LumberJocks

Makita Band Saw LF1200

  • Advertise with us
Review by lcwood posted 01-01-2012 01:37 PM 9063 views 0 times favorited 8 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Makita Band Saw LF1200 No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Specification (cut & paste from internet)
Cutting speed: L:6.7m/sec H: 13.3m/sec
Cutting capacities: Height: 165mm, Width: 305mm
Blade size: 2240mm / 6, 13 and 16mm
Speed control: 2 speeds >>>>>>>>>>>>>>> manual change
Net weight: 81.2kg inc stand
Table tilt range: 2º- to 45º+
Table size: 560×400mm
Table height: 1m
Wattage: 900w

Includes
Wheeled Leg-Stand >>>>>>>>>>>>>>> usefull
Rip Fence >>>>>>>>>>>>>>> plastic + not a precision one
Push Stick >>>>>>>>>>>>>>> don´t have a neodimiun magnet, so, I add my own
Hex Wrench >>>>>>>>>>>>>>> 3 of
3 x Blades >>>>>>>>>>>>>>> supposed to have 3, mine come with 4

pros
nice new tool to my woodwork garage
include 4 band saw blades in the box
some leds to help the cut – not a lot of light, but they are there – and deserve some upgrade
useful wheels in the base – to move around
low noise induction motor
cast iron table

cons
plastic included and I hate it
pricey in brazil, but this is normal – here it´s the land of monster tax from govern and greed from manufacturers
maybe more than 2 hours to assembly – lots of screws in the base
maybe hard to find blades
manual is a total junk – have translation errors and explain nothing about how to fine tune and how to use the tool




View lcwood's profile

lcwood

59 posts in 1429 days



8 comments so far

View Tedstor's profile

Tedstor

1369 posts in 1298 days


#1 posted 01-01-2012 02:50 PM

Looks like a nice saw. I have a few or Makita’s smaller tools and love every one of them. They can be expensive, but Makita tools are among they finest available in my opinion.

View Dusty56's profile

Dusty56

11660 posts in 2353 days


#2 posted 01-02-2012 03:56 AM

First Makita band saw I’ve ever seen !
Are you saying that you bought the tool without knowing if blades were available in your area ?
Thanks for the review.

-- I'm absolutely positive that I couldn't be more uncertain!

View lcwood's profile

lcwood

59 posts in 1429 days


#3 posted 01-02-2012 11:07 AM

blades for 12” are available here, but not so easy to find and not too many choices
blades for 14” or 16” models are more common

View Dusty56's profile

Dusty56

11660 posts in 2353 days


#4 posted 01-02-2012 05:31 PM

Thanks….you mentioned that it came with four blades. Did they give you an assortment or all the same type ?

-- I'm absolutely positive that I couldn't be more uncertain!

View lcwood's profile

lcwood

59 posts in 1429 days


#5 posted 01-04-2012 10:13 AM

assortment

View Brian Scott's profile

Brian Scott

7 posts in 931 days


#6 posted 03-13-2012 06:17 AM

There is an online company that supplies band saw blades which weld to your need.

-- No one is old enough to learn new things.

View Mark Gipson's profile

Mark Gipson

172 posts in 2045 days


#7 posted 03-20-2012 12:19 PM

Please keep us updated with how this saw is working for you. It’s one of the few bandsaws available in Thailand, the other being ‘Big Wood’ brand. At least I have heard of Makita even if their larger tools are not the best. Have you tried any resawing with this?

View lab7654's profile

lab7654

252 posts in 912 days


#8 posted 04-01-2012 06:35 AM

How much does one of these run for?

-- Tristin King -- When in doubt, sand it.

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase