LumberJocks

Ridgid EB4424 Oscillating Edge Belt / Spindle Sander

  • Advertise with us
Review by David Grimes posted 12-15-2011 02:21 PM 5070 views 0 times favorited 16 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Ridgid EB4424 Oscillating Edge Belt / Spindle Sander Ridgid EB4424 Oscillating Edge Belt / Spindle Sander No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

These have been reviewed a bit by others, but I just want to add a resounding “This is a great tool” to the heap.

Lumberjock YBNORMAL lives in the same town as I do, so when he told me his was great and gets lots of use I had to take the plunge. I found it still priced at $199 at the BORG.

I snagged a Husky support table at the same time ($35) so that I could mount this sander to it and have it a floor model from day one. Very sturdy when joined and perfect height for me.

I’ve already sanded the neck and body of the next guitar I have started making. Very fast and accurate. Dust collection is better than I expected, too.

I like how the front tilts down for bevel sanding. I will use this feature very soon to put comfort bevels on this same guitar body.

I have only had this a couple of weeks, but it was very simple to get assembled and was all I expected it to be given the recommendation and the previous reviews. I recommend this tool for anyone needing this type of sanding in their projects.

-- If you're going to stir the pot, think BIG spoon or SMALL boat paddle. David Grimes, Georgia




View David Grimes's profile

David Grimes

2072 posts in 1295 days



16 comments so far

View jim C's profile

jim C

1452 posts in 1753 days


#1 posted 12-15-2011 02:56 PM

David
I have had mine for about 2 years now and I agree with everything you say. It works great on contours after band sawing.
I son’t use the belt attachment much as I have a large Delta Belt and Disk sander that really hogs off the material when needed.

-- When I was a boy, I was told "anyone can be President", now I'm beginning to believe it!

View Don W's profile

Don W

15030 posts in 1222 days


#2 posted 12-15-2011 03:24 PM

i’ve had mine about 2 years as well. I like it.

-- Master hand plane hoarder. - http://timetestedtools.com

View Ripthorn's profile

Ripthorn

759 posts in 1640 days


#3 posted 12-15-2011 04:29 PM

I’ve had mine a few months and use it on lots of guitar-related items, especially headstocks and inside the horns. My only complaint is getting the star knob loose after using the belt attachment, but that is minor. I think I may whip up some taller sanding drums for doing the belly carves on bodies.

-- Brian T. - Exact science is not an exact science

View basset's profile

basset

12 posts in 2055 days


#4 posted 12-15-2011 06:04 PM

It is indeed a convenient, well built tool. I’ve used mine on many projects with both the belt and spindles (all sizes). Whats nice is the change between the two is bast and easy.

-- Don aka Basset Hound, www.woebgonbassets.com

View Bertha's profile

Bertha

12951 posts in 1348 days


#5 posted 12-15-2011 06:10 PM

You sold me, Grimes. At first, I thought you bought it just because it matched your color scheme;) However, it sounds like a nice unit. I’ve been in the market for a while and I expected to pay quite a bit more. I can’t justify the free-standing JET but this one’s on price point. Thanks!

-- My dad and I built a 65 chev pick up.I killed trannys in that thing for some reason-Hog

View live4ever's profile

live4ever

983 posts in 1665 days


#6 posted 12-15-2011 10:24 PM

I like mine as well. The only issue to watch out for is the spindle knob. Make sure you can loosen it, lube it, and keep it relatively loose. If you hand-tighten it too much, you won’t be able to get it off without using some serious toolage, which will potentially damage the knob. DAMHIKT

-- Optimists are usually disappointed. Pessimists are either right or pleasantly surprised. I tend to be a disappointed pessimist.

View Dabcan's profile

Dabcan

91 posts in 1326 days


#7 posted 12-15-2011 10:53 PM

I love mine but sometimes have trouble with the paper riding up the spindle. I can usually fix it by using a different combination of the supplied washers, but it does slow the process down a bit.

-- http://www.craftcollective.wordpress.com

View b2rtch's profile

b2rtch

4329 posts in 1703 days


#8 posted 12-15-2011 11:40 PM

I have one for over tow years.
This is the tool which sees a lot of use in my shop.
Mine is connect to the dust collector

-- Bert

View Grandpa's profile

Grandpa

3133 posts in 1330 days


#9 posted 12-16-2011 02:02 AM

I have owned mine about 2 months and I like it. I have had no problems with the belt alignment. So far the knob on the spindle has come off pretty easily except when I forget it is a left hand thread and tighten it too much before turning it the correct direction. Good tool. Another thing that makes it nice is I have a 4×24 belt sander so they can share out of the belt supply.
Nice color also.

View knotscott's profile

knotscott

5460 posts in 2030 days


#10 posted 12-16-2011 11:11 PM

I really like mine too. It’s one of the few tools that I’ve paid full price for, but I have no regrets.

-- Happiness is like wetting your pants...everyone can see it, but only you can feel the warmth....

View blockhead's profile

blockhead

1451 posts in 1963 days


#11 posted 12-17-2011 04:45 PM

Yep, worth every penny. I too have problems with the knob being too hard to get off, but only with the belt. No problems at all when I use the drums.

-- Brad, Oregon- The things that come to those who wait, may be the things left by those who got there first.

View Dusty56's profile

Dusty56

11659 posts in 2343 days


#12 posted 12-17-2011 09:02 PM

Best power tool I’ve ever bought , for the money. No problems with the knobs yet for me : )

Here’s an excellent LJ project for people having trouble with their knobs.
http://lumberjocks.com/projects/53903

-- I'm absolutely positive that I couldn't be more uncertain!

View pintodeluxe's profile

pintodeluxe

3362 posts in 1468 days


#13 posted 12-18-2011 12:42 AM

You will enjoy the angled table. It is great for chamfering through tenons on tables and chairs. The belt sander is amust have for chair construction.

-- Willie, Washington "If You Choose Not To Decide, You Still Have Made a Choice" - Rush

View Viking's profile

Viking

857 posts in 1850 days


#14 posted 12-19-2011 07:07 AM

David;

I have had the Ridgid for almost two years and very pleased with it.

Dust collection, when in spindle mode, works well but, if you put the belt sander on you need some extra suction on the left side of the belt.

Use this machine several times a week especially to clean up rough band saw cuts.

Thanks for your review!

Good Luck!

-- Rick Gustafson - Lost Creek Ranch - Colorado County, Texas

View motthunter's profile

motthunter

2141 posts in 2454 days


#15 posted 01-29-2012 08:25 PM

simple… I love mine!

-- making sawdust....

showing 1 through 15 of 16 comments

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase