LumberJocks

Great starter value

  • Advertise with us
Review by BerBer5985 posted 03-23-2012 03:43 AM 7079 views 0 times favorited 16 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Great starter value No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I bought this to try when I first started out in hand tools as my first hand plane, basically because it was $12. I figured if it was horrible for $12, it would make a great paper weight. My expectations were not high. Let me be clear from the get go, this is not a LN or LV plane. It may compare with an older stanley, on stanleys worst day of milling, but not horrible for $12. Also, please keep in mind that this review is strictly based off the fact that for $12 and a little time, you can get decent performance for the occassional hobbyist.

Ok, first I flattened the bottom which was pretty square from the getgo. Did not need a lot of lapping to get flat. It’s roughly the size of a #3 hand plane, almost like a large block plane with a handle. Tonight I sharpened the blade and flattened the back which also was surprisingly flat from the mill. Just a note that this plane is made in india, and not china. The first obvious difference between this and stanley, lee valley, etc is the blade adjustment. It does not have a chipbreaker, but only a cap which tightens with a knurled screw. The blade is a dual adjustment very similar to a spokeshave. Its almost a hybrid between a plane and a spokeshave. After sharpening and getting it adjusted, I was pleasantly surprised by the results for $12 and about an hour of time. It’s no Bedrock, but what do you want for $12?? Here ya go:

-- Greg, Owner, Quality Carpet One, www.qualitycarpetonecrofton.com




View BerBer5985's profile

BerBer5985

433 posts in 1116 days



16 comments so far

View newplane's profile

newplane

159 posts in 2773 days


#1 posted 03-23-2012 06:51 AM

Yup I have the same one…I have the run of planes LV, LN, BR, Stan, Record etc etc. In my years of woodworking I have realized that it doesn’t really matter what plane you have or use. Of course any plane needs to be tuned up to work, and the higher ends come “Pre-Tuned” with better materials at times. But the majority of planes no matter the manufacture can be used efficiently if you know the mechanics behind it.

-- Dont just dream it, get up and live it!

View AJswoodshop's profile

AJswoodshop

1057 posts in 972 days


#2 posted 03-23-2012 01:37 PM

Wow I have that one too nice review

-- If I can do it.....so can you! -AJswoodshop

View BinghamtonEd's profile

BinghamtonEd

1451 posts in 1065 days


#3 posted 03-23-2012 01:59 PM

I have an old Stanley block I inherited from my grandfather, but no other planes. I have wanted some for a while, but didn’t have the cash due to a baby on the way. I scoffed at the HF ones (amusingly, while I was in there to buy their F-style bar clamps) as most likely being a major letdown. At this price I will have to go pick one up as a starter.

Thanks!

P.S. Just looked, it is on their website for 9.99, if they have it in store, I’ll bring my 20% coupon!

-- - The mightiest oak in the forest is just a little nut that held its ground.

View gavinzagreb's profile

gavinzagreb

210 posts in 1015 days


#4 posted 03-23-2012 02:03 PM

I have the original of that design, made in Germany.
I just blogged about it and mentioned harbour freight have the same design. Actually there are small differences.
Check it out.

View StumpyNubs's profile

StumpyNubs

6249 posts in 1496 days


#5 posted 03-23-2012 04:43 PM

I did a blog about this plane a while ago. Since then I have noticed that the new Stanleys sold at the big box stores have that dual adjustment like a spokeshave. I really like it.

The plane itself is great. It has a wide mouth, so it’s not perfect for a smoother. But it will work, as the photos show. How long the blade stays sharp will be key. I am not sure if they used high quality steel.

I plan on grinding a big radius on my blade, opening the mouth even more, and using it as a scrub plane. I think it may just be perfect for stock prep!

-Jim; aka “Stumpy Nubs”
Watch Blue Collar Woodworking ...the greatest woodworking show since the invention of wood- new episodes most Sundays!

-- It's the best woodworking show since the invention of wood... New episodes at: http://www.stumpynubs.com

View BerBer5985's profile

BerBer5985

433 posts in 1116 days


#6 posted 03-23-2012 06:59 PM

It’s completely worth it for $12 in my opinion. StumpyNubs, I thought the same thing last night as I was fiddling with it. I thought the size of it would make an ideal scrub plane. I have an old stanley #5 with a chip out of the side that I regrinded the convex bevel on and it would decent, but it’s very heavy. So with Lee Valley doing their free shipping thing, I took the plunge and bought myself a scrub.

-- Greg, Owner, Quality Carpet One, www.qualitycarpetonecrofton.com

View StumpyNubs's profile

StumpyNubs

6249 posts in 1496 days


#7 posted 03-23-2012 10:38 PM

Yah, a #5 is too big to be a scrub plane. And even though you can use a small one like a #3, or this one from HF, a real scrub plane is a different animal. No chip breaker and a thicker blade for starters…

-- It's the best woodworking show since the invention of wood... New episodes at: http://www.stumpynubs.com

View NormG's profile (online now)

NormG

4263 posts in 1699 days


#8 posted 03-24-2012 01:50 PM

Great tool purchase, with a little time to tune up, it serves your purpose

-- Norman

View Dwain's profile

Dwain

323 posts in 2554 days


#9 posted 03-25-2012 05:34 PM

AS with all things Harbor Freight, wait for a month, and it will go on sale. Keep your handy 20% off coupon and boom! You have an $8.00 plane rather than a $12 dollar one. I have one and think it is a great deal. I was really suprised at the quality of the knob and tote. I also remember a contributor at Woodnet who was considering making higher quality blades for this specific plane. It’s an HF Gem.

-- When you earnestly believe you can compensate for a lack of skill by doubling your efforts, there is no end to what you CAN'T do

View Viking's profile

Viking

857 posts in 1891 days


#10 posted 03-26-2012 12:46 AM

Dwain;

I was at HF a couple of weeks ago and had a few 20% coupons in my pocket and used one to buy this 33 plane out of curiosity. I have not had time to flatten the sole or sharpen the iron but out of the box it cuts pretty well. I really like the adjustments.

-- Rick Gustafson - Lost Creek Ranch - Colorado County, Texas

View jerryo's profile

jerryo

131 posts in 1659 days


#11 posted 03-27-2012 05:03 AM

I have this plane also and like it. Use it alot. Can’t go wrong for 12 bucks.

View Ben's profile

Ben

302 posts in 1026 days


#12 posted 03-27-2012 05:22 AM

I was in HF last week looking at this. I almost bought it, but being I was shopping with a budget, I put it down and went for more immediate needs on my list. I’m pretty sure it will be on my list next trip. It was priced at 9.99 when I was there, but even at twelve it’s worth picking up. At that price, even if it ends up ornamental it isn’t much of a loss

-- Welcome to downtown Coolsville, Population: US! --Hogarth Hughes

View John's profile

John

341 posts in 2493 days


#13 posted 03-28-2012 12:54 PM

picked one up Sunday for $8 after 20% off $9.99 – it just looks too cool not to get it – the fit and finish is much more than I expected and much better than any Groz plane I’ve touched. There’s probably no way to get a replacement iron as it looks quite specialized, but for less than 2 cups of starbucks Joe, it’s practically disposable. The tote is smallish and more of a 2.5 finger grip than 3 in my meathooks.

-- John - Central PA - http://affyx.wordpress.com

View StumpyNubs's profile

StumpyNubs

6249 posts in 1496 days


#14 posted 03-31-2012 03:19 PM

I just modified mine into a scrub plane. I love it already. The process will be on the next episode of Blue Collar Woodworking.

-- It's the best woodworking show since the invention of wood... New episodes at: http://www.stumpynubs.com

View Ben's profile

Ben

302 posts in 1026 days


#15 posted 03-31-2012 03:35 PM

I bought one yesterday. I need to sharpen the blade, but out of the box it did ok when i tried it on some scrap pine. (I had to play with it at least a little bit) Seems like it will be a decent little plane once I take time to sharpen and tweek it a little bit.

-- Welcome to downtown Coolsville, Population: US! --Hogarth Hughes

showing 1 through 15 of 16 comments

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase