LumberJocks

Hand tool .Don't know what it is.

  • Advertise with us
Review by woodcrafter47 posted 04-10-2012 10:54 PM 3321 views 0 times favorited 16 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Hand tool .Don't know what it is. Hand tool .Don't know what it is. Hand tool .Don't know what it is. Click the pictures to enlarge them

This hand tool in first pic it is opened up ,2nd has patened date, shows 2 metal triangle screwed into handle. Wear edges in wood on the top of triangle , 3 rd is it folded up part way and shows how someone has added 3 nails to make another triangle. Held together with metal and old square head nuts and bolts.
Purchased it at a yard sale, and those people did not know what it is, or what it’s used for, So all you LJ”s out there who may have seen one or have used one please ID for me.
Thanks in advance for all you guesses or positive ID.

-- In His service ,Richard




View woodcrafter47's profile

woodcrafter47

349 posts in 1790 days



16 comments so far

View ptweedy's profile

ptweedy

75 posts in 2078 days


#1 posted 04-10-2012 11:26 PM

It looks to me like a rope or lite chain tensioner.. Same idea as a trucker uses to tighten chains on his load. phil

View Brandon's profile

Brandon

4139 posts in 1636 days


#2 posted 04-10-2012 11:29 PM

Just curious why you gave it a five-star review when you don’t even know what it’s supposed to do. It must be uber-good! Seriously, I have no idea what it is either, but perhaps this is better suited as a forum topic, you’ll probably get more people to respond to it that way.

-- "hold fast to that which is good"

View woodcrafter47's profile

woodcrafter47

349 posts in 1790 days


#3 posted 04-10-2012 11:39 PM

Can not add pictures from camera on forum topics . 5 stars to any one who can ID it.If you can move it there with pics that would be great.

-- In His service ,Richard

View dhazelton's profile

dhazelton

1212 posts in 981 days


#4 posted 04-11-2012 12:03 AM

ptweedy might be close, but it would be more of a fencing wire stretcher. I think you need to search google patents for that date.

View Brian Strothcamp's profile

Brian Strothcamp

111 posts in 1378 days


#5 posted 04-11-2012 01:14 AM

I believe it is for barbed wire… interesting though that barbed wire as we know it was invented in 1873 or 1874… however the original barbed wire was patented in 1867 (same year as your tool) how ironic is that…

link to 1867 wire:
http://www.wired.com/science/discoveries/news/2008/06/dayintech_0625

View Brian Strothcamp's profile

Brian Strothcamp

111 posts in 1378 days


#6 posted 04-11-2012 01:19 AM

I would email a pic to these guys…

Kansas Barbed Wire Museum
202 West First
Lacrosse, Kansas 67548
(785) 222-2413

http://www.kansastravel.org/kansasbarbedwiremuseum.htm

View C_PLUS_Woodworker's profile

C_PLUS_Woodworker

487 posts in 1592 days


#7 posted 04-11-2012 03:26 AM

My grandfather had something like this for stretching wire, but his was set up to be either/or dallied and pulled from a saddle or set up for traces.

-- We must all walk our own green mile

View Manitario's profile

Manitario

2361 posts in 1568 days


#8 posted 04-11-2012 04:34 AM

I’m not sure what the tool is, but I’m curious why you decided to give it a 5 star review?

-- Sometimes the creative process requires foul language. -- Charles Neil

View dustyal's profile

dustyal

1202 posts in 2160 days


#9 posted 04-11-2012 01:16 PM

Send it to Woodworker’s Journal magazine, “Stumpers” Department. The magazine has this feature issue… strange tools for identification. Email them at:

stumpers@woodworkersjournal.com and put Stumpers Tool in the subject line.

-- Al H. - small shop, small projects...

View woodcrafter47's profile

woodcrafter47

349 posts in 1790 days


#10 posted 04-11-2012 01:22 PM

Brian ,thanks for info .I did send it to them just now.
Dusty, Thanks, will contact them.
Manitario the five stars was what was there when I sent it out .Did not realize it at that rate,
Sorry to have confused you on this. !

-- In His service ,Richard

View Dennisgrosen's profile

Dennisgrosen

10850 posts in 1800 days


#11 posted 04-11-2012 08:49 PM

its a 3V pingvin-plough when they make slush-ice…. :-)))

lookforward to hear the correct answer

Dennis

View oxyoke's profile

oxyoke

57 posts in 1039 days


#12 posted 04-14-2012 12:24 AM

Board stretcher, Comes in handy when your measuring device malfunctions.

-- Bill Byron Center MI

View Brian Strothcamp's profile

Brian Strothcamp

111 posts in 1378 days


#13 posted 04-24-2012 12:59 AM

no news on this?

View woodcrafter47's profile

woodcrafter47

349 posts in 1790 days


#14 posted 05-08-2012 09:58 PM

Our local Antique Farm Museum says it a ;;;;; buggy jack. Has been donated to them

-- In His service ,Richard

View Dennisgrosen's profile

Dennisgrosen

10850 posts in 1800 days


#15 posted 05-08-2012 11:41 PM

thanks for the update woodcrafter :-)

Dennis

showing 1 through 15 of 16 comments

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase