LumberJocks

Porter-Cable Porter Cable 1.25 HP Compact Router Fixed/Plunge Combo Kit

  • Advertise with us
Review by Roger posted 07-08-2012 01:49 AM 2795 views 0 times favorited 11 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Porter-Cable Porter Cable 1.25 HP Compact Router Fixed/Plunge Combo Kit Porter-Cable Porter Cable 1.25 HP Compact Router Fixed/Plunge Combo Kit No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

This is a really nice fixed and plunge base compact router. I know I will use this much in the future for smaller routing jobs. Lotsa power, ez to use, gr8 quality. I got it at a really super price a while back, and I finally got round to using it. I cut the slots in my “football helmet” steadyrest jig that I made for turning long stock, like cane/s, spindles, etc. This worked very nicely. I look forward to using it more for many things. Not much of a review, but, I would say if you don’t have this, or, one similar to it in yer shop, you’d luv yerself fer gettin one.

-- Roger from KY. Work/Play/Travel Safe. Kentuk55@bellsouth.net




View Roger's profile

Roger

14601 posts in 1460 days



11 comments so far

View jaykaypur's profile

jaykaypur

3352 posts in 1064 days


#1 posted 07-08-2012 02:24 AM

I dont have a router period and this looks like a good one to start off with. I may have to bite the bullet and get this. Thanks for the review.

-- Use it up, Wear it out --------------- Make it do, Or do without!

View Roger's profile

Roger

14601 posts in 1460 days


#2 posted 07-08-2012 02:37 AM

do a search for the best price. Amazon might have it for a good price right now, or someone will. Good luck.

-- Roger from KY. Work/Play/Travel Safe. Kentuk55@bellsouth.net

View Greg..the Cajun  Box Sculptor's profile

Greg..the Cajun Box Sculptor

5106 posts in 1965 days


#3 posted 07-08-2012 05:06 PM

Roger…I have eyeing this router kit and the Dewalt 1.25hp kit for a while. I have several 2.25hp routers that are great but not small and lightweight like these. Let me know how you like it after using it for a few tasks. This one and the dewalt both get good reviews…however the dewalt is not variable speed.
My only problem is all my router bits have 1/2” shanks and I would have to get 1/4 bits to use with a smaller router.

-- If retiring is having the time to be able to do what you enjoy then I have always been retired.

View Dusty56's profile

Dusty56

11659 posts in 2344 days


#4 posted 07-08-2012 05:54 PM

Any model number on this ? ....I see everything but that on the box. How much was yours ?
Thanks

-- I'm absolutely positive that I couldn't be more uncertain!

View Roger's profile

Roger

14601 posts in 1460 days


#5 posted 07-08-2012 10:46 PM

@Greg: this isn’t a variable speed either. I used it to cut the slots in my lathe steady rest, and also freehanded the wide dados to house those Walnut runners holding the wheels. It works really well.
@Dusty56: It is model # 450PK because it has the fixed and the plunge base. I’m pretty sure I only paid about 130. w/shipping. I got an email from Tool King, or Acme, or one o them places with an additional 20% + free shipping and I jumped on it.

-- Roger from KY. Work/Play/Travel Safe. Kentuk55@bellsouth.net

View Dusty56's profile

Dusty56

11659 posts in 2344 days


#6 posted 07-09-2012 12:45 AM

Thank you …I’ve been looking at the little DeWalt , but it would just be a new toy for me right now…..I already have a VS Bosch Colt , but no plunge feature.

-- I'm absolutely positive that I couldn't be more uncertain!

View Milo's profile

Milo

851 posts in 1975 days


#7 posted 07-09-2012 03:08 AM

I have the previous generation of this Porter Cable router kit and I LOVE IT. I use it only for special jobs, relegating my other routers for grunt work (i.e. fixed jobs like table routers). I am pretty sure mine is a variable speed router, but don’t remember right off the top of my head.

Thanks for the review!

-- Beer, Beer, Thank God for Beer. It's my way of keeping my mind fresh and clear...

View b2rtch's profile

b2rtch

4330 posts in 1704 days


#8 posted 07-09-2012 10:26 AM

I have the Rigid and I love it.

-- Bert

View lumberjoe's profile

lumberjoe

2833 posts in 904 days


#9 posted 07-09-2012 04:51 PM

I have the dewalt, it’s mediocre. I will end up with the Ridgid. I don’t like the plunge bases on porter cable routers. Not saying they are bad, it’s a personal decision.

-- www.etsy.com/shop/KandJWoodCrafts

View Tennessee's profile

Tennessee

1447 posts in 1170 days


#10 posted 07-16-2012 07:08 PM

Greg, I don’t know if it is still out there, I know my HD has one on the shelf, but HD offered the Rigid with a free plunge base that was 1/4 and 1/2. I love mine, echoing Bert’s comments. And it’s not too big.

Sorry, I just looked on their site – sale gone…

-- Paul, Tennessee, http://www.tsunamiguitars.com

View BenI's profile

BenI

326 posts in 834 days


#11 posted 07-18-2012 01:07 AM

Thanks for posting this, I’ve also been looking at this and the Dewalt trim router so this helps with that decision, although I’d really prefer a router with VS.

-- Ben from IL

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase