LumberJocks

The Veritas O1 Bench Chisels - reviewed

  • Advertise with us
Review by Derek Cohen posted 05-17-2012 11:35 AM 5767 views 4 times favorited 15 comments Add to Favorites Watch
The Veritas O1 Bench Chisels - reviewed No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

What’s in the box …....... ?

Why, the new Veritas O1 Bench Chisels!

Reviewed here: http://www.inthewoodshop.com/ToolReviews/VeritasChiselReview.html

Regards from Perth

Derek

-- Buildiing furniture, and reviewing and building tools at http://www.inthewoodshop.com




View Derek Cohen's profile

Derek Cohen

185 posts in 2713 days



15 comments so far

View rpalm's profile

rpalm

57 posts in 2125 days


#1 posted 05-17-2012 12:04 PM

Not only a great review but a lot of basic and not so basic chisel info.
Thanks,Robert

-- Robert, I don't understand everything I know about this.

View eddie's profile

eddie

7531 posts in 1358 days


#2 posted 05-17-2012 04:17 PM

great review

-- Jesus Is Alright with me

View Dennisgrosen's profile

Dennisgrosen

10850 posts in 1860 days


#3 posted 05-17-2012 10:00 PM

thanks for a very well done and informative rewiew :-)

like the box match the chiesels quality :-)

Dennis

View Chris208's profile

Chris208

200 posts in 1014 days


#4 posted 05-18-2012 05:24 AM

Great review! I learned a ton about chisels.

Thanks!

View Dave's profile

Dave

11205 posts in 1585 days


#5 posted 05-18-2012 01:02 PM

A well rounded review. Thank you, I enjoyed it a lot.

-- Superdav "No matter where you go - there you are." http://chiselandforge.com

View dustyal's profile

dustyal

1216 posts in 2220 days


#6 posted 05-18-2012 01:16 PM

Thanks for taking the time to post your review… Being an amateur, I learned more about chisels here than from other articles I’ve read. Well done review.

-- Al H. - small shop, small projects...

View Ken90712's profile

Ken90712

15304 posts in 1933 days


#7 posted 05-18-2012 03:21 PM

One of the better reviews I have read on here! Well done, great photos and look fwd to getting a set of these and trying them out!

-- Ken, "Everyday above ground is a good day!"

View TDog's profile

TDog

233 posts in 975 days


#8 posted 05-18-2012 06:54 PM

Derek

Thank you, just when I had decided what chisels to buy…
This great review on an excellent chisel set come across…LOL

They look great plus a great set of tests and images to for a really good chisel tour…
I am digging the tang and socket style construction. Plus it is great to see an attractive dark and very durable finish in something besides beech or light hornbeam,

Great review…

-- "So many projects...so little time..." Psalm 23

View bobasaurus's profile

bobasaurus

1442 posts in 1929 days


#9 posted 05-18-2012 08:48 PM

Very informative review. I’ve been considering a high-end chisel set for a while, and was pretty much sold on a set of the Lie-Nielsens, but this is making me reconsider. I’d still have to choose the steel… I’m not sure if I’d want the O1 for ease of sharpening and low bevel angles, or the A2 / PM-V11 for edge retention at the cost of extra sharpening time (and the A2 dislikes low bevel angles, from what I hear). The Veritas chisels are a hair more expensive, and claim the price will increase by 20% for the PM-V11 steel version.

-- Allen, Colorado

View doordude's profile

doordude

1085 posts in 1727 days


#10 posted 05-19-2012 02:46 AM

thanks derek for the great and precise review.when i held a new stanely 750; the handle felt very small in my hands. and i don’t have big hands. but with your picture, holding the L.V. and the stanely, i can see the difference.
i was leaning to the L.N. chisels because of the A2 steel and the sweeping taper of the edges for dovetails.
but the shorter handle on the L.N. could be a deal breaker.
thanks for the food for thought.

View fernandoindia's profile

fernandoindia

1077 posts in 1688 days


#11 posted 05-19-2012 03:03 AM

GReat review Derek. And very nice box

-- Back home. Fernando

View lou's profile

lou

340 posts in 2187 days


#12 posted 05-21-2012 12:48 PM

Ecellent reveiw Derek.Thanks and i enjoy the rest of yor reveiws as well.

View mafe's profile

mafe

9668 posts in 1834 days


#13 posted 06-22-2012 04:02 PM

Great review Derek.
It sounds like Veritas made a good job there.
Best thoughts,
Mads

-- Mad F, the fanatical rhykenologist and vintage architect. Democraticwoodworking.

View Gregg M.'s profile

Gregg M.

38 posts in 427 days


#14 posted 08-10-2014 02:42 PM

Thanks for the review and the chisel box idea. I bought the chisels and made a box like yours.

-- Marvel Woodworking

View Derek Cohen's profile

Derek Cohen

185 posts in 2713 days


#15 posted 08-10-2014 04:09 PM

Hi Gregg

Let’s see a pic of your box.

Regards from Perth

Derek

-- Buildiing furniture, and reviewing and building tools at http://www.inthewoodshop.com

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase