LumberJocks

rikon 10-325 upgrade

  • Advertise with us
Review by eddy posted 05-21-2012 08:46 PM 5997 views 3 times favorited 13 comments Add to Favorites Watch
rikon 10-325 upgrade rikon 10-325 upgrade rikon 10-325 upgrade Click the pictures to enlarge them

i have been using a craftsman 20401 14 inch bandsaw for almost 4 years now. not a bad saw at all but not ment to be used to resaw almost every day. needless to say it was showing some wear. started looking at all the saws that were 14 inches both the jett and powermatic only had 15 inch tables too small for me. so that left the ricon only thing i did not like was the guide bearings they are the same as what was on the craftsman. started looking around and found the carter brg,s replaced the brg,s installed a wood slicer and this is the best saw i have ever used no vibration at all no drift when resawing fence is great i screwed a tall piece of mdf to the fence and started resawing cut 2 pieces 22 inch long of zebra 7 inches tall 1 23 inch piece of lace wood 6 inched tall and so on all of the cuts were within .010 or less of flat i would buy it again

-- self proclaimed copycat




View eddy's profile

eddy

927 posts in 2019 days



13 comments so far

View woodmaker's profile

woodmaker

264 posts in 1346 days


#1 posted 05-21-2012 11:08 PM

I’ve been thinking about this saw.

But I’m torn between one of these “mega” 14” saws or getting a 17” saw.

I do intend to build period furniture (one of these days) so I don’t want to end up limited.

On my budget I can only buy one saw once I pull the trigger.

-- Mike

View RogerM's profile

RogerM

445 posts in 1053 days


#2 posted 05-22-2012 05:14 PM

I too have the 14” Rikon Deluxe with the Carter upgraded blade guides. This combination (plus a Woodslicer or Timberwolf blade)is very hard to beat for the money.

-- Roger M, Aiken, SC

View Gerry's profile

Gerry

253 posts in 1895 days


#3 posted 05-22-2012 05:56 PM

I’ve had my 10-325 deluxe for a couple of years now, and you are spot on! The combination of a good tune up and a woodslicer blade has allowed me to resaw Mahogany for drawer fronts, Mesquite for a bent lamination, and Alder for veneering shelves of my Alder/ Turquoise inlaid tables. The tool has been consistant and reliable. Happily, I got it on sale, BEFORE the price went up!

I have been using it with the guide bearings that came with it. Although I may change them out after reading your experience, I spoke to the factory early on, and was told the current bearings are Carters, but their previous generation. Enjoy the saw!!

-- -Gerry, Hereford, AZ ” A really good woodworker knows how the hide his / her mistakes.”

View Roger's profile

Roger

14566 posts in 1458 days


#4 posted 05-23-2012 12:29 PM

Fantastic. Thnx for the review. Looks like a beastee of a wood slicer

-- Roger from KY. Work/Play/Travel Safe. Kentuk55@bellsouth.net

View EdwardR's profile

EdwardR

66 posts in 908 days


#5 posted 05-23-2012 02:45 PM

I just purchased mine and it sits in the shop because I broke my ankle in 3 places. ( gonna be a long summer) Would you suggest to upgrade out of the gate.

View eddy's profile

eddy

927 posts in 2019 days


#6 posted 05-24-2012 01:12 AM

edward yes it will make a big differance if you do a lot of resawing like i do if all you do is scroll work probly not
my old saw had the same brg,s as this and i suffered with them for almost 4 years. they are a pain to adjust and the carters are double brg,s on the sides for better suport also dont wast your time with the factory blade
hope that helps
fet better soon

-- self proclaimed copycat

View EdwardR's profile

EdwardR

66 posts in 908 days


#7 posted 05-24-2012 05:13 PM

Eddy Thanks my friend going to get one asap. I already bought new Timberwolf blades.

I had to retire and took up woodworking as a new hobby At least i know I made one good decision

View thebicyclecafe's profile

thebicyclecafe

23 posts in 903 days


#8 posted 10-09-2012 08:27 PM

Eddy, thanks for posting this, I was just contemplating making the same upgrade. Looks like you got the micro adjust carters.
Do you find that you are able to move the thrust bearing and side bearings adequately now, in the front to back position? On the old guides, the lower thrust bearing can’t get close enough to the blade, and the side guides couldn’t be correctly adjusted to just behind the gullets.
Are the carters improving your setup time? I am so sick of adjusting the guides a million times everytime I change a blade, the stock guides move after you lock them down, super annoying.
Thanks!

View eddy's profile

eddy

927 posts in 2019 days


#9 posted 10-09-2012 10:01 PM

the blade changes are ten times as fast now worth every penny

-- self proclaimed copycat

View HorizontalMike's profile

HorizontalMike

6938 posts in 1568 days


#10 posted 12-03-2012 08:22 PM

I also have this same 14in Deluxe BS, though I have not needed to do the Carter upgrade. The OEM guides are doing the trick for me. When I wear them out, I may move up to the Carter system. Time will tell. If I recall correctly, I paid $675 for it on sale at WC in 2009.

-- HorizontalMike -- "Woodpeckers understand..."

View BroncoBrian's profile

BroncoBrian

76 posts in 613 days


#11 posted 02-03-2013 04:00 PM

Thanks for the review, this is on my short list for this week. Would you change anything now that you have had it for a while? Any reason you might look at another BS in that range?

-- Stop thinking, let things happen... and be the ball.

View eddy's profile

eddy

927 posts in 2019 days


#12 posted 02-04-2013 02:58 PM

sence i got this saw i have had the chance to use a powermatic and a jet one or twice
in my personal opinion the saw beats them both. it is a resaw beast i made a few bandsaw boxes last week
with this saw. was a very fast project

-- self proclaimed copycat

View eddy's profile

eddy

927 posts in 2019 days


#13 posted 05-03-2014 01:23 AM

2 year update (almost) I use this saw 3 to 4 times a week resawing most of the time. each resaw session is about
40 t0 50 running feet of cherry with some exotics in there still running great. I would still recommend this saw

-- self proclaimed copycat

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase