LumberJocks

Magical little tool

  • Advertise with us
Review by slickSqueegie posted 12-26-2011 07:14 AM 3490 views 0 times favorited 12 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Magical little tool Magical little tool Magical little tool Click the pictures to enlarge them

On the plastic tube it came in it says ””If you’re not 100% satisfied, Ill buy it back.” Craig Jackson, Founder”
Thanks, but nope, Im keeping mine!
My wife bought this as a Christmas present for me. This is a tool I have heard great things about, but just couldn’t justify the high cost for such a simple little tool.
I am amazed at how well this thing cuts. And the cost is 100% justified!
Simply amazed!
10 Stars!

For those who do not know what this gem is, Its for wood turning. Making bowls, spindles, pens etc…. Its a roughing tool for use on a lathe. To remove bulk wood quickly and cleanly to get “close” to finish dimension.

-- Come check out more of my projects at http://www.mdwoodart.com




View slickSqueegie's profile

slickSqueegie

94 posts in 1169 days



12 comments so far

View a1Jim's profile

a1Jim

112860 posts in 2324 days


#1 posted 12-26-2011 07:21 AM

thanks for the review. It would be helpful to know what kind of cut’s it makes and the cost.

-- http://artisticwoodstudio.com Custom furniture

View slickSqueegie's profile

slickSqueegie

94 posts in 1169 days


#2 posted 12-26-2011 07:27 AM

Sorry, You’re right. I’m not writer.
This is the Mini Rougher. Its list price is 90 bucks. She bought it at Woodcraft.

-- Come check out more of my projects at http://www.mdwoodart.com

View a1Jim's profile

a1Jim

112860 posts in 2324 days


#3 posted 12-26-2011 07:35 AM

Thanks but what does a rougher do? I’ve seen and own a lot of tools but a rougher is a new one on me.

-- http://artisticwoodstudio.com Custom furniture

View slickSqueegie's profile

slickSqueegie

94 posts in 1169 days


#4 posted 12-26-2011 07:38 AM

Its for wood turning. Making bowls, spindles, pens etc…. Its a roughing tool for use on a lathe. to remove bulk wood quickly and cleanly to get “close” to finish dimension.

-- Come check out more of my projects at http://www.mdwoodart.com

View a1Jim's profile

a1Jim

112860 posts in 2324 days


#5 posted 12-26-2011 07:55 AM

Thanks again I turn but only parts for furniture that’s why I couldn’t get what a rougher was.

-- http://artisticwoodstudio.com Custom furniture

View BernieMay's profile

BernieMay

24 posts in 1784 days


#6 posted 12-26-2011 05:19 PM

Easy Wood Tools are a series of turning tools with carbide tips that can be rotated to get a new edge. No sharpening is required. they are fantastic. I use them almost exclusively over all of the other name brand turning tools I have acquired. Try one and you will buy others in the series.
-bernie

View woodtickgreg's profile

woodtickgreg

208 posts in 1865 days


#7 posted 12-26-2011 05:36 PM

I tried the full size easy rougher and I was sold at first cut! the amount of material these things remove is just outstanding. you do not have to find a bevel edge like other tools, you just hold it flat on the tool rest and paralel with the floor and cut, straight in or side to side. face shield is a must as massive amounts of chips will be a flyin! I am now going to try my hand at making some of my own carbide insert tools, just cuz I like making stuff!

-- wood tick tools for turners by woodtickgreg @ woodbarter.com

View ed220's profile

ed220

619 posts in 2140 days


#8 posted 12-26-2011 06:13 PM

I have one also and it’s as awesome as Slick says. Right on assessment.

View Bertha's profile

Bertha

12951 posts in 1440 days


#9 posted 12-26-2011 06:30 PM

$90 for a carbide cutter doesn’t sound all that bad. Sounds like the owner stands behind his stuff. I might have to pick one of these little guys up. Do they offer cutters beside square? I’m off googling; thanks!

-- My dad and I built a 65 chev pick up.I killed trannys in that thing for some reason-Hog

View slickSqueegie's profile

slickSqueegie

94 posts in 1169 days


#10 posted 12-26-2011 07:57 PM

Bertha, They do offer an assortment of these carbide cutters.
Easy Wood Tools Website

-- Come check out more of my projects at http://www.mdwoodart.com

View marcbousquet's profile

marcbousquet

17 posts in 1162 days


#11 posted 12-29-2011 12:16 AM

I have both regular turning tools and an easy rougher I use. I find the easy rougher is great when I’m doing acrylic pens and for roughing spindles out but when I’m doing wooden pens I find my gouge and skew work quicker and give me a better finish but that’s just my opinion. I think the easy tool is nice for those who cannot afford to buy a grinder or who don’t want to, also it is nice for those who have never turned before. It is alot less of a learning curve that riding bevels and such for those who have never worked with a lathe before.

View beamrider's profile

beamrider

18 posts in 1737 days


#12 posted 12-29-2011 10:16 PM

These are neat tools, but far overpriced IMHO. Check out http://www.eddiecastelin.com/products_and_services for some examples of “homemade” ones, or you can just make one yourself for a fraction of the cost. Hope I’m not offending anyone here with this, and if that link is against the rules, I apologize in advance.

P.S. I am in no way affiliated with the owner of the above mentioned website, just a sassified customer.

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase