LumberJocks

Craftsman Planer...not as good as I hoped.

  • Advertise with us
Review by RibsBrisket4me posted 12-16-2011 03:42 AM 6341 views 0 times favorited 25 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Craftsman Planer...not as good as I hoped. No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Well, I guess I got what I paid for. FYI, this is the 3rd planer I have owned over the past 15 years. The first was the best, the venerable Dewalt 733. I should have kept that tool forever. Bought on sale for $299 in the 1990’s, it was a workhorse and I had it tuned to miminal to no snipe. But when 3 knife planers came out, I sold it and “upgraded” to a RECONDITIONED Ridgid 3 knife. It was “okay” but the cutter head elevation crank was a bit tight. Planed pretty well but with more snipe than I like. It was a servicable unit but the Ridgid burned up after only 14 months (no warranty on the recon unit) and so I then had to buy a new planer.

I had sticker shock when looking at the price of palners today, so thought the Craftsman 21758 could do the job at a good price. I do not car about bells and whistles, just planeing a board. I got it on sale for $259, so I was happy with the price, but I am not happy with the quality. Please understand I am NOT a Craftsman basher, but actually a huge Craftsman fan. So writing this review is painful for me, but I feel you all need to know about this planer.

The skinny />No cutter head lock, I knew this going in but being experienced in planer set up, I thought I could adjust the tables to minimize snipe, but I was dead wrong. This tool snipes to badly I have to cut off the ends of the boards. I have tried all the “tricks” to help this. Board support, super minimal cutting passes, all kinds of different table adjustments, etc…all to no avail

Lousy, uneven roller feeding. Running single boards, it feeds fine. Putting in cutting boards or panels wider than 6 inches and it “skips” and give me snipe divots at random areas of the panel. I have waxed my tables and cleaned my rollers with NO improvement.

The knives got a nick in them with the second board I planed, which was a pristine 1×4 inch piece of soft pine.

I like the cutterhead elevation crank being on the top of the planer, but the UP/DOWN is the exact opposite rotation of the Dewalt 733, so I keep spinning it the wrong way. HAHA

Dust collection is decent.

Sound is quieter than the Dewalt/Ridgid, but those had 15amp motors, and the Craftsman only has a 12A.

All in all I am dissapointed. I did not want to pay 4-500 dollars for a planer, so I got exactly what I paid for.

-- http://www.PictureTrail.com/gid6255915




View RibsBrisket4me's profile

RibsBrisket4me

1414 posts in 1251 days



25 comments so far

View RibsBrisket4me's profile

RibsBrisket4me

1414 posts in 1251 days


#1 posted 12-16-2011 03:46 AM

Clarification….the Recon Ridgid had a 30 day warranty, it was obvioulsy expired when it burned up.

-- http://www.PictureTrail.com/gid6255915

View KTMM (Krunkthemadman)'s profile

KTMM (Krunkthemadman)

973 posts in 1939 days


#2 posted 12-16-2011 08:32 AM

Thanks for reminding me why I sold the same piece of crap….

-- Practice does not make perfect. Only perfect practice makes perfect. Vince Lombardi

View Sheila Landry (scrollgirl)'s profile

Sheila Landry (scrollgirl)

7889 posts in 1666 days


#3 posted 12-16-2011 11:50 AM

I was just talking about the same thing regarding buying scroll saws last week – getting what you pay for. It is sad that things are made with such poor quality. Sometimes spending less costs you so much more in time and aggravation (most of the time that is the case!) Thanks for sharing your review. I am sure it will make lots of people think a little bit harder when purchasing something like this.

Sheila

-- Designer/Artist/Teacher. Owner of Sheila Landry Designs (http://www.sheilalandrydesigns.com) Scroll saw, wood working and painting patterns and surfaces. "Knowledge is Power"

View Craftsman on the lake's profile

Craftsman on the lake

2418 posts in 2183 days


#4 posted 12-16-2011 11:56 AM

I usually never type anything in a review unless it’s a ‘thanks for the review’ but in this case I’d say, You should have sprung for the Dewalt 734. $373 with free shipping at amazon as of this writing. It has all the things the craftsman is lacking and a proven track record. I love mine.

-- The smell of wood, coffee in the cup, the wife let's me do my thing, the lake is peaceful.

View zindel's profile

zindel

257 posts in 1396 days


#5 posted 12-16-2011 04:04 PM

The funny thing is there was a fine woodworking review of this exact planer and i think they matched it as overall best to the Dewalt 734 i think. I was pretty shocked about that one…this coming from someone who doesn’t like craftsmen…

-- If you can't fix it with a hammer, You've got an electrical problem.

View Rick  Dennington's profile

Rick Dennington

3594 posts in 1940 days


#6 posted 12-16-2011 05:16 PM

Todd,

Your review is just more “comformation” of why I haven’t bought anything by Craftsman since 1985, whenI got my table saw, RAS, and miter saw….all three are still going strong today, but that was then…this is now, and Craftsman is pure Chinese junk, and has been for years….That’s why I went with Delta products, and have never looked back…One example: I’ve got a Delta 12” planer that I bought new in 1987….not one minutes trouble, and it’s still going strong today as we speak…..I say sell the Crapsman, spend a little more $$$ for a good quality planer…you won’t regret it…...

-- " I started with nothing, and I've still got most of it left".......

View firehouse's profile

firehouse

45 posts in 1537 days


#7 posted 12-16-2011 08:02 PM

I HAVE THE SAME PLANER FOR 3 YEARS WITH NO PROBLEM SO FAR ,WITH THAT SAID I DON’T BY CRAFTSMAN TOOLS ANY MORE GUESS I GOT LUCKY. FIREHOUSE

-- duke 66 ocala fl.

View RibsBrisket4me's profile

RibsBrisket4me

1414 posts in 1251 days


#8 posted 12-17-2011 01:39 AM

I’m glad to read the comments about my review. I love my Craftsman 113.xxxx table saw, my Orion built Craftsman jointer and my Bosch Clone Craftsman router. This planer has been dissapointing for the few months I have used it, but I will continue to work with it some more before I give up. After all, I did get my Ridgid bandsaw working great after working with it for a while and we all know the Orange Bandsaw has some issues. :-)

I appreciate the comments from all. In retrospect I wish I had bought the DW 734, and if I can’t get this thing improved I will get that, or another Ridgid.

Cheers!

-- http://www.PictureTrail.com/gid6255915

View jim C's profile

jim C

1455 posts in 1844 days


#9 posted 12-17-2011 02:56 AM

Need we say more about Crapsman!
Only marginally better than Black & Decker….....Maybe a tie.
As I stated on another post, I wouldn’t buy a box of nails at Sears…......or anything else.

-- When I was a boy, I was told "anyone can be President", now I'm beginning to believe it!

View Everett1's profile

Everett1

208 posts in 1280 days


#10 posted 12-17-2011 03:36 AM

I stick to just handtools from craftsman and routers that they have in clearance for 40 bucks sometimes

-- Ev in Framingham, MA

View Craftsman on the lake's profile

Craftsman on the lake

2418 posts in 2183 days


#11 posted 12-17-2011 03:45 AM

On the other hand…. My craftsman 14” bandsaw, 48” belt sander, and 6” jointer, all circa 1976 are still humming along today and are my goto machines.

I cut a lot of metal for welding with 4” grinders. I burned a makita and a millwaukee out each in 1 year. I burned out three $10 ones from harbor freight each in 20 minutes.. no kidding. I bought a craftsman one with a 3 year warranty for an extra $7… thinking, “I’ll fix them, I’ll burn it out and get a new one. I’ll never buy a grinder again”. It’s been five years on the same one, a craftsman… go figure.

Then again I have a friend who has yet to get a straight cut on his 10” craftsman miter saw.

-- The smell of wood, coffee in the cup, the wife let's me do my thing, the lake is peaceful.

View Towtruck's profile

Towtruck

70 posts in 1355 days


#12 posted 12-17-2011 08:27 PM

I think it’s sad the direction Craftsman has gone. They used to be the poor mans cadillac of tools.

-- I cut it off 3 times and it's still too short!

View pintodeluxe's profile

pintodeluxe

3554 posts in 1559 days


#13 posted 12-18-2011 12:10 AM

I share your appreciation for Dewalt tools. I would recommend the Dewalt 735 because of its automatic cutterhead lock. It is so nice to not have to lock it down after every adjustment. With the optional table supports, it nearly eliminates all snipe. Finish quality is excellent.
This is a popular tool, so the used market is very good.

-- Willie, Washington "If You Choose Not To Decide, You Still Have Made a Choice" - Rush

View Bob Kollman's profile

Bob Kollman

1797 posts in 1937 days


#14 posted 12-18-2011 06:05 PM

I have the dewalt planner 733-734 something like that. I have had it 2 years no problems.
You can still take the craftsman back if your in your first 30 days. The dewalts are still
399.00. Think if the craftsman never breaks down you’ll be trowing away 6” of every board
you plane for the next 10 years, that’s a lot more than 150 bucks!!!!! Right now I am making
2 bookshelves, with the wood used if I had your planer I’d have to scrap 1/2 a board foot
of cherry every board at 4 dollars a BF. that’s 6 BF on this project alone.

Good luck Todd, I hope your under your 30 days and my argument compells you to buy
the de walt you liked so much in the past!!!! :)

-- Bob Kenosha Wi.

View TechRedneck's profile

TechRedneck

746 posts in 1603 days


#15 posted 12-18-2011 09:46 PM

I have this planer. Had it for a couple years. It has always sniped for me as well. I only use it for hogging off any more than 1/8 inch. I bought it for a number of reasons, price being one. The nice features are the top crank and the movable cutter head.

I have this on the side of my assembly table at a fixed position. I built a small cabinet for it with levelers so I could dial it in the out feed dead level with the table. I guess I could build a in feed extension but why? I am sure it will still snipe. This planer is fine for light duty and I was just using it today. Dust collection is good.

For the money I spent and the duty I ask of it it is fine for me. I am sure that most planers snipe a little. Instead of upgrading, I went and dropped the coin on a Jet 16/32 drum sander. I also picked up a larger used planer that I have on a mobile cart. That is the one used to plane rough lumber.

This is just a cheap rather under powered little planer. It does what I ask of it, but don’t expect to run the thing for hours on a hundred board feet or more.

-- Mike.... West Virginia. "Man is a tool using animal. Without tools he is nothing, with tools he is all.". T Carlyle

showing 1 through 15 of 25 comments

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase