LumberJocks

Great scraper burnisher

  • Advertise with us
Review by Tennwood posted 01-19-2012 12:43 AM 3728 views 3 times favorited 12 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Great scraper burnisher No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I had a Woodcraft coupon about to expire and no other great needs at the time, so I bought the Veritas Variable Burnisher on a whim. (Actually what I went in for they didn’t have in stock that day). I normally sharpen my scrapers using a wet stone and round burnisher getting ok results. I can always get shavings, but not like they should be. Retail cost of the Veritas is $32.50, but with my coupon, I figured I couldn’t loose too much. It turned out to be a great deal.

The instructions are simple and straight forward. Ten minutes from opening the box, reading the instructions and putting an edge on the scraper, I was making great shavings. Now it should take less than a minute to set it up and put the edge on. It was easy to use and took one tenth the effort I usually put in using the wet stones and round burnisher. The burnisher also allows you to vary the angle of the hook on the scraper from 0 to 15 degrees, taking the guess work out of it. The hook(s) can be made on any and all of the edges. It should work with most round edge scraper too. Also included is a 2-1/2 inch by 6 inch scraper.

-- Jim, SE Tennessee, "Don't spare the kindling Dear, we have plenty"




View Tennwood's profile

Tennwood

103 posts in 1877 days



12 comments so far

View Dusty56's profile

Dusty56

11665 posts in 2384 days


#1 posted 01-19-2012 01:14 AM

Thanks for posting this . I didn’t know that it existed until now : )

-- I'm absolutely positive that I couldn't be more uncertain!

View Jimi_C's profile

Jimi_C

507 posts in 1931 days


#2 posted 01-19-2012 02:22 AM

I almost pulled the trigger on this, but it felt like cheating. It was also hard to find any reviews online that said whether or not it worked well. Thanks for the review.

-- The difference between being defeated and admitting defeat is what makes all the difference in the world - Upton Sinclair, "The Jungle"

View Manitario's profile

Manitario

2364 posts in 1579 days


#3 posted 01-19-2012 05:08 AM

Awesome; I just ordered one of these yesterday; good to know that it was worth the money!

-- Sometimes the creative process requires foul language. -- Charles Neil

View a1Jim's profile (online now)

a1Jim

112365 posts in 2273 days


#4 posted 01-19-2012 05:15 AM

Good review thanks for sharing.

-- http://artisticwoodstudio.com Custom furniture

View Brandon's profile

Brandon

4144 posts in 1647 days


#5 posted 01-19-2012 06:00 AM

I’ll have to look into one of these! I don’t mind cheating. How does it work? Magic? Great review, by the way.

-- "hold fast to that which is good"

View live4ever's profile

live4ever

983 posts in 1706 days


#6 posted 01-19-2012 09:10 AM

Sharpening plane irons? Check. Chisels? Check. But when it comes to scrapers, I just can’t do it well for some reason. After watching every video out there on scraper sharpening, I had all but given up, but maybe this little guy is the ticket. And Lee Valley/Veritas takes more of my money…

Thanks for posting!

-- Optimists are usually disappointed. Pessimists are either right or pleasantly surprised. I tend to be a disappointed pessimist.

View ellen35's profile

ellen35

2577 posts in 2128 days


#7 posted 01-19-2012 01:39 PM

I bought one at the Woodworking Show… I am waiting for it to arrive.
Thanks for the review. I feel better about spending all that $$ now!

-- "Don't let the perfect be the enemy of the good." Voltaire

View bluejazz's profile

bluejazz

53 posts in 1483 days


#8 posted 01-19-2012 03:02 PM

+1 on the review. I heard a lot of bad reviews of this item, but bought it anyway. I’m not sure I can tell a big difference when I change the angle, but it does seem to do a fine job of placing the hook.

-- I'm 56. In my mind, I still feel 26. Until I do something physical; then I feel 76.

View StumpyNubs's profile

StumpyNubs

6249 posts in 1496 days


#9 posted 01-19-2012 04:57 PM

I’ve been thinking of getting one of these… Thanks for posting!

-Jim; aka “Stumpy Nubs”
(The greatest woodworking show since the invention of wood- check it out!)

-- It's the best woodworking show since the invention of wood... New episodes at: http://www.stumpynubs.com

View gko's profile

gko

80 posts in 1940 days


#10 posted 01-24-2012 01:29 PM

Great review. One question – you have to start with a flat square edge that’s normally done with a file and then a stone(s). Does it do that step for you or do you still have to go through that? After squaring I can burnish it for a while but eventually it needs to be squared again. Still looking to getting it because sometimes I get a nice burr and sometimes not. Would be nice to get a consistent burr.

-- Wood Menehune, Honolulu

View Jonathan's profile

Jonathan

2605 posts in 1746 days


#11 posted 01-26-2012 04:18 AM

Thanks for this informative review. Seems to take the inconsistencies and guesswork out of burnishing the scraper edge at various angles.

-- Jonathan, Denver, CO "Constructive criticism is welcome and valued as it gives me new perspectives and helps me to advance as a woodworker."

View Tennwood's profile

Tennwood

103 posts in 1877 days


#12 posted 01-27-2012 11:51 PM

GKO

The instructions say to reset the burnisher to 0, take a couple of passes and then set the hook angle and burnish. It also says that when the edge gets worn to file the edge smooth and square. The easiest way I have found to do this is using a wet stone, but I would think a sharpening stone would also work. I know with all scrapers, they have to be filed down occasionally to get to new metal and then squared and burnished.
Hope this helps.

-- Jim, SE Tennessee, "Don't spare the kindling Dear, we have plenty"

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase