Woodcraft the best Customer Service and support for Wood River Planes

  • Advertise with us
Review by bloqbeta posted 06-20-2012 11:28 AM 2562 views 0 times favorited 12 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Woodcraft the best Customer Service and support for Wood River Planes No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I bought my first plane, a Wood River No. 4 Plane and had it shipped to my sister in Florida, who brought it down to Guatemala where I live, that took almost 2 months. I received it yesterday and prepared it for the bench, cleaned all the gunk, honed the blade perfectly, razor sharp with an imperceptible camber.

Grabbed a beautiful plank of highly figured mahogany and started planing the face of the board, and to my surprise, it left a very deep indentation. They were not plane track but deep indentations.

Having a closer look at the perfectly flat sole I noticed at the right side on the top and bottom corner two heavy dents that protrude to the sole. These bumps on the corner throw the sole completeley out of flatness and left the deep indentations in the wood.

That ruined my whole night… today, I got in touch with Woodcraft and filed my complaint. Returning the plane would be much more expensive that having to buy a Lie Nielsen in the first place.

In 4 hours I got my response, they are sending to Guatemala a new plane replacement as we speak, handpicked by their QC staff and having their sharpening expert hone the blade personally. Jeanne from their Costumer service was very polite and made the day in a very unfortunate situation.

That said, I am pleased to spread the word on a store that puts their name and honor on what they sell and they have honestly made a loyal customer for a very long time.

-- Ebanisteria Sabrosona

View bloqbeta's profile


19 posts in 1253 days

12 comments so far

View Domer's profile


252 posts in 2453 days

#1 posted 06-20-2012 08:45 PM

I have had excellent service from my local Woodcraft Store. I have had very few complaints but every time I have, they have taken care of me.


View jeth's profile


210 posts in 1924 days

#2 posted 06-20-2012 08:59 PM

I had a similar experience with Woodcraft, who after many weeks trying to charge my (mexican) bank account for the full amount with no success, sent me my woodriver no.4 by express mail at less than half the asking price :)

What part of Guatemala are you in?? I am right on the border here in Tapachula…

View Rick1911's profile


9 posts in 1303 days

#3 posted 06-20-2012 10:14 PM

I’ve got to chime in here. I ordered two quarts of different General Finishes stains from Woodcraft via (they are a partner store with Amazon). The total order, with shipping, was close to $50 – so, not an insignificant amount. They arrived very quickly via Fedex – and the packaging was wonderful – however, upon opening the box, the cans were dented badly. Neither was leaking, but it was obvious that the cans had been dented BEFORE they were shipped – as there was no damage to the box they came in. I emailed Woodcraft, telling them I would not have bought cans that looked like that in a store, and I didn’t expect them to arrive that way buying online.
I received immediate email from Woodcraft, apologizing, and they told me to just keep the cans of stain and use them and I would receive replacement cans at no charge. The original cans were delivered on a Tuesday, and I had the replacement cans on Thursday. I couldn’t ask for anything better than that. So, I’d definitely order from them again.

-- “Did you ever stop to think, and forget to start again?”

View TechRedneck's profile


756 posts in 1943 days

#4 posted 06-20-2012 11:17 PM

I’ve bought a crap load of stuff from Woodcraft and haven’t had to use customer support.

It is nice to hear from fellow LJ’s when they recieve good service. Companies that provide good service should recieve cudos now and then.

-- Mike.... West Virginia. "Man is a tool using animal. Without tools he is nothing, with tools he is all.". T Carlyle

View bloqbeta's profile


19 posts in 1253 days

#5 posted 06-21-2012 04:23 AM

Next day, after the plane incident I was having a really crappy day, thinking of what arguments and discussions i would have with the seller. Must stores now will find a way to take away any responsibility after a profit has been made. Yes, this post is for giving cudos, they deserve it.

Jeth, I’m in Guatemala city, just a couple of hours away from Tapachula, I am actually from El Salvador and are really blessed by living in this part of the world, even with all the conflicts going on. You have Peten real close which is a real treasure for the best tropical wood in the region. It is a shame that most of it is exported.

I am getting the best contacts with rainforest alliance with the best producers on certified forests for mahogany (caoba), cedro, Rosul or cocobolo, or tzalam for getting my hands on some of the best boards for export.

Is it easy to find good boards in tapachula?

-- Ebanisteria Sabrosona

View felkadelic's profile


208 posts in 1626 days

#6 posted 06-21-2012 05:57 AM

Another thumbs up for Woodcraft’s customer support. I have a mortiser that came with some defective chisels (one snapped auger bit and one out-of-square chisel) and they were extremely prompt in sending replacements.

View Tennessee's profile


2007 posts in 1601 days

#7 posted 06-21-2012 05:34 PM

wow…I may have to revisit my sparsely equipped Woodcraft store when I buy tools. I do know the Wood River granite plate I bought, price was right, and they gave me the military discount. Turned out to be cheaper than amazon. Sharpening tools took on a whole new dimension for me. Razor sharp instead of just sharp.

-- Paul, Tennessee,

View lysdexic's profile


4971 posts in 1709 days

#8 posted 06-22-2012 03:36 AM

I bought a Rikon 10-325 bandsaw from woodcraft. It had an awful vibration. It was quite puzzling. Those guys let me switch out all kinds of parts from their floor model trying to isolate the problem. One guy offered to drive to my house to help and I live 45 miles away.

In the end, I took the bandsaw back and they gave me a new one which worked flawlessly. The hole thing was a big pain in the arse but woodcraft customer service was superb.

-- I love Jeeps

View Dusty56's profile


11781 posts in 2774 days

#9 posted 06-22-2012 05:39 PM

Nothing but praise for the good people at my local WoodCraft store !! : )

-- I'm absolutely positive that I couldn't be more uncertain!

View crank49's profile


3898 posts in 2057 days

#10 posted 06-22-2012 08:26 PM

+2 thumbs up for WoodCraft customer service from me.
Only problem I ever had with them was one new WoodRiver chisel in a set of six that had pits in the back.
Showed the manager and she handed me a brand new set, no questions asked.

I wish they had more American made products, but thats not all their fault, and their American made service is top notch.

-- Michael: Hillary has a long list of accomplishments, though most DAs would refer to them as felonies.

View bloqbeta's profile


19 posts in 1253 days

#11 posted 06-22-2012 08:32 PM

With the replacement plane shipping confirmation, the customer service lady sent me a note that said, amongst other thing:

hank you for all your kind words, however Woodcrafts owner has always said…. “treat your customers as you would want to be treated”.

The very nice thing about it all is the company lets me handle issues and problems without restraint …. “I really get to treat the customer how I would want to be treated”

-- Ebanisteria Sabrosona

View Willardz's profile


59 posts in 1396 days

#12 posted 06-23-2012 05:41 PM

Woodcraft is great. I buy a ton of stuff there also. Have not had any problems with their stuff yet.

-- I have Carrie, food, shelter, and wood to turn. What else do I need?

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics