LumberJocks

18 inch monster.

  • Advertise with us
Review by Ken90712 posted 01-30-2012 01:24 AM 5974 views 1 time favorited 35 comments Add to Favorites Watch
18 inch monster. 18 inch monster. 18 inch monster. Click the pictures to enlarge them

Well Dec was a good month; Blondie gave the approval for me to buy more machines… LOL… I picked up the Delta 18/36 Drum Sander & now this Delta 18 drill press.

The box was in great condition, and they brought it into the garage for me. . I also ordered the Biesemeyer fence for her as well.

Blondie and I had it together in less than an hour. The only hard part was lifting the head on to the shaft. Once she told me to quit being a whip and lift it, we got it on the 2nd time… LOL I’m so glad she is a strong German Farm Girl and not just a pretty face :>)’

I have now used this machine for over 3 weeks, man what a great machine. Why someone did not think of the belt tension speed adjustment before this, is beyond me. Changing speeds is a dream! It was this one, or the 18 inch Powermatic. Some reviews I read, there were complaints on the speed adjustment’s with PM so I went with Delta and its American made. Ohh and it looks good next to the drum sander.. LOL

Anyone thinking of this machine you will not be disappointed!

-- Ken, "Everyday above ground is a good day!"




View Ken90712's profile

Ken90712

15337 posts in 1943 days



35 comments so far

View degoose's profile

degoose

7052 posts in 2109 days


#1 posted 01-30-2012 01:30 AM

NOICE

-- Drink twice... and don't bother to cut... @ lazylarrywoodworks.com.au For lovers of all things timber...

View a1Jim's profile

a1Jim

112943 posts in 2332 days


#2 posted 01-30-2012 01:33 AM

Wow that’s a beauty.

-- http://artisticwoodstudio.com Custom furniture

View Joe Lyddon's profile

Joe Lyddon

7952 posts in 2807 days


#3 posted 01-30-2012 01:44 AM

That is once NICE drill press!

Should last a lifetime!

Nice going.

-- Have Fun! Joe Lyddon - Alta Loma, CA USA - Home: http://www.WoodworkStuff.net ... My Small Gallery: http://www.ncwoodworker.net/pp/showgallery.php?ppuser=1389&cat=500"

View DonH's profile

DonH

494 posts in 1572 days


#4 posted 01-30-2012 02:28 AM

Hi Ken

Great choice – I have had one of these machines for over a year and I am sure you will not be disapointed.

Great buy!!

Don

-- DonH Orleans Ontario

View jim C's profile

jim C

1455 posts in 1853 days


#5 posted 01-30-2012 02:30 AM

Can I see more of Blondie?
And oh ya, the new machine!

LOL

-- When I was a boy, I was told "anyone can be President", now I'm beginning to believe it!

View ChuckV's profile

ChuckV

2489 posts in 2282 days


#6 posted 01-30-2012 02:32 AM

Very nice – I am sure that you will be happy for the rest of your life.

Oh, that looks like a great drill press you have there too.

-- “While the world with closed eyes sleeps, The sky knows and weeps - steel rain. ” ― Nathan Bell

View lew's profile

lew

10168 posts in 2510 days


#7 posted 01-30-2012 02:38 AM

Wow, Ken! It almost touches the ceiling. I foresee a bigger shop on the horizon!

Lew

-- Lew- Time traveler. Purveyor of the Universe's finest custom rolling pins.

View JL7's profile

JL7

7496 posts in 1720 days


#8 posted 01-30-2012 02:41 AM

Ken – nice score! Good for you!

Jeff

-- Jeff - I have not failed. I've just found 10,002 ways that won't work.

View Hoakie's profile

Hoakie

306 posts in 2790 days


#9 posted 01-30-2012 02:46 AM

Ken if you purchased it this month you can get $100 rebate

-- John H. [To invent, you need a good imagination and a pile of junk. ~Edison]

View Roger's profile

Roger

15371 posts in 1559 days


#10 posted 01-30-2012 02:50 AM

thats a fine fine lookin drill press

-- Roger from KY. Work/Play/Travel Safe. Kentuk55@bellsouth.net

View Woodmaster1's profile

Woodmaster1

541 posts in 1342 days


#11 posted 01-30-2012 02:57 AM

I bought one in oct. and I love it.

View Lee A. Jesberger's profile

Lee A. Jesberger

6704 posts in 2734 days


#12 posted 01-30-2012 03:29 AM

That’s the way to do it!

Nice machine.

Lee

-- by Lee A. Jesberger http://www.prowoodworkingtips.com http://www.ezee-feed.com

View SPalm's profile

SPalm

4941 posts in 2637 days


#13 posted 01-30-2012 03:59 AM

Sweet.
You deserve it Man.

Steve

-- -- I'm no rocket surgeon

View Dusty56's profile

Dusty56

11688 posts in 2443 days


#14 posted 01-30-2012 05:41 AM

I’m happy for your new tool collection , Ken, but where’s the review that makes it a 5 star tool , other than the belt tensioning device ?
At least give us a link so we can read the spec’s and see what others are saying about it.
Thanks : )

-- I'm absolutely positive that I couldn't be more uncertain!

View Hoakie's profile

Hoakie

306 posts in 2790 days


#15 posted 01-30-2012 06:11 AM

Dusty,

The best review I found was here

http://www.workshopaholic.net/reviews/delta18-900L.html

there is an embedded video but hard to spot at first, the link to youtube is here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yWE6xDUer-w&feature=playerembedded

-- John H. [To invent, you need a good imagination and a pile of junk. ~Edison]

showing 1 through 15 of 35 comments

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase