LumberJocks

IBC ROB COSMAN BLADE AND CHIP BREAKER THE FINEST BLADE MADE IN THE WORLD

  • Advertise with us
Review by thedude50 posted 04-30-2012 03:14 AM 7110 views 1 time favorited 55 comments Add to Favorites Watch
IBC ROB COSMAN BLADE AND CHIP BREAKER THE FINEST BLADE MADE IN THE WORLD IBC ROB COSMAN BLADE AND CHIP BREAKER THE FINEST BLADE MADE IN THE WORLD IBC ROB COSMAN BLADE AND CHIP BREAKER THE FINEST BLADE MADE IN THE WORLD Click the pictures to enlarge them

When it comes to hand planes people have lots of ideas about whose is the best. There are several premium hand planes; Lie Nielsen, Veritas, Bridge city, Wood River and The granddad of the bunch Stanley along with many others. These planes all claim to be the best or the innovator with new frog designs, re-worked Bedrock designs, bronze bodies and ductile steel. There are those who prefer a 125 year old bailey or bedrock but these old planes simply can’t hold a candle to the modern marvels of today.
What if i told you it’s all crap and the brand of plane doesn’t matter, you would say I am crazy right I was asked a couple of weeks ago to try out a blade and chip-breaker and if I put them in one of my old Stanley planes it would challenge my new $300 Lie Nelson Plane. I was floored by the claim and said because my mom is from Missouri Show Me. So they sent me several sets of these Rob Cosman Matched sets when they arrived I grabbed the box and ripped it open like a kid at Christmas I looked at the blades and thought I have seen tons of blades but i have not in 43 Years of woodworking seen a blade and chip breaker that came close to this quality and craftsmanship. The machining is beyond good it’s great
. PLEASE CLICK HERE FOR MORE PICTURES AND THE REST OF MY REVIEWhttp://thisoldworkshop.com/index.php/reviews/106-blades/120-cosmanchipbreakers

-- when I am not on Lumberjocks I am on @ http://thisoldworkshop.com where we allow free speech




View thedude50's profile

thedude50

3514 posts in 1115 days



55 comments so far

View Joe Lyddon's profile

Joe Lyddon

7693 posts in 2690 days


#1 posted 04-30-2012 03:35 AM

That’s amazing!

Just buy a Super Blade instead of a New Plane!

Sounds like the way to go!

I’m going to have you look at all of my OLD planes when you visit… & see what you think…
(if you want, of course.)

Thank you for the great Review!

-- Have Fun! Joe Lyddon - Alta Loma, CA USA - Home: http://www.WoodworkStuff.net ... My Small Gallery: http://www.ncwoodworker.net/pp/showgallery.php?ppuser=1389&cat=500"

View thedude50's profile

thedude50

3514 posts in 1115 days


#2 posted 04-30-2012 03:44 AM

your welcome joe I hope people find the review worthwhile

-- when I am not on Lumberjocks I am on @ http://thisoldworkshop.com where we allow free speech

View thedude50's profile

thedude50

3514 posts in 1115 days


#3 posted 04-30-2012 03:45 AM

oh ya of coarse we can set up a couple of your old planes no problem

-- when I am not on Lumberjocks I am on @ http://thisoldworkshop.com where we allow free speech

View Joe Lyddon's profile

Joe Lyddon

7693 posts in 2690 days


#4 posted 04-30-2012 04:11 AM

Only TWO?! LOL

... hopefully, I will learn something so I can do it for the rest of’em. LOL

-- Have Fun! Joe Lyddon - Alta Loma, CA USA - Home: http://www.WoodworkStuff.net ... My Small Gallery: http://www.ncwoodworker.net/pp/showgallery.php?ppuser=1389&cat=500"

View thedude50's profile

thedude50

3514 posts in 1115 days


#5 posted 04-30-2012 05:10 AM

how many did you want me to do joe

-- when I am not on Lumberjocks I am on @ http://thisoldworkshop.com where we allow free speech

View Joe Lyddon's profile

Joe Lyddon

7693 posts in 2690 days


#6 posted 04-30-2012 05:22 AM

Just kidding… I haven’t counted them in a long time… LOL

... after seeing a real Expert do it, hopefully, something will rub off! LOL

I have a nice #7 and some other smaller / medium sized ones…

One of these days, I will have them in a cabinet where they can be seen and used easier than in a Chest drawer… LOL

Don’t worry about it… Just having fun… LOL

-- Have Fun! Joe Lyddon - Alta Loma, CA USA - Home: http://www.WoodworkStuff.net ... My Small Gallery: http://www.ncwoodworker.net/pp/showgallery.php?ppuser=1389&cat=500"

View thedude50's profile

thedude50

3514 posts in 1115 days


#7 posted 04-30-2012 05:31 AM

no joe I am willing to spend the day doing your planes my friend will be with me we could easily kick out 6-8 of them in one day

-- when I am not on Lumberjocks I am on @ http://thisoldworkshop.com where we allow free speech

View ShipWreck's profile

ShipWreck

536 posts in 2390 days


#8 posted 04-30-2012 10:10 AM

Good read. From what I have heard, WoodCraft’s next line of planes is supposed to be featuring the Pinnacle blades. I might try one of these on my next restoration.

Thanks for sharing.

John

View thedude50's profile

thedude50

3514 posts in 1115 days


#9 posted 04-30-2012 10:22 AM

yes their next line of planes are going to be the pinnacle line and will be a upgdad with the IBC cosman blades no release date as of yet cant wait to get a set of them though

-- when I am not on Lumberjocks I am on @ http://thisoldworkshop.com where we allow free speech

View Dwain's profile

Dwain

323 posts in 2496 days


#10 posted 04-30-2012 08:31 PM

Dude.

Thanks for the review. I know these plane blades are great! My only concern is comparing these to a Lee Valley blade for almost half the cost, without the need to file my beloved Stanley type 11’s. Are you converting your bedrocks to these permanently?

-- When you earnestly believe you can compensate for a lack of skill by doubling your efforts, there is no end to what you CAN'T do

View thedude50's profile

thedude50

3514 posts in 1115 days


#11 posted 04-30-2012 09:05 PM

Dwain, the mouth is opened permanently but you can I have checked just move the frog forward a bit and you can return to a vintage blade no problem. But after you have you will never use a vintage blade again. These are simply so much better that once you have used a set like this you will never turn back. I worked really hard to make sure i only filed enough for the blade to fit snugly wit the frog all the way back so it is the smallest modification possible. It only took a few minutes and you are only opening the mouth a couple of thousandths. I suggest you go buy a cheep no 4 on eBay and convert it once you have tried it if you think my assessment is wrong please tell me why. You can often find these on sale and the price is not that high compared to other Premium blades. I simply don’t like Chinese steel so I use Canadian steel instead. Since there is no american companies making good steel in the us any more.I am very pleased with these and feel the modification was well worth the performance increase. My whole bedrock set will have these blades in them just as soon as they make the rest of the blades to fit the whole line i don’t have a blade for my 5.5 my 608 or my 602 bedrocks. Sure i have some real collector planes i will never touch, but if your planes are users and not collectors like my users. My goal is to get the best performance I can from the tool and this blade improved performance by leaps and bounds. I hope this helps you decide to test one for your self. Let me know how it works for you.

-- when I am not on Lumberjocks I am on @ http://thisoldworkshop.com where we allow free speech

View Dwain's profile

Dwain

323 posts in 2496 days


#12 posted 04-30-2012 10:11 PM

Dude,

Thanks again for your feedback. I don’t question your findings whatsoever. I am sure you are correct, I just raised some concerns that stuck with me. I certainly don’t know where the LV blades are made, but I’m pretty sure the Hock blades are made in Europe. I also agree that there is nothing close to the thickness of this blade. I have no argument about it’s quality, it is surly top notch. I am just wondering about the value. I don’t use my planes everyday, (I have a set from 3 to 8 of bailey type 11’s, as well as several other planes), and I certainly don’t use them for a living. I don’t know if I can justify the cost for the use I get out of them…You are also correct, if I have the money, and I can catch them on sale (where? I have never seen them this cheap) I would definately take the plunge on a “tester” plane.

Thanks again for your review, it was fantastic.

Dwain

-- When you earnestly believe you can compensate for a lack of skill by doubling your efforts, there is no end to what you CAN'T do

View thedude50's profile

thedude50

3514 posts in 1115 days


#13 posted 04-30-2012 11:33 PM

for the record Lee valley blades are made currently at veritas in Canada, and they are good blades. They just aren’t as good as this set. But if you want thinner cheaper blades IBc Makes thinner blades that work with your stock chip breaker as well. They are much less money and are very good quality but not a thick and not a better chip breaker like the Rob Cosman set.

-- when I am not on Lumberjocks I am on @ http://thisoldworkshop.com where we allow free speech

View Jorge G.'s profile

Jorge G.

1526 posts in 1113 days


#14 posted 04-30-2012 11:37 PM

Do you have an affiliation with Cosman? Seems you promote him a lot.

-- To surrender a dream leaves life as it is — and not as it could be.

View thedude50's profile

thedude50

3514 posts in 1115 days


#15 posted 05-01-2012 12:04 AM

I am not paid by him and these blades are from IBC. He designed them and Yes I do Promote him. He rents banner adds on our site and that is because we sought him out because we liked his teachings and his products. Have you watched his work Or are you on a mission to be a dick today?

-- when I am not on Lumberjocks I am on @ http://thisoldworkshop.com where we allow free speech

showing 1 through 15 of 55 comments

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase