days



25 comments so far

View Ryan Haasen's profile

Ryan Haasen

362 posts in 1149 days


#1 posted 07-20-2012 03:41 AM

Congrats on the beautiful saw!

-- Ryan

View dnick's profile

dnick

952 posts in 1131 days


#2 posted 07-20-2012 03:46 AM

I am happy for you. Can’t help being envious.

-- dnick, North Hollywood, Ca.

View doordude's profile

doordude

1085 posts in 1731 days


#3 posted 07-20-2012 04:56 AM

despite the arguments that develope when we talk about this brand. It’s very cool to get a new tool of this caliber,that is a pleasure to use and look at. sweet!!!

View Milo's profile

Milo

862 posts in 2067 days


#4 posted 07-20-2012 12:52 PM

greengreengreengreen with envy here… congrats on a cool tool!

-- Beer, Beer, Thank God for Beer. It's my way of keeping my mind fresh and clear...

View Bertha's profile

Bertha

12951 posts in 1441 days


#5 posted 07-20-2012 12:55 PM

That’s an exciting day to get those boxes. I hope you love your saw.

-- My dad and I built a 65 chev pick up.I killed trannys in that thing for some reason-Hog

View GregD's profile

GregD

637 posts in 1884 days


#6 posted 07-20-2012 01:03 PM

I’ve got this same setup. I think it is a pretty sweet saw.
There are some annoyances, but if my shop burned down I’d buy another one just like it.

-- Greg D.

View Andrew's profile

Andrew

294 posts in 1115 days


#7 posted 07-20-2012 01:21 PM

Hey Greg – what annoyances? Just curious.

-- Andrew - Albany. NY

View Earlextech's profile

Earlextech

1024 posts in 1439 days


#8 posted 07-20-2012 02:43 PM

Jealous

-- Sam Hamory - The project is never finished until its "finished"!

View dbhost's profile

dbhost

5387 posts in 1980 days


#9 posted 07-20-2012 04:22 PM

That’s the saw I want to upgrade to… Good Lord and budget willing I will get there…

-- My workshop blog can be found at http://daves-workshop.blogspot.com

View Brad_Nailor's profile

Brad_Nailor

2532 posts in 2706 days


#10 posted 07-20-2012 04:44 PM

Sweet looking saw…you made the right choice…I love my Unisaw but would sell it in a heart beat if I could jump to a Sawstop

-- http://www.facebook.com/pages/DSO-Designs/297237806954248

View dbhost's profile

dbhost

5387 posts in 1980 days


#11 posted 07-20-2012 04:56 PM

Just wondering. The SS saws always look a little short to me. What is the height of the table from the floor? If it’s as short as it looks I will likely have to build some sort of riser for it…

-- My workshop blog can be found at http://daves-workshop.blogspot.com

View CyberDyneSystems's profile

CyberDyneSystems

116 posts in 937 days


#12 posted 07-20-2012 05:25 PM

dbhost,

The SawStop in my shop’s table top sits at 34 1/4” above the floor (no mobile base)

The old Unisaw it replaced happens to be 34 1/8” to the top of the table.

ie: “near as make no difference” but the SS is the taller of the two.

View dbhost's profile

dbhost

5387 posts in 1980 days


#13 posted 07-20-2012 06:51 PM

8My Ryobi BT3100 is 38” floor to table, and is a VERY comfortable height for me… Riser it is for me!

I know the Unisaws I have been around always seem short to me.. I am not that tall, I just don’t like stooping more than I need to…

-- My workshop blog can be found at http://daves-workshop.blogspot.com

View muleskinner's profile

muleskinner

740 posts in 1185 days


#14 posted 07-20-2012 07:46 PM

Damn, that thing’s so pretty it’s a shame to get sawdust on it!

-- Visualize whirled peas

View thedude50's profile

thedude50

3530 posts in 1226 days


#15 posted 07-21-2012 12:36 AM

Nice saw I am holding out for a Powermatic myself and I know they have their own blade stopping technology in the works I may wait for it I may not. I think that the saw stop would be my third choice even if it didn’t have the saw stop feature. I would be waiting for the new made in the USA uni saw before a saw i saw not sure about. I have a need for a 5 hp saw and that is what i am going to go with. a 52 inch fence and a left tilt arbor. I know there is a reason for the left tilt but i don’t recall what i was making when I had the trouble but one thing for sure it was important at the time and i was cursing my right tilt saw that day. I am very pleased that you got the saw of your dreams I hope i can get mine soon as the old jet has lots of miles and is a little under powered but cuts very very well.

-- when I am not on Lumberjocks I am on @ http://thisoldworkshop.com where we allow free speech

showing 1 through 15 of 25 comments

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase