Music to my ears...

  • Advertise with us
Review by RobH posted 03-23-2008 02:47 PM 3786 views 1 time favorited 12 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Music to my ears... Music to my ears... No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I thought I would post this because I am as happy as a pig in mud when I am using these things. They perform wonderfully.

I like ear muffs better than in-ear style hearing protection. Before I bought these I used a pair of ear muffs with ear bud headphones to listen to my MP3 player. Since my MP3 player has no AM/FM radio option, I often missed that.

Well, as always happens, one of the boys got their hand on my old headphones and broke them. When I went to pick up more, I saw these. I found mine at Lowe’s. I cringed at the price, and I almost thought twice. After all, will the boys get their hands on them and tear them up? Well, I caved and bought these at around $50.00. They were worth every penny. They are sold under the AOSafety brand, but the tag on the headphones says Peltor Type:HRX52A.

These things are great. The only confusing part was the directions did not say to turn off the radio in order to listen to the MP3 player. After I figured that out, which didn’t take long, everything was great.

What I like most is that when I get tired of listening to the local radio station yell at me with car commercials or furniture commercials, or when I have heard the same song for the third time in two hours, I just grab the MP3 player, plug it in and listen to a woodworking podcast or my CD collection while I continue to work.


For anybody considering them, spend the money it is well worth it.

They are really great in the shop, but I imagine they are going to make mowing the yard a little more enjoyable this year also.

One great thing about it, I wear my hearing protection a lot more. Now, if I could just get a dust mask that I could put cartridges in to make it smell like chocolate cake, baking cookies, or a fresh cut lawn. Then I would wear it more like I should.

-- -- Rob Hix, King George, VA

View RobH's profile


465 posts in 3139 days

12 comments so far

View rikkor's profile


11295 posts in 2964 days

#1 posted 03-23-2008 04:08 PM

The downside to these is you can’t hear the phone ring or The Boss calling from the top of the stairs.
Wait…., hmmmmm.

View Larry's profile


200 posts in 3301 days

#2 posted 03-23-2008 05:47 PM

LOL – no boss, no phone, got to get one of these.

-- "Have you hugged your pet today?" ---------- Larry

View GaryK's profile


10262 posts in 3078 days

#3 posted 03-23-2008 05:49 PM

I have a lowley dumb set!

-- Gary - Never pass up the opportunity to make a mistake look like you planned it that way - Tyler, TX

View jcees's profile


987 posts in 2888 days

#4 posted 03-24-2008 02:17 AM

I got a pair similar from a competitor and I’m tickled pink too. My chilluns gave them to me for Christmas. Woohoo! Now I can listen to the Saturday morning shows on NPR and later plug in the MP3 player to listen to a book. Sweet! And all while making sawdust. Should’ve bought’em years ago. NOW they have a model with presets!


-- When one tugs at a single thing in nature, he finds it attached to the rest of the world. -- John Muir

View Betsy's profile


3145 posts in 2985 days

#5 posted 03-24-2008 03:48 AM

These are a great addition to the shop. They block the noise and still can listen to your favorite music or programs.

-- Like a bad penny, I keep coming back!

View cajunpen's profile


14538 posts in 3155 days

#6 posted 03-24-2008 04:33 AM

Good review and idea, thanks for posting.

-- Bill - "Suit yourself and let the rest be pleased."

View Chipper's profile


22 posts in 2980 days

#7 posted 03-24-2008 04:41 PM

I love my set for the noise protection and iPod listening. However, I have found a really, really annoying design flaw and unfortunately I think all of them have it. The on/off/volume control should have been put at the top of the muff, not the bottom. Every time I reach up high to pick up something or work over my head, I move the volume control with my shoulders.

Fix that and provide an adapter to clip my Nano directly to the headset and I’m a happy Chipper…

-- Steve (Plano, TX)

View Marge's profile


145 posts in 3043 days

#8 posted 03-24-2008 09:11 PM

I actually forget to turn off the vacuum when i am done routing as I do not hear it.

-- Marge, Colorado

View Kevin's profile


293 posts in 3047 days

#9 posted 03-25-2008 12:28 AM

I’ve been thinking about getting a set of these from Lowes too. I am glad to hear that they work well.

-- Kevin, Wichita, Kansas

View Zuki's profile


1404 posts in 3167 days

#10 posted 03-25-2008 02:38 AM

I like the dust mask idea with a chocolate cake canister. Mmmmmmmmm.

I might just have to look at that headset. My $9 ones from Princess Auto do the job on noise reduction, but I cannot hear any tunes.

-- BLOG -

View grumpycarp's profile


257 posts in 2835 days

#11 posted 03-27-2008 01:30 AM

I’m amazed at how well the tuner in these things work. I can get stations that my job radio won’t get. I also use mine to find refuge from the cucuracha music and talk radio B.S. on the job.

View IowaWoodcrafter's profile


280 posts in 3166 days

#12 posted 04-08-2008 05:50 AM

I can’t believe that I went so long without these. I finally ordered a set, (through the lumberjocks store), after reading this review. I had a set of earmuffs that broke shortly after I purchased them. I stuck with using plugs for a long time. This thing beats both the earmuffs and plugs hands down. Now I get to listen to my MP3’s AND use my planer.

-- Owen Johnson - aka IowaWoodcrafter

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics